Jump to content


Photo

Wireless Networking


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 pedro

pedro

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 633 posts

Posted 25 November 2003 - 02:01 AM

Okay, curently I have my xbox connected to my computer via a linksys 4 port router. I am about to purchase a centrino laptop with a built in 802.11b
I dont know alot about networking, jsut enough to connect my xbox to my PC, so I was wondering, what do I need to connect my new laptop to my router using its wireless capabilities?

thank you guys.

#2 i.stole.this.name

i.stole.this.name

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 25 November 2003 - 07:58 AM

The windows equivalent of an AIRport base station...

#3 Spency234

Spency234

    LEAFS NATION

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,084 posts
  • Location:Canada eh?
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 25 November 2003 - 12:07 PM

First of all... don't buy 802.11b (11Mbs), buy at least 802.11g(54Mbs). Myself, I'm waiting until the speed is even quicker then that before I go to wireless.

You will need a wireless network card installed on your laptop, some of them already have wireless built in.

BTW 802.11g is backwards compatible with 802.11b.

#4 SKoT

SKoT

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 25 November 2003 - 02:14 PM

i am running a wireless network at my house with a 802.11G D-Link, i get 2000 K a second form WEBSITES from around 60 ft away through a few walls, tell me how i can get much faster biggrin.gif

do u have a wireless router btw? u need a wireless router not just a regular 4-porty, btw the Wireless routers come with 4 wired ports if u need em for a close computer

#5 pedro

pedro

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 633 posts

Posted 26 November 2003 - 12:08 AM

I dont have a wireless router, So I would have to buy a new one?
There isnt like just something that I coul dplug into on eof the ports on my router to make one port wireless?
I was hoping there was.

as far as the 802.11b vs. 802.11g goes, I really dont have much of a choice, the 802.11b comes in the laptop.

#6 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 November 2003 - 12:17 AM

access points are so cheap now just get one of them from linksys or dlink.

#7 pedro

pedro

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 633 posts

Posted 26 November 2003 - 12:25 AM

access point?

#8 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 November 2003 - 01:22 AM

Linksys BEFW11S4 is one example... look it up.

#9 pedro

pedro

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 633 posts

Posted 26 November 2003 - 01:25 AM

I looked it up on linsys's website but I dont understand exactly what it does.
Does it plug into the USB of my PC that is already connected to my netowork?

#10 Xboxman20

Xboxman20

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,945 posts
  • Location:Palmdale, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 26 November 2003 - 06:43 AM

Yea i currenty just got a new netgear wireles 4 port switch/router. its the WGT624 with 108.11 G it goes up to 108mbps. Im still currently elearning about it. Also if your laptop comes iwth shitty wireless just buy a wireless router then get a wireless card for it.

SKot wtf are u running off of cable or something lol? t1?

#11 pedro

pedro

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 633 posts

Posted 26 November 2003 - 11:40 AM

If I bought an access point with 802.11g which is faster, would it work witht the 802.11b in my laptop until I save up enogh money to upgrade to an 802.11g card? I dont think I can fford to get the laptop and all of this networking stuff right now.

#12 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 November 2003 - 12:22 PM

yes it should work just fine...

#13 Spency234

Spency234

    LEAFS NATION

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,084 posts
  • Location:Canada eh?
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 November 2003 - 01:41 PM

QUOTE (Spency234 @ Nov 25 2003, 02:07 PM)
BTW 802.11g is backwards compatible with 802.11b.

tongue.gif

#14 SKoT

SKoT

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 345 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 26 November 2003 - 02:11 PM

im running it off cable yes, but i have my house split so that half of my cable incoming from the street goes to the Modem, and the other half to the TV's

biggrin.gif

#15 pedro

pedro

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 633 posts

Posted 26 November 2003 - 09:34 PM

Sweet, I gues I'll be ordering my 802.11g acess point soetime after christmas.
anyone know where I can get one cheap?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users