Jump to content


Photo

Amd


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1 frozen lake

frozen lake

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:games, sex, movies, sex, music, sex
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 10 November 2003 - 11:21 AM

if i had this what would i look forward to?

AMD Athlon™ 64 FX-51 Processor


#2 moistness

moistness

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,512 posts
  • Location:Modhator
  • Xbox Version:v1.2

Posted 10 November 2003 - 11:27 AM

QUOTE (frozen lake @ Nov 10 2003, 01:21 PM)
if i had this what would i look forward to?

AMD Athlon™ 64 FX-51 Processor

a long wait for a 64 bit os?

#3 pedro

pedro

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 633 posts

Posted 10 November 2003 - 11:30 AM

windows xp 64 bit is supposed to be in the making. I think they already have a tes version and the full version is due out by the end of this year or early next.

I'm thinking of getting the amd 64 3200+ in the laptop I am getting for christmas.

#4 ADAWG69

ADAWG69

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Location:Ontario
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 November 2003 - 03:40 PM

there isnt really any need for a 64 bit processor right now now because there isnt anything that could take advatage of the extra power. 64 bit processors will eventually be standard, but until then getting one now will only prepare you for hats coming.

#5 i.stole.this.name

i.stole.this.name

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 November 2003 - 04:23 PM

Dont use windows then! use unix or linux!

however, with windows you can look forward to awesome new 64 bit games such as UT2004 and stuff. i dunno bout the US but the processor has been out here for nearly a month.

WORD FOR THE WISER: DONT but the 940 pin FX-51 as it requires v expensive licensed RAM from AMD... go for the 939 athlon 64 (NOT 740) as you can use your fav brand of ram from them at no sacrifice to performance, its otherwise identical to the FX-51

HOWEVER the AMD 64 Bit processors offer a modest increase in performance in 32- bit mode too! al though i wouldnt call 17% increase over the worlds current leading processor

user posted image

#6 i.stole.this.name

i.stole.this.name

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 November 2003 - 04:26 PM

oh by the way these are the specs for the test systems

AMD Athlon™ 64 FX-51 processor based system
Hardware: Motherboard: Asus Sk8N BIOS Info: 1002.01**, Chipset: Nvidia Nforce3 Memory: Legacy Registered PC3200, 2.5 CAS Quantity & Size: Qty (2) 512MB (each) DIMM Module, Total Memory Size: 1GB Hard Drive: Qty(2) Model Name: Western Digital Raptor Model Number: WD360 Hard Drive Size: 36.0 GB Transfer Mode: SATA Raid 0 10K RPM Other Info: NTFS was used to format the hard disks, 2 disks setup in a Raid0 configuration Network Card: Integrated on motherboard Model Number: Nvidia Nforce MCP Networking Controller Sound Card: Nvidia (Integrated on motherboard) Video Card: Graphics Adapter: Nvidia FX 5900 Ultra Memory Size and Type: 256MB DDR; Drivers: AGP Miniport Publisher Name: Nvidia nForce3 AGP Version: 3.5.3.0, 7/15/2003 SATA: Publisher Name: Promise Technologies Version: 1.0.1.28, 6/3/2002, DMA Enabled Network Card: Publisher Name: Nvidia Version: 2.8.4.0, 10/4/2002 Sound Card: Publisher Name: Nvidia Version: 6.14.354.0, 7/15/2003 Video Card: Publisher Name: Nvidia Version: 4.4.6.7, 6/13/2003 Graphics Resolution: 1024x768 Color Depth: 32-bit Refresh Rate: 85Hz.

AMD Athlon 64 processor 3200+1 based system
Hardware: Motherboard: MS-6702 BIOS Info: A6702VMS V1.0Ba, 07/11/03**, Chipset: VIA Chipset Memory: Manufacturer & Type: Corsair CMX512-3500LL Quantity & Size: Qty (2) 512 MB (each) DIMM Module Total Memory Size: 1GB Hard Drive: Qty(2) Model Name: Western Digital Raptor Model Number: WD360 Hard Drive Size: 36.0 GB Transfer Mode: SATA Raid 0 10K RPM Other Info: NTFS was used to format the hard disk, 2 disks setup in a Raid0 configuration Network Card: Name: Integrated on motherboard; Model Number: Realtek RTL8169 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Sound Card: Manufacturer’s Name: RealTek Model Number: Realtek AC'97 Audio Video Card: Graphics Adapter: Nvidia FX 5900 Ultra Memory Size and Type: 256MB DDR Drivers: AGP Miniport: Publisher Name: VIA Name: VIA CPU to AGP2.0/AGP3.0 Controller Version: 5.1.0.3441, 12/27/2002 SATA: Publisher Name: Promise Technologies Version: 1.0.1.28, 6/3/2002, DMA Enabled Network Card: Publisher Name: Realtek Version: 5/100/702/2002, 7/2/2002 Sound Card: Publisher Name: Realtek Version: 5.10.0.5250, 6/19/2002 Video Card: Publisher Name: Nvidia Version: 4.4.6.7, 6/13/2003 Graphics Resolution: 1024x768 Color Depth: 32-bit Refresh Rate: 85Hz.

