Jump to content


Photo

Dvi Cable? Component to DVI?


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 AceCon

AceCon

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Cleveland
  • Interests:Modding, Gaming, Playing Poker and Pool
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 22 November 2003 - 11:06 PM

is there ever goin to be a DVI output for an xbox, ether retail or mod?

#2 gerzand

gerzand

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 378 posts

Posted 23 November 2003 - 03:13 AM

just make a vga cable and put a vga to dvi converter on the end

Edited by gerzand, 23 November 2003 - 03:13 AM.


#3 `mc

`mc

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 23 November 2003 - 06:44 AM

I don't think that'll work.. DVI to VGA adapters are to convert signals down to VGA so you can use a standard monitor with a DVI video card. I doubt it works the other way around. And as far as I know, the graphics on the xbox don't have provisions for a true DVI signal.

#4 Mr Ed

Mr Ed

    Hacking Horse

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 November 2003 - 02:10 PM

Uh yeah. Remember VGA is analog. DVI is digital you can't just convert one to the other.

How does a DVI to VGA adapter work? Well the DVI spec allows VGA to be sent on a few pins as well. The adapter just takes the VGA analog signal and adapts it to a standard size VGA plug, so you can look at a DVI plug and know there are actually two signals on it, DVI and VGA. The converter just splits out the VGA signal.

#5 gerzand

gerzand

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 378 posts

Posted 23 November 2003 - 02:37 PM

yeah, i realize that... i was just thinking of an easy way to plug it into a dvi monitor so at least you could have some functionality, although the quality wouldnt be better than vga

#6 Silverserver

Silverserver

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 December 2003 - 04:30 AM

i have quick question.
does any one knows if theres a DVI cable for the Xbox or how to make one .
i have a Samsung WS 47inch and the only connection on the TV thats supports the 720P is the DVI input .the rest ony support the 480p,480i or1080i
please help

#7 ChrisF

ChrisF

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,220 posts

Posted 10 December 2003 - 04:39 AM

There is no DVI cable. All of the current xbox outputs are analog. DVI is designed for a digital signal. I'm sure anything is possible but it would be a monumental effort and likely require a complete re-engineering of the xbox.

#8 Silverserver

Silverserver

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 December 2003 - 08:39 PM

thanks for the reply


#9 Lt. DARRYL

Lt. DARRYL

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts

Posted 11 December 2003 - 10:43 PM

If Xbox had DVI out...EUPHORIA! jester.gif

#10 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 December 2003 - 08:28 AM

They do make a 15pin vga to DVI cable. You could then use this cable in conjunction with the x2vga transcoder, or with the ms hd pack plus vga bios. I would definently try this route if your tv supports 720p in dvi. wink.gif

#11 Mr Ed

Mr Ed

    Hacking Horse

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 December 2003 - 02:10 PM

QUOTE (Foe-hammer @ Dec 12 2003, 02:28 AM)
They do make a 15pin vga to DVI cable.  You could then use this cable in conjunction with the x2vga transcoder, or with the ms hd pack plus vga bios. I would definently try this route if your tv supports 720p in dvi. wink.gif

Yeah, that "cable" that converts VGA to DVI is $300. It includes a box that does the actual conversion. Remember that VGA is crappy old analog, so the box needs to have an A/D converter to actually digitize the analog VGA signal to DVI. And since you signal is only as good as the weakest link, it won't look any better than a straight VGA signal, so there is no benefit in spending $300 to convert VGA to DVI. muhaha.gif

If you still want to buy one, you can get one here:
http://www.gefen.com...sp?prod_id=1310

Edited by Mr Ed, 12 December 2003 - 02:11 PM.


#12 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 December 2003 - 05:54 PM

QUOTE (Mr Ed @ Dec 12 2003, 04:10 PM)

Yeah, that "cable" that converts VGA to DVI is $300. It includes a box that does the actual conversion. Remember that VGA is crappy old analog, so the box needs to have an A/D converter to actually digitize the analog VGA signal to DVI. And since you signal is only as good as the weakest link, it won't look any better than a straight VGA signal, so there is no benefit in spending $300 to convert VGA to DVI. muhaha.gif


You don't need that expensive box to do this. They make simple a simple $15 cable that will do this. Check here. And yes, the best you'll get is vga analog, but this is pretty damn good; just as good as what a regular vga 15pin vga monitor gets in conjuction with a computer. The benefit is this is the only way for him to get native 720p, and for $15 it is a very good idea.

#13 Mr Ed

Mr Ed

    Hacking Horse

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 December 2003 - 01:02 AM

Ok, that cable doesn't really convert VGA to DVI. But it does pass through the VGA signals on the DVI-A pins of a DVI-I connector.

So I guess I have to ask this question...is DVI on an HDTV DVI-D (I thought it was) which can't handle an analog VGA signal, or is it DVI-I which can? If HDTVs are only DVI-D, then this cable won't work.

#14 Foe-hammer

Foe-hammer

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,416 posts
  • Location:Wyoming
  • Interests:Hunting, fishing, body building, video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 December 2003 - 04:18 PM

For only $15 bucks it worth a shot, either way.

#15 joe912

joe912

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 54 posts

Posted 21 January 2004 - 02:13 AM

could i make a vga cable and then use the converter that came with my vid card to hook it up to my hdtv???




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users