Jump to content


Photo

Both Leds On, But Still Frags


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 sidik

sidik

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 January 2004 - 04:38 PM

I am sorry for this post... really I am, but the fact of the matter is, the search function isn't working, so I couldn't really do much research besides reading the stickies.

I have no idea what xbox version I have, but I believe it is 1.4 or 1.5 (focus chip, no gpu fan, opened lpc ports). I got the Xecuter 2.2pro without pogo pins. I've used a multimeter to test the ground, the D0 point (i think) and pin 2 to make sure they all have continuity, and they're fine. So basically, I'm lost. Please help if you would be so kind. Or at least point me in the right direction. I still suspect my soldering job, but the fact that both lights go on really throws me off. TIA for any responses, even the go f*** yourself ones.




#2 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 31 January 2004 - 04:40 PM

fropm your description is sounds like a 1.4

does it still frag if you disable the chip? if it does you have a d0 problem

if it boots normally the problem is in either the chip or your LPC solder (i dont know if the 2.2s work on 1.4s or not)

#3 sidik

sidik

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 January 2004 - 04:43 PM

Wow, couldn't have asked for a faster response. When I disable the chip the box works fine. I'll take another look at my soldering job, I am suspicious of a couple of the pins. If not... do you know what chip will work for me? I'm sure I can sell this one to a friend. Thanks a lot.

#4 Xboxman20

Xboxman20

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,945 posts
  • Location:Palmdale, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 31 January 2004 - 04:44 PM

2.2's will work but you need something extra that takes the power from the different power source I beleive.

Edited by Xboxman20, 31 January 2004 - 04:47 PM.


#5 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 31 January 2004 - 04:45 PM

QUOTE (Xboxman20 @ Jan 31 2004, 11:44 AM)
2.2's will work but you need something extra that takes the power from the board like the new 2.3 chips do. Let me find what you need for it.

thats only for 1.5s, 1.4s have a working LPC, he said he checked all the pints with a multimeter, so he should be getting power and ground from the LPC just fine

might even be the bios, is the 2.2 flashed with anything? (does the old cromwell work on 1.4/1.5?)

Edited by lordvader129, 31 January 2004 - 04:46 PM.


#6 Xboxman20

Xboxman20

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,945 posts
  • Location:Palmdale, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 31 January 2004 - 04:49 PM

Yes the cromwell bios works but you will get no display on your tv because of the video encode so youll just have to pop in your bios cd when it boots sucesfully and thenwait 30-50 seconds and itll shut off.

Check the d0 you might want to unsolder and try the alt d0
(mUCH eASIER)

#7 sidik

sidik

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 January 2004 - 04:49 PM

lordvader, I checked the continuity between the grounds but not the voltage, my hands are too unsteady this morning to do anything with the power plugged in. I just finished adding a bit more solder to the pins I had in question. I'll let you know what happens when I put it all back together.

#8 sidik

sidik

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 January 2004 - 04:51 PM

Hm, now I get green and orange a few times and then it starts to frag again. Perhaps I should put the dvd and hd in and see if it works.


nope. just frags when the drives are in. how strange.

Edited by sidik, 31 January 2004 - 04:57 PM.


#9 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 31 January 2004 - 04:57 PM

yeah, that might be a no-hd no-dvd error

and dont mess with your d0, we've confirmed thats good, even easier than the alt d0 is to just leave it alone

QUOTE
If it ain't broke, don't fix it


#10 Xboxman20

Xboxman20

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,945 posts
  • Location:Palmdale, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 31 January 2004 - 05:05 PM

Something isnt soldered correctly. Or there is a solder splash somewhere

#11 sidik

sidik

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 January 2004 - 05:13 PM

Damn. I put it all back together and it's still doing the same thing.

I'll check for solder splashes.

I think my problem is that i've always followed the saying "If it ain't broke, fix it until it is!"



#12 sidik

sidik

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 January 2004 - 05:45 PM

Well, I cleaned up the solder points a bit and put it all back together. It's still power cycling twice and then fragging, so I suppose I will admit defeat for now. I'll probably try flashing the bios later to make sure that isn't the problem. Thanks for all your help and quick responses. You guys are awesome. If I ever get it work I'll let you know. Thanks again.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users