Jump to content


Photo

Gain Additional Gb's Without Losing Data


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 lookformeb

lookformeb

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 January 2004 - 06:54 PM

Caution: You must backup your entire HDD in case something goes wrong. I can not stress this enough!!

Scenario:
You've got a hard drive installed on your Xbox that has more than 137GB and you want to gain the extra HDD space without losing all of your data by completely reformatting the entire drive.

Flash:
You need to have a BIOS flashed with the LBA48 patch and it must be set for "Partition 6 Takes up to 137GB / Partition 7 Takes Rest".

Format:
For Evox, set "UseGDrive = Yes" and place the following at the bottom of the menu portion in your evox.ini file:
CODE
Section "Install Menu"
{
Item "Install G Drive",@210
Item "Reboot",ID_Quick_Reboot
Item "Power Off",ID_Power_Off
}

[Action_10]
Info "Format G"
Warning "This will format your G drive"
Warning "Have a Backup!"
Progress "Formatting drive"

Format g:

Reboot:
Reboot and choose the menu and install the G drive. When it is finished, you need to enable the G drive in you evox.ini file.

This idea (I changed a little) was taken from http://teamxecuter.c...iewtopic&t=7307

Edited by lookformeb, 02 February 2004 - 02:19 AM.


#2 brahm2

brahm2

    Internet Superstar

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,003 posts
  • Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Interests:I'm an EE student at the UofS in Saskatoon. I love guitar and drinking beer.. sometimes both.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 January 2004 - 07:00 PM

Pinned.

Additional reading - oz_paulb's LBA48 topic:
http://forums.xbox-s...ST&f=41&t=97997

Edited by brahm2, 20 January 2004 - 03:22 AM.


#3 lookformeb

lookformeb

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 January 2004 - 07:03 PM

Success story number 1:

QUOTE
thanks burrito! You were right. I added the lines you had and now I have access to the other 23gb of drive space. I had only formatted the first 137 gigs and hadn't checked the space until after getting my new hdd all set up and ripping games to it. It works perectly now. Thanks everyone!!


#4 NeoKast

NeoKast

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 452 posts

Posted 09 January 2004 - 04:18 PM

This is a no brainer. Of course it works. Anyone who's edited evox.ini to ONLY flash f: for the 10GB stock HDD's would know that this is how you format G with the new bios.

#5 coleraine

coleraine

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 24 January 2004 - 07:14 PM

Hey u guys seem to know what your talking about,so i was wandering if you could help me .
I have just upgraded my hard drive to a seagate 60gb,everything went ok,but it does not give me a total of 60 gb free space,it looks like this

C DRIVE HAS 300MB
E DRIVE HAS 5GB
F DRIVE HAS 25GB
AND THE REST HAVE 767MB

MY QUESTION IS WITH DID I NOT GET THE FULL 60Gb
Please help.

#6 lookformeb

lookformeb

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 January 2004 - 03:20 AM

coleraine, have you put anything on F?

#7 lookformeb

lookformeb

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 January 2004 - 06:24 PM

QUOTE (coleraine - PM sent Jan 26 2004 @ 01:37 PM)
no i have not put anything on F: drive

Consider backing up all your data and reformatting...

#8 elfey1

elfey1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Location:Sheffield, UK
  • Interests:Xbox,(or i wouldnt b here) playing music, going out.

Posted 29 January 2004 - 09:38 AM

ive tried the above without any success. I have C,D,E,F,X,Y,Z - no damn G drive grr.gif

ive got a 300GB Maxtor
X2Lite Chip
Bios which supports partition 7
i have an old dash 1.8.3752 - could this be the reason it doesnt work, i was under the impression that as long as you have a bios that supports it then it would work - obviously not.

please help. Cheers


Sorted it out now...dashboard update. cool.gif

Edited by elfey1, 29 January 2004 - 02:53 PM.


#9 lookformeb

lookformeb

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 January 2004 - 03:36 PM

Sounds like you may not have the G drive enabled in your dash... Edit the config file for this...

