Jump to content


Photo

Xenium Support


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 HoRnEyDvL

HoRnEyDvL

    Nexgen Developer

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 January 2004 - 12:04 AM

Well if you have any issues or problems or suggestions please post em here smile.gif

#2 Gman22

Gman22

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 January 2004 - 12:22 AM

Poor Word Order

We don't want to ask for much but to be credited for our work & the work OzXodus has put into developing the Xenium.

I know they didn't mean it like that, but anyways...

#3 warbeast

warbeast

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,170 posts

Posted 21 January 2004 - 12:58 AM

QUOTE
Xenium Supoort (reboot to Xenium-OS & hopefully more features to come


would it not boot to the xeniums os with reboot.xbe?

i dont want to put this down but the main reason for the xeniums os is it's based on cromwell and loads before your custom bios to allow you to fix a blank EEprom and so on.
so i cant see any reason other then flashing the chip or playing around with the EEprom on the fly like configmagic and because the xeniums os would boot before your custom dash would it not be easer to use that?

anyway i hope they find some cool reason for this beerchug.gif

Edited by warbeast, 21 January 2004 - 03:25 AM.


#4 Gman22

Gman22

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 January 2004 - 01:10 AM

I think that they should have a way of disabling the OS, and have two pads you can solder together or something if the wanted to stay dipswitch less, that would allow you to boot Xenium OS so you could fix EEPROM, or reflash the bios, etc.

just my 2 cents

#5 warbeast

warbeast

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,170 posts

Posted 21 January 2004 - 01:27 AM

QUOTE
I think that they should have a way of disabling the OS, and have two pads you can solder together or something if the wanted to stay dipswitch less, that would allow you to boot Xenium OS so you could fix EEPROM, or reflash the bios, etc.

just my 2 cents


i see what you mean but the main reason for the Xenium is the os. if it was turned off how would you change bios banks and if it had two pads to solder you would need to solder them before you could flash the chip but then again i think it has a recovery switch with cromwell that could do it blink.gif
also a on/off switch would be nice but then it would not be dipswitch less like you said

off topic but i had a v1.4 m/b with a blank EEPROM and looking at how the xeniums os will work i would need to put the xenium into a working xbox to backup the EEPROM then put the xenium into my xbox to fix it so it would be nice to see the xeniums os flash the EEPROM from the dvd drive to save swaping the chip around.

ps. i think you should team up with smartXX aswell and do some mp3 shit laugh.gif laugh.gif

Edited by warbeast, 21 January 2004 - 02:23 AM.


#6 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 January 2004 - 02:27 AM

Won't a 'power cycle' get to the OS?

#7 warbeast

warbeast

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,170 posts

Posted 21 January 2004 - 03:12 AM

i hope a simple reboot from evox will take me back to the os because if i've got to get up off my lazy ass and turn the xbox off and cold boot i might aswell have a switch but this would be a good reason for the new features

Edited by warbeast, 21 January 2004 - 03:17 AM.


#8 Rodent

Rodent

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts
  • Location:Austria - Vienna (no, not australia...we don't have kangaroos!)
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 21 January 2004 - 07:15 AM

QUOTE
the work OzXodus has put into developing the Xenium


ozXodus never "developped" anything.

They took old Sources from the broken partnership with smartXX team, and "finished" (err...kind of) "their" product


at last xenium will loose,

all xenium needs is people writing code for the chip,
as they theirselves are not really able to make the features they announced on their own.

its pretty much crap, what you people read on XS mainpage

read the true story on www.smartxx.com

rod


#9 Heet

Heet

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location:Gainesville, FL
  • Interests:Pina coladas and getting caught in the rain. Disk space.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 21 January 2004 - 10:10 AM

Ya im sure its not slanted coming from the otherside rolleyes.gif Two sides to the story. Only THEY know what really happened.

#10 Rodent

Rodent

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts
  • Location:Austria - Vienna (no, not australia...we don't have kangaroos!)
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 21 January 2004 - 10:25 AM

this info is from trusted sources

but hey, who cares....

at the end xecuter4 beats them all, right?

just kidding - i dont know WHY the partnership broke,
but it is confirmed, that the xenium-on screen display is 1:1 the same except the background image

and...i do not have a reason to lie...

ask ozXodus for a reason smile.gif

cu

rod

#11 HoRnEyDvL

HoRnEyDvL

    Nexgen Developer

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 January 2004 - 11:07 AM

Rodent, it seems to me that you may be somewhat biased towards the SmartXX team. I have noticed that you have made similar accusations on IRC as well as on forums. You should probably look into both sides of the story before taking any sides. From my understanding the implementation of the Xenium-OS is VERY different to the OzXChip II (now SmartXX) implementation."

#12 Rodent

Rodent

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts
  • Location:Austria - Vienna (no, not australia...we don't have kangaroos!)
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 21 January 2004 - 01:50 PM

HD, youre right,

i am "kind of" familiar with the smartXX team...
they made a good piece of hardware with their PC-BioXX
they made a good piece of Hardware with their PC-NitroXX
and
they made a good piece of Hardware with their IR-Mod (2 free configurable lines)

ok, you make differences between ozXchip II and the Xenium.

but listen between the lines, and with which statements ozXodus is going into market...

they told smartXX team took "Their" (ozxodus') features and went on with the dev' of smartXX...
and thats in fact is a lie.

it turns out, that is exactly the other way...they took (in fact old and buggy) sources from
their co-op with smartXX team.

so for me personally it doesnt matter, if its called xenium or ozX II

hope you understand my pint of view.

and furthermore this isnt exactly the right place for discussing that smile.gif
its a nexGen thread smile.gif

horney, i will contact you on irc, lets have some smalltalk

cu
rod

#13 warbeast

warbeast

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,170 posts

Posted 21 January 2004 - 04:35 PM

after looking at both sites i've got to say rodent sounds right.
when they split into two groups they both used the same sources to make the os only the smartxx team has worked a bit harder to get more harware and os features so to tell you the truth i'm starting to look at the Xenium as just a beta version of the smartxx so ill wait and see before i make my order.

Edited by warbeast, 21 January 2004 - 04:53 PM.


#14 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 January 2004 - 06:25 PM

Let's get back on topic, okay?
Isn't this a 'power cycle'?
CODE
_outp(0xef, 0x01);
m_xkutils.XBOXReset();


#15 HoRnEyDvL

HoRnEyDvL

    Nexgen Developer

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 January 2004 - 08:22 PM

they way the xbox resets with that line of code is deferent from the way a normal dash would reset ur xbox smile.gif

Rodent can i ask u something if smartx or what ever created the chip then why the fuck call it an ozxchip 2? This is going 2 lead into 1 big battle u might know the smartxx people but i personaly know the ozxchip team so i know the truth but seriously i dont give a shit any more.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users