Jump to content


Photo

4 Gig Iso Problem


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 scubyben27

scubyben27

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • Location:Bellaire, MI (right side of the tip of your pinky finger)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 19 October 2003 - 05:05 PM

I've got a 4x2.4x16 DVD+RW burner and everytime I try to burn an ISO file over 4 gigs big, the computer takes about 2 minutes to prepare the DVD+RW disc and then says "Recording Completed Successfully", but it is most definately not. FYI, I use NTI CD and DVD Maker 6.5 Platinum, but I don't think that the program is the problem. Any ideas on how to remedy this problem?

#2 Mr Ed

Mr Ed

    Hacking Horse

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 October 2003 - 05:29 PM

You need to have you HD formatted NTFS not FAT32.

#3 chefelf

chefelf

    Brandishing the Triforce of Modding

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,407 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York, NY
  • Interests:Video Games, Web Design, Writing, Cycling, Hardware Modification, Building Computers, Music
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 October 2003 - 09:14 PM

I've had a similar problem with Nero. Try using RecordMax Now and see if that works. Nero won't burn ISOs over 3.5-4 gigs for me but if I use RecordMax with the same ISO it works like a charm.

#4 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 19 October 2003 - 09:40 PM

QUOTE (Mr Ed @ Oct 19 2003, 02:29 PM)
You need to have you HD formatted NTFS not FAT32.

That's probably not the problem in this case. If he was running a FAT32 partition, then the ISO file would be allowed to be created in the first place due to the restrictions of the file system, so burning would never be a factor. smile.gif

#5 MiniM3

MiniM3

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 96 posts

Posted 20 October 2003 - 12:49 AM

Interesting...

Ok..I have a similar problem but with a twist. I'm making multi-game dvds using DVD-RW and DVD -R's, here's my problem: If my iso exceeds 4 gb, then my multigame dvds won't initialize in the xbox drive, if it's under 4 GB, it plays fine. Yes, the iso was created in an NTFS partition. I've used both Nero 6.0.1.9 and RecordNow Max 4.5, same results for both, for some reason, anything over 4 gb my x box won't initialize the dvd. I'm guessing it's the 4gb size problem, cause the multi game dvds i've created that were under 4 gb were fine, and the ones over were not.

I'm using Craxtion 2.4 with GDFimage to created the isos and as I said before, have burned with Nero 6.0.1.9 and RecordNow Max 4.5. I've even tried different media and dif speeds, doesn't seem to help even burning at 1x.

Any ideas?

MiniM3

#6 kard63

kard63

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 0 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 20 October 2003 - 01:54 AM

how did you make the iso's ? Try recod now max to recod them, craxtion to make them.

#7 Mr Ed

Mr Ed

    Hacking Horse

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 October 2003 - 04:32 AM

You aren't using a Sony DVD burner are you?

#8 Mr Ed

Mr Ed

    Hacking Horse

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 October 2003 - 04:32 AM

QUOTE (Xeero @ Oct 19 2003, 03:40 PM)
QUOTE (Mr Ed @ Oct 19 2003, 02:29 PM)
You need to have you HD formatted NTFS not FAT32.

That's probably not the problem in this case. If he was running a FAT32 partition, then the ISO file would be allowed to be created in the first place due to the restrictions of the file system, so burning would never be a factor. smile.gif

Geeze! You want me to actually read the original posts? rolleyes.gif

#9 MiniM3

MiniM3

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 96 posts

Posted 20 October 2003 - 04:34 AM

Kard63/MrEd,

Please read my post guys, I've specifically listed what software I use and what I use to create the iso's and I'm using a Pioneer A06 Multi Format burner.

M

#10 LEDHaywire

LEDHaywire

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts

Posted 20 October 2003 - 02:02 PM

FAT32 disk formats only support a max filesize of 2GB, if you reformat your drive to ntfs the maximum filesize supported is higher than 4GB

#11 ^ChRoniC^

^ChRoniC^

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 51 posts

Posted 20 October 2003 - 02:29 PM

try makin an new image with Extract-xiso-gui and then use nero 6 or higher , cancle the wizard and "record disc image" with disc-at-once settings and finalize. 2X speed

#12 vagelisgeo

vagelisgeo

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 22 October 2003 - 02:24 PM

QUOTE (LEDHaywire @ Oct 20 2003, 04:02 PM)
FAT32 disk formats only support a max filesize of 2GB, if you reformat your drive to ntfs the maximum filesize supported is higher than 4GB

my FAT32 working drive has iso's on it of 3.54gb and 3.7gb, the limit is actually 4gb on FAT32, so u can go to 3.99gb without any errors (try unraring a 4GB+ image to a FAT32 drive and it`ll crap out towards the end!)

Edited by vagelisgeo, 22 October 2003 - 02:25 PM.


#13 Mr Ed

Mr Ed

    Hacking Horse

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 October 2003 - 04:18 PM

Actually FAT32 can have a limit of 2GB or 4GB. The formatting tool gets to "pick" the data chunk size that it arranges the disc in. Usually it seems to pick the size that allows 4GB, but I've come across a FAT32 30GB drive that could not hold a file over 2GB.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users