Jump to content


Photo

Xsnes9x V1.42 Wip 4 Dec 2003


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 kvajnto

kvajnto

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 593 posts

Posted 04 December 2003 - 09:33 PM

Thanks a bunch Lantus!

For those of you who haven't seen the news on http://www.lantus-x.com or X-S main-page

"xSnes9x V1.42 WIP 4 Dec 2003
>> This is another xSnes9x(info) WIP update from lantus..
Whats New:
- Merged in V1.42 Win32 build changes. Check CHANGES.TXT for more information.
- SDD-1 Decompression "on the fly" routines added. Enjoy Star Ocean and SFA2 without graphics packs smile.gif
- Added second button in SuperScope.
- Removed CDDA streaming for now. CPU load was impacting performance.
- Previews now appear on Favorites, Savestates and SRAM browsers.
- DVD-Browser should now be working."

#2 Zero

Zero

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,134 posts

Posted 04 December 2003 - 10:31 PM

Nice update beerchug.gif

#3 Bender_Unit_1

Bender_Unit_1

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 618 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 04 December 2003 - 10:54 PM

Fantastic work, lantus!

-Bender

#4 -x-

-x-

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 372 posts

Posted 05 December 2003 - 12:22 AM

biggrin.gif

#5 GLiTcH

GLiTcH

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,567 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 December 2003 - 03:50 AM

great job Lantus.. now wheres my FBA v4 tongue.gif j/k.. take ur time

#6 BigUglyFool

BigUglyFool

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 06 December 2003 - 03:12 PM

I don't keep up in these forums much so please forgive me if this has been asked 1 million times...

Is Lantus planning on adding relax rom streaming to xsnes9x ?

I saw the FAQ concerning SAMBA shares which I would also like to see, but relax is certainly easier and more lightweight.

BUF

#7 robg

robg

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 57 posts
  • Location:Preston, Lancashire, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 December 2003 - 03:52 PM

I have already asked Lantus about implementing Samba shares and he told me that it was not one of his priorities as he has read about people having problems with the other emulators. I would desperately like to see a network share feature of some sort with this emulator. Whether it be using Relax or Samba. It seems a shame that such a great emulator does not have this feature. Lets just hope that Lantus one day decides to throw this feature into one of his future builds.

#8 BigGanja

BigGanja

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:CoNsOlE ScRaPyArD - UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 December 2003 - 04:38 PM

i really see that your snes roms are eating up LOADS of space on your HDD ?!

now with added disk support why not burn it off as a compilation disk or just keep roms stored on your HDD

I think that feature would be pointless personally, and something like system link option would be much more of an appreciated function here, but again thats up to Lantus, great update m8, i was blown away with 141, u just stepped that up another level lol

Nods head with GLiTcH, yea i am really looking forward to FBA-x 4 too, wink.gif

Edited by BigGanja, 06 December 2003 - 04:40 PM.


#9 BigUglyFool

BigUglyFool

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 06 December 2003 - 06:02 PM

QUOTE
i really see that your snes roms are eating up LOADS of space on your HDD ?!


Well, since I have probably >15GB worth of roms of various systems, yes, it does tend to eat up disk space.

And since I keep them all on a RAID-5 array on my fileserver, I can reach them from any system on my home network.

So why would I want to manage multiple copies of my roms when I can keep them all on a redunant array? There must be a demand for relax/samba sharing otherwise people wouldn't be constantly mentioning it.

So to summarize - yeah I think it's an extremely useful, convenient and lightweight way to manage roms. And I do think Lantus should consider putting it in - virtually every other emulator (whose rom collection approaches large) has this feature.

BUF

#10 Mage

Mage

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,055 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 December 2003 - 09:30 PM

As the last guy said, the whole point of relax/samba isn't just to save space.
If you have more than one system, it is far easier to manage your files from a single point, with saving space only being a benefit.

Though if saved games could be saved to a relax share also that would make the sharing even more useful.

#11 Likklebaer

Likklebaer

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,689 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 December 2003 - 07:26 PM

Playing Starfox with AdvMAME2x filter still produces the music slowdown on the first level. It's most noticeable at the very start when the ships are flying out of the base, and at the half-way point when you fly through the blue checkpoint ring.

#12 ScHlAuChi

ScHlAuChi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 278 posts

Posted 08 December 2003 - 08:39 PM

@lantus
Just a little thing that would be nice to have:

In Kawa-X you have frameskip when u press right analogue stick to the right.
Would it be possible to add this in the Pad-config options so you have more config possibilitys ?


#13 Likklebaer

Likklebaer

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,689 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 December 2003 - 09:21 PM

Would it not be better to have an Auto Frameskip option as in the PC version? This seems like a perfect solution if the Xbox is going to struggle with some games.

#14 lantus

lantus

    X-S Genius

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 December 2003 - 09:21 PM

Likklebaer - then dont use AdvanceMame2x, Simple2x eats less cpu and looks more authentic.

I *hate* software filters for this reason

ScHlAuChi, ill look at adding in a frameskip option in the next WIP

#15 ScHlAuChi

ScHlAuChi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 278 posts

Posted 08 December 2003 - 09:57 PM

The Turbo button (white) isnt frameskip ?
i was always in the impression that this is frameskip - thats wha its getting so fast;)

What i actually meant is the possibility to assign "right analogue stick right" to "turbo"
in the "Xbox controller 1 Buttion mappings screen" so its just as in Kawa-X smile.gif






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users