Jump to content


Photo

Ms Dash Error


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 ktb

ktb

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 59 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 17 November 2003 - 10:43 PM

i keep getting error 21 when i try to load the ms dash. Any suggestions??


#2 wweboy

wweboy

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts

Posted 17 November 2003 - 11:04 PM

have you modified any of your xip files or your xboxdash.xbe file?

#3 SoulQuake

SoulQuake

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 17 November 2003 - 11:34 PM

I'm getting the same error 21, and can't even boot from a cd, still getting the same 21 code. When i try booting up with an empty HD i get Error 16, and still unable to boot from cd.

Prior to this problem i renamed my xboxdash.xbe -> msxboxdash.xbe, evoxdash.xbe -> edash.xbe. Why? I was trying to get msdash to work (for dvd viewing purposes) while having xbmp as my dashboard.

I've been looking (unsuccesfully) all over the forum for a solution. Can anybody help?
I got a modded xbox (x2l) and a 120gb HD that was working really grate untill i started to play around.

#4 dayve

dayve

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts

Posted 18 November 2003 - 12:15 AM

Same thing happened to me. Your not gonna fix it buddy. I wasted about 50 hours of my life figuring that out.

#5 SoulQuake

SoulQuake

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 November 2003 - 11:11 AM

Any other suggestions?
Is my Xbox + chip for ever dead now?

Please, I'm going nuts here...

#6 dayve

dayve

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts

Posted 18 November 2003 - 11:26 AM

QUOTE (SoulQuake @ Nov 18 2003, 01:11 PM)
Any other suggestions?
Is my Xbox + chip for ever dead now?

Please, I'm going nuts here...

You can save the chip, the box its self is fucked-- unless you are a good programer and can fix fatxplorer.

#7 SoulQuake

SoulQuake

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 November 2003 - 11:30 AM

Have you tried booting upp with a friends working xbox HDD?

#8 nezff

nezff

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,529 posts
  • Location:Louisiana
  • Interests:gaming, gaming o and gaming
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 18 November 2003 - 11:41 AM

i got a error 21 after xbox live updated my machine about 2 days ago when i would try to go to msdashboard. I had xboxdash.xbe in my C and xboxdash_old.xbe. my evox ini file was pointing to the wrong one. i changed the msdashboard from C: xboxdash_old.xbe to xboxdash.xbe and it works fine. Make sure u change the audioplayer also to the same because it would not work until i changed that also.

#9 SoulQuake

SoulQuake

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 November 2003 - 11:52 AM

That would be great. Only problem is i can't rename any files untill i get the dash working.
My Xbox is not booting up, neither from hdd nor cd.
I can't even get an original game to start up when my moddchip is off.

#10 nezff

nezff

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,529 posts
  • Location:Louisiana
  • Interests:gaming, gaming o and gaming
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 18 November 2003 - 11:54 AM

i didn't rename anything. i changed the ini file to point to the different xbe instead.

#11 SoulQuake

SoulQuake

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 November 2003 - 12:13 PM

Ok, just so I now I'm on the right track, you are talking about renaming your dash location on a CD (to boot from) with Evox?

#12 nezff

nezff

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,529 posts
  • Location:Louisiana
  • Interests:gaming, gaming o and gaming
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 18 November 2003 - 12:53 PM

do u know what a evox ini file is? if so, then i just changed the spot where it said msdashboard= C:xboxdash_old.xbe to C:xboxdash.xbe.

#13 SoulQuake

SoulQuake

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 19 November 2003 - 01:35 PM

Ok. Problem solved.
Here is what I did.

1 - Hotswaped my messed up HDD as described by STKD (alternative method).

2 - Started upp HDD_Driver on my PC; XDrive found! (It took a while and a lot of patience to get this working).

3 - Ignored error messages and went to the tools menu. Made a backup of my entire XDrive (my 120GB drive took around 90 min to backup). Named it BACKUP.BIN, this backup will not be necessary in the future (hopefully), unless something goes seriously wrong.

4 - Borrowed an XBox from a friend. Unlocked it's hdd with config magic. Connected it to my PC and with HDD_Drive made an entire backup of it. Named it FRIEND.BIN

4 - Repeted step 1.

5 - Now with my non working XDrive connected to my PC I started HDD_Drive, ignored any error message, and restored the user and system partition using FRIEND.BIN.

My box is now running perfectly again.
Only problem is all my saves are gone. I can live with that! smile.gif

Hope this is of help to someone.

#14 noisbuff3

noisbuff3

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 November 2003 - 01:57 PM

How did you hotswap without going to the dashboard? I thought you said your dashboard would not even show up?

#15 SoulQuake

SoulQuake

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 November 2003 - 10:44 AM

My dashboard didn't show up.

I pulled out the DVD idecable and got Error 11, then waited for like 5 min and hotswaped (If you hear a sound that reminds of search activity, kind of knock-spin-knock-spin from your drive you've waited to long, my drive would lock again after that).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users