Jump to content


Photo

Misc. Issues


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 January 2004 - 06:58 AM

Left thumbstick directional keypresses don't work with Shift (right trigger) pressed, whereas d-pad keypresses work.

Long labels crash MXM (e.g. DontDrawThisBox)

This one is not a big deal:
Pressing two keys 'at once, very quickly' registers only one keypress
Here's what I did:
Press down (d-pad)
Press A
Leave down
Leave A
Both keys registered if not done very quickly

Then I tried this:
Press down
Press A
Leave A
Leave down
Again, both keys registered

However, pressing both simultaneously for a short period causes only one to register. Weird.

This happens in actionscripts as well as the menu. Again, not a big deal, but occasionally causes missed keypresses in tetris, if playing very fast.

#2 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 January 2004 - 11:48 AM

Well, the thumbstick issue is merely an omission in the keydef tables... but the label issue is a bit more puzzling. Theoretically, it shouldn't matter how long they are.

#3 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 January 2004 - 08:35 AM

VIRTKEYBOARD command not implemented, but STRINGINPUT works.
And the flashing letters look pretty ugly, to be honest. Maybe a flashing or fading border would look better.

Edited by geniusalz, 03 January 2004 - 08:39 AM.


#4 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 January 2004 - 01:13 PM

Yeah, VIRTKEYBOARD is in there, but I used "virtualkeyboard" instead. I'll shorten it up on the next build. It's not too important anyway, it just forces the keyboard as if you pressed the key combo to bring it up.

I will consider different ways to present the info on the highlighted key. Flashing was used because I needed to distinguish the CAPSLOCK and SHIFT keys when activated and highlighted.

#5 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 January 2004 - 02:25 AM

New bug in latest wip: numerical comparisons are messed up. And I kept wondering why none of the lines in tetris were disappearing

CODE
IF# 5>7 GOTO BLAH1
GOTO unBlah
:BLAH1
BeginDraw
Messagebox "WTF?"
EndDraw
IqWaitMsg ANY

:unBlah
QUIT


EDIT: Well, can't do too much now, signing off.. first day back at university tomorrow

Edited by geniusalz, 05 January 2004 - 02:34 AM.


#6 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 January 2004 - 02:39 AM

OK, I'll take a look at it....

#7 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 January 2004 - 07:41 PM

BTW: I've been hashing out the details for handling the FileManager stuff. I'm finally moving forward with my complete UI (much easier with the new input system and VK in place).

Specifically, I'm gearing it to be able to use ActionScripting to control the dialogs. You'll be able to attach dialog definitions (in XML) to your plug-and-play ActionScript files (which as I said earlier, will be in XML format) and use them. Data access and controls configuration is all done in XML.

For example:

MyDialog.Controls.IDNICKNAME.Data.Text

would represent the text data from an edit box in a dialog... if you have any suggestions, get them to me now, as I'll be hammering on this tonight probably (and checking out the numeric comparison issue). I already have the framework in place for the controls, and will hopefully have some very simple dialogs running tonight.

BTW: is the line EXACTLY as you have it above:
CODE

IF# 5>7 GOTO BLAH1


because you need SPACES between tokens in ActionScript....

CODE

IF# 5 > 7 GOTO BLAH1

Edited by BenJeremy, 05 January 2004 - 07:44 PM.


#8 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 January 2004 - 07:56 PM

Double checked, and the comparisons work fine with the space.

The arrays were messing the program up, not the comparisons

SET blah[index] 1 doesn't work
SET blah%index% 1 works

#9 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 January 2004 - 08:02 PM

QUOTE (geniusalz @ Jan 5 2004, 03:56 PM)
Double checked, and the comparisons work fine with the space.

The arrays were messing the program up, not the comparisons

SET blah[index] 1 doesn't work
SET blah%index% 1 works

OK, I'll take a look.. of course, "technically" - it's an embedded variable. wink.gif Hopefully a quick fix.


What do you think about the dialog stuff? Eventually, it will even be mousable (who needs WinCE?)

#10 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 January 2004 - 08:33 PM

Hmm..
My suggestion on the new UI was skinlike elements allowed to be defined in actionscripts, with properties (pos, color, etc) allowed to be set through the script, or integrate actionscripts into skins. This sort of ties in with the 'permanent' objects drawing implementation.

#11 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 January 2004 - 08:46 PM

Try looking at some Visual Basic .frm files in notepad. It's all text-based, and we should be looking for something similar, only in XML.

Sample vb form

#12 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 January 2004 - 10:21 PM

Yes, my Dialog definitions will be in XML. Since Actionscripting can easily manipulate XML trees, it makes sense on many levels.



#13 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 January 2004 - 02:02 AM

Annoyance: If the variable parameter for the StringInput command is not blank, the cursor appears at the beginning of the text, rather than appearing at the end of the text.

#14 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 January 2004 - 03:07 AM

QUOTE (geniusalz @ Jan 5 2004, 10:02 PM)
Annoyance: If the variable parameter for the StringInput command is not blank, the cursor appears at the beginning of the text, rather than appearing at the end of the text.

Good catch... I'll try and hit that tomorrow.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users