Jump to content


Photo

How To Block Xbox Live On Your Router


  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#16 dfunked

dfunked

    XLink Crew Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,664 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 18 November 2003 - 06:54 AM

If you use ICS, get a software firewall and block the port.

The above post is for people with routers.

#17 Bradley687

Bradley687

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts

Posted 20 November 2003 - 02:13 AM

So blocking those ports Gaurantee me safe online gaming on XBCONNECT without getting Banned.

Just looking for your blessing, and ask if anyone else tried this. I tested it and it seemed to work, XBOX Live couldn't get past the blocked ports.

Edited by Bradley687, 20 November 2003 - 02:14 AM.


#18 katz

katz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 20 November 2003 - 08:23 AM

yeah im ganna try this out! wat software firewall u guys reccomend??

#19 Bradley687

Bradley687

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts

Posted 20 November 2003 - 09:53 AM

I have a router, and I gave my XBOX an IP address. I blocked the Ports specified, but I just wanna know who else tried this?

Each router has a manual that tells you how to block the ports, I just follow that.

#20 AirrezzZ

AirrezzZ

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts

Posted 21 November 2003 - 02:43 PM

ok tried this but when I go to the settings tab and to network setting and try to connect I still get the message conected to xbox life!... Apparently I'm doing something wrong, but I followed the instructions in the manual...

I have a Draytek Vigor 2200 usb router and set the IP Filter / Firewall Setup to:

Pass or Block: Block Immediately
Direction: OUT
Protocol: TCP/UDP
Source: the IP I entered manualy in the xbox
Destination: any
Subnet Mask: same as my pc which is connected to the same router
Operator: =
Start Port: 3074
End Port: 3074

what I''m I doing wrong?

#21 TB_88

TB_88

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Location:Sweden, Norrköping
  • Interests:Xbox, tennis, and sports and also computers...
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 22 November 2003 - 06:07 PM

QUOTE (AirrezzZ @ Nov 21 2003, 03:43 PM)
ok tried this but when I go to the settings tab and to network setting and try to connect I still get the message conected to xbox life!... Apparently I'm doing something wrong, but I followed the instructions in the manual...

I have a Draytek Vigor 2200 usb router and set the IP Filter / Firewall Setup to:

Pass or Block: Block Immediately
Direction: OUT
Protocol: TCP/UDP
Source: the IP I entered manualy in the xbox
Destination: any
Subnet Mask: same as my pc which is connected to the same router
Operator: =
Start Port: 3074
End Port: 3074

what I''m I doing wrong?

I did exact same thing and I can still play live...


#22 TB_88

TB_88

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Location:Sweden, Norrköping
  • Interests:Xbox, tennis, and sports and also computers...
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 23 November 2003 - 01:39 PM

PLz i need help with this... And my manual to my routher is gone ... searched everywhere sad.gif

anyone?

#23 scorpion303

scorpion303

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 November 2003 - 01:01 PM

Any comments on how to block these ports in my router for ONE ip-adress (or MAC-adress) only? The manual for my alcatel speedtouch 510 v4 i router is waaay to complicated sad.gif

My other virgin-xbox is used for x-box live purposes only...

#24 Fofer

Fofer

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 29 November 2003 - 10:58 PM

QUOTE (scorpion303 @ Nov 25 2003, 03:01 PM)
Any comments on how to block these ports in my router for ONE ip-adress (or MAC-adress) only? The manual for my alcatel speedtouch 510 v4 i router is waaay to complicated sad.gif

My other virgin-xbox is used for x-box live purposes only...

If your other virgin-xbox is used for x-box live purposes only, then why do you care? The modded one will get banned if you accidentally log into Live with the modchip on, but you have a virgin-xbox for x-box live purposes only already!

#25 TB_88

TB_88

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 640 posts
  • Location:Sweden, Norrköping
  • Interests:Xbox, tennis, and sports and also computers...
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 30 November 2003 - 08:13 AM

plz I still need help.....

#26 Chunkywolf

Chunkywolf

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 December 2003 - 11:37 PM

i'd try spanning the port range 1 in each direction to se if it's like a greater than compared to where most are greater than or equal to

and if the box gets banned it's just the box not the account so why would you care.

M$ did it for security reasons on the live network. not to piss of a person. they just don't want people with chipped boxes logging in and hacking

#27 conneen

conneen

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 01 January 2004 - 10:58 PM

I want to take this a step further.

I want globally block 3074 UDP/TCP. Effectively disabling live.

Then I want to unblock it for 192.168.1.170.

If I manually configure the MSDash/Live to use 192.168.1.170.
And I manually configure my Evox Dash to use 192.168.1.175.

If I boot with the Modchip off. (ending up with *.170), then Live should work.

If I boot with the Modchip on. (ending up with *.175), then Live won't work.

Now my only question is, if I play a backup while the modchip is on, and try to access Live with it. Will it use the settings from Evox (175) or the settings from the MSDash (170)?

Conneen

#28 ...ReLLiK

...ReLLiK

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 246 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 01 January 2004 - 11:28 PM

QUOTE (jfullam @ Nov 17 2003, 06:49 AM)
I have currently blocked UDP/TCP 3074 on my router. If I have my mod chip on and "somebody" accidentally chooses an XBOX Live option on a game CD, do I still run the risk of having my Evox Dash replaced with M$? I am trying to think of a fool proof way to make sure my dash doesn't get trashed... I have my young son playing on the XBOX and it is possible he or one of his friends could inadvertedly click on a XBL option in a game when I have the mod chip on...

If u do in fact have an x2.2 pro like your tag says... just leave your original dash as xboxdash.xbe and name evox as evoxdash.xbe... your bios will try to boot from evoxdash.xbe first. Then any time Live! is chosen it can only modify xboxdash.xbe not your evox!

#29 tranus69

tranus69

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Location:KY USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 28 March 2004 - 09:07 PM

QUOTE (conneen @ Jan 1 2004, 06:58 PM)
I want to take this a step further.

I want globally block 3074 UDP/TCP. Effectively disabling live.

Then I want to unblock it for 192.168.1.170.

If I manually configure the MSDash/Live to use 192.168.1.170.
And I manually configure my Evox Dash to use 192.168.1.175.

If I boot with the Modchip off. (ending up with *.170), then Live should work.

If I boot with the Modchip on. (ending up with *.175), then Live won't work.

Now my only question is, if I play a backup while the modchip is on, and try to access Live with it. Will it use the settings from Evox (175) or the settings from the MSDash (170)?

Conneen

Anyone know what the answer to this question is? Can static ip settings be configured for the MS Dash that are seperate from another dash (avalaunch?)

Also, if i set 192.168.0.100 for my MSDASH and 192.168.0.105 for avalaunch will the dashs retain those settings or is the static ip/network settings stored in a common area?

#30 trejkaz

trejkaz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts

Posted 22 April 2004 - 03:53 AM

Probably not such a good idea to block port 88 globally, just in case you're one of those users whose mail server is elite enough to support Kerberos logins. Just a thought...

So give your Xbox an address, and then block exactly those three ports from exactly the one address.

The question I have on top of this is, what stops MS changing the port next month, and getting people banned all over the place?

(I'm actually tempted to block *everything* from the Xbox, and enable one service at a time where I need it, for things like live weather updates.)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users