Intel Pentium® 4 processor based system
Hardware: Motherboard: Intel D875PBZ BIOS Info: BZ87510A.86A.0026.P05 Chipset: i875 Chipset Memory: Manufacturer & Type: Corsair CMX512-3500LL Quantity & Size: Qty (2) 512MB (each) DIMM Module Total Memory Size: 1GB Hard Drive: Qty(2) Model Name: Western Digital Raptor Model Number: WD360GD Hard Drive Size: 36.0 GB Transfer Mode: SATA Raid0 10K RPM Other Info: NTFS was used to format the hard disk, 2 disks setup in a Raid0 configuration Network Card: Name: Intel Model Number: Pro/1000 CT Network Connection (integrated on motherboard) Sound Card: Manufacturer’s Name: SoundblasterLive Model Number: SoundblasterLive CT4760 Video Card: Graphics Adapter: Nvidia GeForce FX 5900 Ultra Memory Size and Type: 256MB DDR Drivers: AGP Miniport: Publisher Name: Intel Version: 5.0.1006.0, 1/15/2003 EIDE: Publisher Name: Intel 82801EB Ultra ATA storage Controller Version: 5.0.1007.0, 1/15/2003, DMA Enabled Network Card: Publisher Name: Intel Version: 7.0.25.0, 2/19/2003 SATA: Publisher Name: Intel 82801ER SATA Raid Controller Version: 3.5.0.2568, 6/17/2003 Sound Card: Publisher Name: MS Version: 5.1.2535.0, 7/1/2001 Video Card: Publisher Name: Nvidia Version: 4.4.6.7, 6/13/2003 Graphics Resolution: 1024x768 Color Depth: 32-bit Refresh Rate: 85Hz.


#7 frozen lake

frozen lake

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:games, sex, movies, sex, music, sex
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 10 November 2003 - 04:27 PM

well i am in uk and just ordered a alienware pc with this as processor.

#8 i.stole.this.name

i.stole.this.name

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 November 2003 - 04:29 PM

only fools fall prey to alienware, voodoo, or mac

homebrew beerchug.gif all the way!

#9 DermicSavage

DermicSavage

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 453 posts

Posted 10 November 2003 - 05:07 PM

yeah homebrew is the cheapest way to go...

also there is a major bug in the nforce3, that i have yet to hear been fixed, its something with the northbridge chip that causes a 33% loss in performance when doing certain intensive operations, im sure its gunan be fixed soon, but for now be aware

#10 i.stole.this.name

i.stole.this.name

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 November 2003 - 05:09 PM

ermm, dude theres no northbridge in the athlon 64 mobo

*edit* its an integrated processor northbridge by the way which is directly linked to the Memory using hypertransport and opposingly to the I/O controller, thus enabling 9.6GB/s of data as opposed to a mobo northbridge bottleneck of 6.4Gb/s in athlon xp and p4

Edited by i.stole.this.name, 10 November 2003 - 05:14 PM.


#11 DermicSavage

DermicSavage

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 453 posts

Posted 10 November 2003 - 05:12 PM

EDIT: whoops mixed up the quotes

QUOTE (i.stole.this.name @ Nov 10 2003, 11:09 AM)
ermm, dude theres no northbridge in the athlon 64

i think youre thinking northwood which is the pentium 4 chip, but the northbridge is a controller chip on the mobo


analasys reports here that there is an issue with the norbeidge on the nforce 3 chipset
QUOTE
The extremely low AGP performance of the NForce3 can be clearly attributed to problems with the HyperTransport channel interface to the Northbridge. That is proven by the benchmark results and the performance differences of up to 33.2 percent. Details about this can be found in the benchmark section of this article.

Edited by DermicSavage, 10 November 2003 - 05:21 PM.


#12 i.stole.this.name

i.stole.this.name

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 November 2003 - 05:16 PM

i think we know what we're talking about dude, northwood and springdale are p4 codenames, we're not talking p4 now!

*edit*
QUOTE
but the northbridge is a controller chip on the mobo


hence he said problem on the nforce3 which is a MOBO

Edited by i.stole.this.name, 10 November 2003 - 05:17 PM.


#13 DermicSavage

DermicSavage

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 453 posts

Posted 10 November 2003 - 05:17 PM

im saying northBRIDGE!

not northwood!

EDIT: yeah and as it seems, i have only seen mobos using the nforce3 chipset for use in the 64 FX

Edited by DermicSavage, 10 November 2003 - 05:19 PM.


#14 i.stole.this.name

i.stole.this.name

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 November 2003 - 05:18 PM

QUOTE
im saying northBRIDGE!

not northwood!


youre not making any sense, re read!

#15 DermicSavage

DermicSavage

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 453 posts

Posted 10 November 2003 - 05:23 PM

and yes there is a northbridge chip on the 64 mobos...

EDIT: fixed the quotes farther up, mixed them up

Edited by DermicSavage, 10 November 2003 - 05:23 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users