#10 heinrich

heinrich

    ..assuming the role of God

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,576 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 January 2004 - 04:10 PM

There is no option in 3752 for G drive; you need to upgrade.

#11 thewickedjester

thewickedjester

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 February 2004 - 12:43 AM

when i go to click on install g drive, it gives me this message:

Error in action number
Action: 10

then it gives me a yes or no option, what should i do?

here is my menu section of the evox.ini file

[Menu]

Section "Root"
{
Item "Play Game from DVDROM Drive",ID_Launch_DVD
Section "Play Games from HD"
{
Line "- Games on the Hard Drive -",2
Line " "
AutoAddItem "E:\GAMES\"
AutoAddItem "E:\HDDLoader\"
AutoAddItem "f:\GAMES\"
AutoAddItem "f:\HDDLoader\"
SortAll
}
Item "Game Trainers",ID_trainer
Item "DVD MOVIE Player - Region Free","f:\Apps\DVDX\default.xbe"
Section "Emulators"
{
Line "- Emulators on Hard Drive -",2
Line " "
AutoAddItem "f:\Apps\Emulators\"
SortAll
}
Item "Xbox Media Player - XBMP","f:\Apps\XBMP\default.xbe"
Section "System Management"
{
Item "Game Management on Xbox HD","f:\Apps\HDDLoader\default.xbe"
Item "Game and Media Backup Tool","f:\Apps\dvd2xbox\default.xbe"
Item "Choose a Different Skin",ID_Skins
Item "Flash Bios",ID_Flash_Bios
Section "Launch Apps from HD"
{
Line "- Media and File Managers -",2
Line " "
Item "Dvd2Xbox Media Copier","f:\Apps\Dvd2Xbox\default.xbe"
Item "PxHDD Loader","f:\Apps\HDDLoader\default.xbe"
Item "Xbox File Explorer","f:\Apps\boXplorer\default.xbe"
Line " "
Line "- Auto Added Items -",2
Line " "
SortStart
AutoAddItem "e:\Apps\"
AutoAddItem "f:\Apps\"
SortEnd
Line " "
Line "Asst. Games"
Line " "
SortStart
AutoAddItem "f:\Games\"
AutoAddItem "e:\Games\"
SortEnd
}
Item "M$ Dashboard",ID_MS_Dash
Item "System Settings",ID_Settings
}
Item "Reboot Xbox",ID_Quick_Reboot
Item "Power OFF Xbox",ID_Power_Off
Section "Install Menu"
{
Item "Install G Drive",@210
Item "Reboot",ID_Quick_Reboot
Item "Power Off",ID_Power_Off
}

[Action_10]
Info "Format G"
Warning "This will format your G drive"
Warning "Make sure you have a backup of your entire disk"
Progress "Formatting drives"

ConfigSector "backupdisk.bin"
Format g:
}

[Action_10]


[Action_11]


[Action_12]

LogFile = "f:\unlock.log"
Info "This function will unlock your XBOX Harddisk"
Warning "You will now unlock your XBOX harddisk and will not be able"
Warning "to boot from an original XBOX bios"
#

Edited by thewickedjester, 02 February 2004 - 12:44 AM.


#12 lookformeb

lookformeb

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 February 2004 - 12:50 AM

We didn't need the whole ini file but thanks...

Remove these lines:
CODE

[Action_10]


[Action_11]


[Action_12]

LogFile = "f:\unlock.log"
Info "This function will unlock your XBOX Harddisk"
Warning "You will now unlock your XBOX harddisk and will not be able"
Warning "to boot from an original XBOX bios"
#


#13 thewickedjester

thewickedjester

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 February 2004 - 12:56 AM

i removed exactly what you told me but it still gives me the same error message, could it be because my hdd is locked?

#14 lookformeb

lookformeb

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,573 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 February 2004 - 01:10 AM

No, thats not it...

In this:
CODE
ConfigSector "backupdisk.bin"
Format g:
}
remove the last }

Forgot to add that before...

#15 thewickedjester

thewickedjester

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 February 2004 - 01:15 AM

thanks for your help, i now have about 60 more gigs of space i can use




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users