Jump to content


Photo

Unusual Frag


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 TymeRogue

TymeRogue

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Connecticut, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 12 October 2003 - 01:50 PM

I installed a switch in my friends xbox modded with a X2lite. I installed the wires and the switch without a problem; all of the connections are solid. But when the switch is off the XBox frags and when it's on EvoX comes up without a problem.

Any ideas to what is going on?

My first impression that there is something wrong related to the TSOP.

#2 mikebpi

mikebpi

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts

Posted 12 October 2003 - 04:57 PM

Modchip OFF and you get a frag (works fine normally) means your Hard Drive IS NOT LOCKED.



#3 TymeRogue

TymeRogue

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Connecticut, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 12 October 2003 - 09:16 PM

The hard drive was locked, but still there's the problem.

#4 TymeRogue

TymeRogue

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Connecticut, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 13 October 2003 - 07:13 PM

I've inspected the inside of the box and there doesn't appear to be any physical damage. Any input would be great.

(Bump)

#5 GuyBrush

GuyBrush

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 426 posts

Posted 13 October 2003 - 08:02 PM

u didn't by any chance rename the original [xboxdash.xbe] to [msxboxdash.xbe] by any chance??? laugh.gif
or worse yet rename evox to xboxdash.xbe and overwritten the file!!!

#6 Scan-C

Scan-C

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,569 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 13 October 2003 - 08:06 PM

is it a frag with an error displaying or just black screen?

if it's just black screen than the tsop is dead in some way. if there is an errornumber it would be helpful to know

#7 GuyBrush

GuyBrush

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 426 posts

Posted 13 October 2003 - 08:10 PM

nah, don't think so. It still boots evox when chip is on!

if it isn't a locked drive issue then the original dash is probably fubared in some way....

#8 Scan-C

Scan-C

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,569 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 13 October 2003 - 08:19 PM

you say it. it works with the chip ON. so the hdd seems to be fine (maybe not locked) or f*cked ms dash but if it really only gives a black screen with the chip off it has to be something on the hardware.otherwise it would display a number

#9 TymeRogue

TymeRogue

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Connecticut, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 14 October 2003 - 01:02 AM

Allow me to restate the problem as there seems to be some confusion:

I installed a switch that connected to the pins of the middle jumper.

CHIP ON:
- EvoX loads
- HDD appears locked
- All files are named properly
- Everything works as it should (i.e. ftp, networking, backups, emus...)

CHIP OFF:
- Frag (3x Boot w/ the black screen)
- Hence, no error number



#10 TymeRogue

TymeRogue

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Connecticut, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 14 October 2003 - 02:49 PM

Putting the fact that it could be the TSOP aside... What about traces?

I figure that there are no traces on the LPCs, since the box boots fine while the chip is on, but is it possilbe that the d0 has traces that might be leading to other points on the MB?

(Bump)

#11 TymeRogue

TymeRogue

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Connecticut, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 17 October 2003 - 02:21 AM

All advice is welcome, and appriciated...

(Bump)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users