Jump to content


Photo

56k


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 XBOX420

XBOX420

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Location:somewere in the southwest
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 November 2002 - 08:06 PM

is it possable to connect to the internet (not xbox live), to browse,with a 56k modem?
is the a broadband adapter to 56k ?

#2 LumbraX

LumbraX

    BANNED AGAIN - Multiple Abuses

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,711 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Interests:skateboarding
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 16 November 2002 - 08:46 PM

Yes it is possible. But 56k Modems are SLOW AS FUCK!

Just go buy a Cable Modem. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

#3 LumbraX

LumbraX

    BANNED AGAIN - Multiple Abuses

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,711 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Interests:skateboarding
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 16 November 2002 - 08:46 PM

What are you using now? blink.gif blink.gif

#4 XBOX420

XBOX420

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Location:somewere in the southwest
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 November 2002 - 01:15 AM

sence I don't have the money for broadbrand service or the modem,
I have dailup connection on my PC. & I read that you can browse
the net, read & send e-mail, etc. with the linux software for the XBOX.
so that why I ask the ? above. were can I get a adapter to convert
broadband to 56k (dailup) to use the net service I have now to browse
the net ?

#5 M3_DeL

M3_DeL

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,314 posts

Posted 17 November 2002 - 01:36 AM

56kers are fart knockers

#6 archon76

archon76

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 624 posts

Posted 17 November 2002 - 01:56 AM

You can use a dial up modem over a Ethernet connection. The easy way to do this is find a modem based router. Dlink has made a few of these they are nice units support NAT, PAT, ip forwarding and have built in firewalls. They support connect on demand as well. So when you need to connect it auto dials.

If you have a PC you can set up ICS (internet Connection Sharing) but the router is a better solution.

Just remmeber it is a POTS modem. So it will be slow. Where I live I have no broadband options. So i went with Satelite Internet its fairly fast.

I still alomost cry when I connect companies to the internet on T1 or T3 line. <sigh>

#7 XBOX420

XBOX420

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Location:somewere in the southwest
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 November 2002 - 04:47 AM

so the modem based router from Dlink is probbaly the best sollution to go with ?
Thanks for you advice!!!!!!

#8 XBOX420

XBOX420

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Location:somewere in the southwest
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 November 2002 - 05:00 AM

What are the names of these routers called, I don't know what or where to
look at D-link's website ?

#9 archon76

archon76

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 624 posts

Posted 17 November 2002 - 07:22 AM

It would appear that a lot of these products are no longer available. I have found one made by netgear part number RM356 but it is pricey. I will keep looking and see what I can find.



#10 XBOX420

XBOX420

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Location:somewere in the southwest
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 November 2002 - 08:04 PM

thankyou, ya that one from netgear is expencive! I sure as hell am not
going to buy that 1.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users