Jump to content


Photo

Surreal And Zipped Roms Problem


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 browll

browll

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 17 January 2004 - 01:39 PM

hi. i'm running surreal of cdrw atm and it don't seem to be able to show or load my zipped roms if i burn cdrw witn unzipped roms it works. cant figure out why this is i've been told surreal works fine with zipped roms

#2 browll

browll

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 17 January 2004 - 03:06 PM

just cant get this to work with zips tryed zipping roms with winrar and romzipper but zipped roms don't show up. maybe it's cos i'm running off cdrw?


#3 Social-Zero

Social-Zero

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 87 posts

Posted 17 January 2004 - 06:10 PM

i don't think it has zip support so it doesn't read zip files...

#4 Iriez

Iriez

    XBINS TOTALITARIAN

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,723 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2004 - 06:33 PM

It has zip support and it reads zip files fine.

Use winzip to zip your files, with no out of the standard compressions, or passwords and it will be able to open them in surreal.

Sounds like your using a non standard compression or your password protecting them.

#5 Perplexer

Perplexer

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,183 posts
  • Location:Lat: 36.0723N, Long: 79.3989W
  • Interests:Fish with big teeth
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2004 - 06:39 PM

Yup, I zipped my roms with PKZIP.EXE (funky batch file I wrote to batch zip 'em) and every one works fine in Surreal64.

Bonus: I first renamed them with GoodN64, then zipped em, then shortened the names with PreXboxCopyTool, and I get the box art on all titles (including ones that didn't display before.) biggrin.gif cool.gif

#6 rob1309

rob1309

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 924 posts
  • Location:IN, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 18 January 2004 - 02:36 AM

i had similar problem
it i batched zipped with winrar with .zip extension setting for best compression
some roms showed, some didnt
so i kept the ones that worked zipped
and rest (2 games) i left unzipped

#7 spare72

spare72

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 144 posts

Posted 18 January 2004 - 04:14 AM

Does Surreal run better with zipped roms? I am having a bear of a time with slow games. Mainly 007 Goldeneye



#8 Mr. Chips

Mr. Chips

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 18 January 2004 - 04:25 AM

Does it take more memory to use zipped roms? Like doesn't Surreal 64 have to store the zip in memory to decompress it?

and to the guy above, no it won't change anything, just try a good rom version with [!] on the end. And only the US 007 version works I heard. So get "Goldeneye 007 (U) [!]".

Edited by Mr. Chips, 18 January 2004 - 04:34 AM.


#9 Iriez

Iriez

    XBINS TOTALITARIAN

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,723 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 January 2004 - 05:54 AM

zipped or unziped does not change the gameplay.

The only reason your goldeneye was going slow is you are either not playing it with UltraHLE, or you are using the 16mb overdump. Use the 12mb version instead.

#10 Mr. Chips

Mr. Chips

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 18 January 2004 - 07:14 AM

once again, wink.gif

does it affect memory (since rob1309 had problems with some zipped games)?

#11 browll

browll

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 18 January 2004 - 11:24 AM

cheers guys i will try and rezip them with winzip.

#12 spare72

spare72

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 144 posts

Posted 18 January 2004 - 11:50 AM

Cool,

I will try that today with 12mb overdump and the Ultra program. I think I have the good rom but we will see smile.gif

Thanks

#13 browll

browll

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 18 January 2004 - 12:09 PM

well i've tried with winzip and still not recognising zipped roms. looks like i may have to make 2 dvdrs with unzipped roms. sucks

#14 chilin_dude

chilin_dude

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,945 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 18 January 2004 - 12:41 PM

wait
just refresh rom list!!!!!!
Bottom right corner!

#15 rob1309

rob1309

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 924 posts
  • Location:IN, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 18 January 2004 - 02:30 PM

it doesn't take more memory cuz it just unzips em to x,y,z drives
not sure why 2 games didn't show when zipped, 1 was bomberman64




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users