Jump to content


Photo

How To Use Custom Soundtracks In Games


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#1 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 October 2003 - 07:48 AM

Update: I have changed the tool I recommend for MP3 to WMA conversion. I have been using this tool for a long time, and it is just great. No problems at all with it.

Certain games support custom soundtracks, meaning that you can play your own music in the game. You have two options of successfully putting music onto your Xbox to play in a game.

Uploading WMAs to your XBox from your PC
WMA (Windows Media Audio) is the standard music format for soundtracks. You can convert a MP3 to WMA using this program for your PC:

http://www.reseau.org/mp3towma/

After the conversion, you can now upload that WMA to your Xbox using Xbox Soundtrack Editor. You can get it here:

http://dwl.xbox-scen...s/xboxst097.zip

With this tool, you can also easily rename song files on your Xbox. For example, ripping a CD (see below) will create rather plain file names.

Copying a CD to the Xbox HD
In the MS dash, there will be the music tab. Hit the tab, and then select Audio CD. In the next menu, you can select "Copy" and then you can select certain songs to your Xbox will rip off the CD onto your Xbox.

Note: Not all Xbox DVDROMS can read burned CDs. If you have a Samsung drive (the one on the far right), it will probably read successfully. Of course, commercial CDs should work fine in all DVDROMS.

user posted image

If you do not have a Samsung DVDROM, find other means. I suggest getting Audio Grabber for your PC which can rip songs off a CD in your PC:

http://www.audiograb...t/download.html

The songs will be in MP3 format when ripped. Now, refer to the above method "Uploading WMAs to your XBox from your PC"

Conclusion
The folder where this music is located is in /E/TDATA/fffe0000/music/. There is a file called ST.DB that maintains the songs in the next folder.

Note: It is much easier to use the above methods to put music onto your HD rather editing this DB file.

- You can not link music files in XBMP to play as custom soundtracks in game. Only the folder in E: is accessed by the Xbox for this.

Edited by shanafan, 07 November 2003 - 02:32 AM.


#2 phr0zen

phr0zen

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 10 October 2003 - 10:58 AM

First of all - if there is a pinned or more-applicable thread for this question (or a main "Xbox soundtrack editing" thread), please send me the link and i'll gladly remove/move my post....

Here goes....
I tried to start using the XBOX Soundtrack Editor () like a madman, but am having trouble getting it work I think.

Here's the basics of my situation so far...

>> When I first tried XSE I had it connect to my xbox, and saw nothing there.

>> I tried to create a new soundtrack (via XSE) but it didn't work.

>> So I created a soundtrack on my XBOX (via xboxdash:music). Tested it by booting up Tiger2004 to make sure the xbox saw the custom soundtrack - and it did. But XSE still doesn't can't see anything when I connect.

I'm not an advanced Evox/Xbox developer/h@cker, but am fairly up-to-speed on standard xbox modding/dashboarding/etc.

Anyhow - my main questions are..
1.) Has anyone else had trouble similar to mine with XSE?

2.) Is there a way (software program or other) to manually edit the ST.DB to "force" the xbox to recognize new albums I just "FTP" in?

If anyone has any ideas/tips/etc it'd be mucho appreciated.... Thanks in advance...

peace out..
- phromello

#3 Kthulu

Kthulu

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,287 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 October 2003 - 01:51 PM

i tried XSE bout 3 months ago and it worked perfectly. i'm curious as to what version of the MS Xbox dash you have and the version of XSE your using...

#4 inferno222

inferno222

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 29 October 2003 - 04:29 AM

I tried this a while ago, but had problems with songs getting abruptly cut off randomly..but I was using a different program to convert files to WMA format..Did the program I was using mess it up, was it the filenames(some had weird boxes) or is it a problem with the sound track editor?

#5 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 October 2003 - 04:39 AM

QUOTE (inferno222 @ Oct 29 2003, 12:29 AM)
I tried this a while ago, but had problems with songs getting abruptly cut off randomly..but I was using a different program to convert files to WMA format..Did the program I was using mess it up, was it the filenames(some had weird boxes) or is it a problem with the sound track editor?

It was most likely the conversion tool. I have not a single problem with MP3toWMA.

Long filenames won't even upload to the Xbox.

#6 sulfur

sulfur

    Super Xbox Saiyan

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,018 posts
  • Location:Atlanta
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 31 October 2003 - 03:33 AM

i think i'm retarded, b/c i can't get it to connect to xbox, ip and everything is right, just won't connect, i can connect w/ Flashfxp fine, just not this program....

#7 Bio Retard

Bio Retard

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts

Posted 04 November 2003 - 10:35 AM

I used Soundtrack Editor a few months ago, but it started to mess up the songs. Only half of certain soundtracks would show up in multiple games. Project Gotham and THPS2X would freeze up whenever I went to audio problems. It seems to be easier just to burn the CD-RWs and copy them onto the Xbox.

#8 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 November 2003 - 11:12 PM

QUOTE (Bio Retard @ Nov 4 2003, 06:35 AM)
I used Soundtrack Editor a few months ago, but it started to mess up the songs. Only half of certain soundtracks would show up in multiple games. Project Gotham and THPS2X would freeze up whenever I went to audio problems. It seems to be easier just to burn the CD-RWs and copy them onto the Xbox.

True, some people have experienced issues with XSE.

#9 Codename54

Codename54

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 91 posts

Posted 07 November 2003 - 01:44 AM

Screw this, wrong method for me to use. It says I'm maxed out 100 songs. And my tdada folder is not how you epxplained. It's actually like this.

/E/TDATA/fffe0000/music/

Edited by Codename54, 07 November 2003 - 02:00 AM.


#10 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 November 2003 - 02:32 AM

QUOTE (Codename54 @ Nov 6 2003, 09:44 PM)
Screw this, wrong method for me to use. It says I'm maxed out 100 songs. And my tdada folder is not how you epxplained. It's actually like this.

/E/TDATA/fffe0000/music/

I had to edit my post.. and it got rid of my backlashes.. but now this problem is finally gone on the forums biggrin.gif

#11 nezff

nezff

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,529 posts
  • Location:Louisiana
  • Interests:gaming, gaming o and gaming
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 07 November 2003 - 03:04 AM

hey shana, i thought u could just use the windows media bonus pack for xp to convert mp3 into wmas. i do it all the time.

#12 DuDeR MaN

DuDeR MaN

    X-S X-perience

  • Moderator
  • PipPip
  • 403 posts
  • Location:Philly
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 November 2003 - 09:23 AM

I was looking at the filenames and I don't quite understand how the xbox renames the files from a cd. Anyway, does it matter what the filename is when I upload to the fold via ftp?

#13 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 November 2003 - 07:09 PM

QUOTE (DuDeR MaN @ Nov 7 2003, 05:23 AM)
I was looking at the filenames and I don't quite understand how the xbox renames the files from a cd. Anyway, does it matter what the filename is when I upload to the fold via ftp?

I am pretty sure it does matter. There is a .DB file in the folder which probably links to the files inside.

#14 Krill123

Krill123

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 496 posts

Posted 07 November 2003 - 07:40 PM

Cool. Thanks.

#15 Cypress_Ice

Cypress_Ice

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 November 2003 - 08:54 PM

I don't get it man. I converted my mp3s to wma. Then I opened xbox soundtrack editor and connected to my xbox. But I'm stuck, what am I suppose to do next?
Exactly where on the HD should I send my wmas?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users