Jump to content


Photo

Fastest FTP Speed, FTP-XBOX Using MXM


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

Poll: What is your fastest FTP Transfer, FTP-2-XBOX using MXM as a Dashboard

What is your fastest FTP Transfer, FTP-2-XBOX using MXM as a Dashboard

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#16 bigjunk8669

bigjunk8669

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 November 2003 - 12:20 AM

I have this setup:

Windows XP ProSP1
P4-2ghz-128mb ddr
100gb hdd in 7part-40gb ALWAYS EMPTY
for transferring games.
onboard lan

So, as you see, not TOO high specs there.
And I get at leats 9-10megs a second.
I transfer back & forth with video previews & background music playing on MXM. No problems. I have touched near 13 mbps with this setup.

I connect straight from my xbox to my PC w/crossover.

I couldn't imagine constantly going at less than 4 mbps!

#17 YLA G

YLA G

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 63 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 November 2003 - 03:30 AM

5.1 mbsec

have a wireless router from topcom..(but xbox en pc is not in wireless)

user posted image

Edited by YLA G, 14 November 2003 - 03:35 AM.


#18 thetruethugg

thetruethugg

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 638 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 14 November 2003 - 03:45 AM

To the xbox from the PC I get about 7,000 KBps, with it going down drastically with a fuck ton of smaller files. From I get about 11,000 KBps. This is using the FTP server with 'highest priority' and FlashFXP, though I hate FlashFXP it beats 40 KBps (To XBOX, about the same as FlashFXP from) with AceFTP 3.0.

#19 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 November 2003 - 05:11 AM

I get 7-10 megs/second

#20 diffident

diffident

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 14 November 2003 - 02:39 PM

The xbox has a 100Base-T NIC, and a 100Base-T network has a theoretical maximum transfer speed of 12.5 MB/sec (MB=megabytes, 100 Base-T = 100mbits/sec, 8bits=1byte), though in the real world that's rarely reached. I consistently get just over 10MB/sec both ways with MXM 0.9n6 on a switched 100Base-T network, and I'm delighted with that.
Any PC with a 100Base-T NIC should be able to get 7-10 MB/sec with a decent (Cat5, Cat5e or Cat6) crossover cable to the xbox - much less than that and there's probably something wrong with the network set-up or hardware (eg the network cable has been damaged, the RJ45 terminations are marginal, the network is running half duplex instead of full, or 10Base-T instead of 100, in which case you'd be getting 1MB/sec or worse). Any real FTP client (Internet Explorer doesn't necessarily fit that bill) should be capable of 100Base-T speeds, and MXM's server clearly is.

#21 Lonecrow

Lonecrow

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 14 November 2003 - 02:44 PM

yeah but if i set my NIC to 100baseT full duplex, then it never wants to connect to the Xbox...

Even worse, if i try 100baseT half duplex, then i get transert rate of 10-15 kbsec...
Can it be my crossover cable?

#22 Nathan561

Nathan561

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 935 posts

Posted 14 November 2003 - 04:32 PM

QUOTE (Lonecrow @ Nov 14 2003, 04:44 PM)
yeah but if i set my NIC to 100baseT full duplex, then it never wants to connect to the Xbox...

Even worse, if i try 100baseT half duplex, then i get transert rate of 10-15 kbsec...
Can it be my crossover cable?

Its likely that you have only a 10 baseT crossover cable.

Try buying a new one, all of them are at least 10/100 nowadays.

#23 Lonecrow

Lonecrow

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 14 November 2003 - 05:27 PM

fine ill go buy one right now, and by the way, dyou know if i want to play with 3 xbox in link system, if i pass through a HUB if i need to ahve crossover cable or RJ45 standard would do?

Thanks

#24 koldfuzion

koldfuzion

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,480 posts

Posted 14 November 2003 - 07:34 PM

if you connect 3 xboxes with a hub you need to use straight through, not cross over.


#25 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 November 2003 - 08:58 PM

My router works with either straight or crossover

#26 Gmc

Gmc

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 November 2003 - 09:53 PM

Using a crossover cable, I get speeds between 5-10mb/s.

#27 angelfly

angelfly

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 301 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA
  • Interests:too many too list
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 November 2003 - 10:25 PM

crossover from xbox to pc get me an average of 8mb/s

#28 koldfuzion

koldfuzion

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,480 posts

Posted 15 November 2003 - 12:41 AM

QUOTE (geniusalz @ Nov 14 2003, 10:58 PM)
My router works with either straight or crossover

yea, some routers have auto-pin sensing and will swap them around for you.

hubz are normally dumb as hell

switches route packets better.. but normally dont have pin sensing.... though some newer ones might.


crossovers are used normally to connect two pc's together without a hub

crossovers are used when connecting hub to hub when no uplink port is provided and pin sensing isnt a feature

straight through cables should normally be used anytime a network device connects to a hub or switch directly.

Edited by koldfuzion, 15 November 2003 - 12:41 AM.


#29 Lonecrow

Lonecrow

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 15 November 2003 - 01:34 AM

ok so i should use normal RJ-45 Cable?

#30 irajames1176

irajames1176

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Alaska
  • Interests:Computer Hardware, Networking, Linux, and of course Videogames
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 November 2003 - 11:40 AM

Yes use a standard RJ-45 cable with the hub, a crossover cable would be for if you DIDN'T have a hub and were just going to connect your pc to your xbox directly




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users