Jump to content


Photo

A Lot Of Errors Explained In Detail!


  • Please log in to reply
132 replies to this topic

#1 OcnewB

OcnewB

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:XboX modding, Repairing, Selling, Writing Tutorials.
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 February 2004 - 01:18 PM

Ok there we go. I hope this WILL get PINNED on most (all?) of the forum sections
because it is getting more and more annoying to explain over and over again
what the most common errors mean.

Thanks to Superfro for the 1st (much too basic) list.

I thought the list was sort off too basic and to short to be newbie friendly so lets try and see what I can make of it.


Beware, you wont see the bootldr error's because (thanks to: Lordvader129) : "when you see this" is not entirely accurate, you never see the bootloader errors, as they are one that cause the reboot/FRAGs


2 - bootldr - Eeprom check failed

[Details]

When you see this error most of the times you have flashed something wrong. Or you dropped solder on your eeprom chips.

[/Details]



4 - bootldr - Ram check failed

[Details]

Your Xbox ram chips are wasted.
Maybe you dropped a little solder on it (try to remove it CAREFULLY!). Note, if they are fried, removing solder won't fix them). Maybe you were static when you touched the ram chips. They are kind off sensitive. If they are, they are fried, sell your xbox for spare parts to me rolleyes.gif

[/Details]



5 - kernel - HDD not locked (The retail xbox bioses require the hd to be locked)

[Details]

When you upgrade your hard disk drive for one that is larger, you most of the times use a new hard drive that you bought in the shop. Now, when you put this hdd in your xbox and you try to boot up with your chip off. It gives you error 5. Why you ask? Well i will try to explain it simple.

The original (also called "Retail") hard drive is locked by MS. Why did they lock the harddrive?

Well if it wasn't it wouldve been more than easy (in the start of xbox hacking)
for hackers to change content on it. Thats why MS locks it. It is just a security measure.

This locking proces uses information thats on the motherboard. The "Lock" on a xbox hard drive contains information that is based on the harddrive itself and the motherboard it came with.

One thing that makes this clear: You can not change a retail harddrive with another one from an other not modded xbox. With every xbox there is only ONE i repeat ONE compatible harddisk drive. That is, if they are locked.

If you don't mod your xbox (tsop or modchips) you can not change harddrives. Not even from another xbox. However when your xbox IS modified you can change your harddisk for almost every other harddisk (thats UNLOCKED). This means that even when your xbox is modified, you can not just put another (retail) XBOX harddisk in your xbox. However some smart people made programs that can lock or unlock your xbox harddisk on the fly.

So when does the error occur? The only time this error should occur is when you boot up your xbox in original mode AND you have a harddisk in your xbox that is not yet locked. So now you ask what do i have to do to make your xbox work again?

Well the answer is pretty easy. Boot up your xbox with the chip on. Preferably with a slayer evo-x cd. Now you choose "Eeprom management." Than you choose: "Lock hdd." It takes one second. After its ready it should say something like "Done"
When it is "Done" just turn off your xbox. Disable your chip and try to boot in original mode. Now there should be no more error 5.

[/Details]



6 - kernel - Cannot unlock HDD

[Details]

If you understand the above, you should be able to understand what this means. It means you are trying to boot up the xbox with an harddisk that is locked in combination with ANOTHER motherboard than you are using it with right now.

What can i do about it, you ask? Well place the harddisk back in the xbox where it came from. After that, UNLOCK the harddisk with the same procedure i explained above (see error 5). Now when the harddisk is UNLOCKED, put it in the xbox which gave you the error. Now when you boot up with the chip ON it should not give you an error anymore.

However when you put the xbox on with the chip OFF your xbox will give you an error. (error 5) So to make sure you can boot original and boot with the chip ON. Next do the same as above: "Boot up your xbox with the chip on. Preferrably with a slayer evo-x cd. Now you choose "Eeprom management." Than you choose: "Lock hdd." It takes one second. After its ready it should say something like "Done"
When it is ready just turn off your xbox. Disable your chip and try to boot original. Now there should be no more error.

[/Details]



7 - kernel - HDD timeout

[Details]

Most of the times, the IDE cable is not properly connected when you see this error. Please reattach the ide cable. Not only to the harddisk drive but also to the dvd drive. ALso try to reconnect the ide cable to the motherboard.

Press pretty hard so it goes all the way in. Make sure it is seated straight and proper in the drives and the motherboard. If you still have an error 7. Try another ide cable. If that won't work try another harddisk. If there is still no go, try to set the jumpers on the rearside of the harddisk drive. Set it to master or cable select. If still no succes, good luck and sell your xbox to me rolleyes.gif

[/Details]



8 - kernel - No HDD found

[Details]

Please make sure your xbox hdd is attached properly. Most of the times the Ide cable came loose, or isn't seated properly in the IDE port of your harddisk. ALso make sure the power supply cables are intact and working.

Make sure the ide cable is also connected properly to the rest of the hardware (dvd and motherboard).

[/Details]



9 - kernel - HDD parameters (PIO/DMA/or size {debug}, certain size minimum is required for debug)

[Details]

Not very common error, please try another harddisk.

[/Details]



10 - kernel - DVD timeout

[Details]

Actually its almost the same as error 6/7/8. But also make sure the yellow cables are properly connected to the motherboard and the dvd drive.

1. Make sure ide cables are connected good.
2. Make sure the yellow cables are good and properly connected.
3. Still no succes? Try another dvd drive of which you are sure it is working.

[/Details]



11 - kernel - No DVD Founnd

[Details]

Same as #10 So read up please!

[/Details]



12 - kernel - DVD parameters (PIO/DMA)

[Details]

Same as #10, only not very common.

[/Details]



13 - kernel - Dashboard launch fail (due to missing/bad key, or anything else that would prevent it from running) and the dashboard didn't specify why it failed.

[Details]

This is an error thats most common when you have changed something on your xbox harddisk drive for whatever reason you had, but did not do it properly.

So what to solve it? Well, try to rebuild you xbox harddisk (retail or upgraded/large)
with a slayer 2.6 cd.

(BUT WATCH OUT READ MORE ABOUT THIS ERROR 13 BEFORE YOU DO THAT!) .

The thing you should understand is that error 13 is only because something is wrong with the files on your xbox harddisk.

UPDATE: Recently more and more xbox's that i started modding were giving me an error 13 when i booted in original mode. So what the hell was going on. Solder work was great, the slayer cd was also working great.

However i started doing some research and i finally figured it out. The error it gives is because of the incompatibility between the (older) dashboard (4920) that older slayer cd installs and the new dashboard/kernel versions found in some new xbox's and found in xbox's that have been connected to xbox live (when you go on xbox-live, it'll upgrade your dashboard file to i believe it is now 5659.03. This dasboard is incompatible with the dash that (old) slayer cd installs (for example 2.5 or lower) for you.

(In detail, in the eeprom chip there is a kernel which is incompatible with the dashboard (4920) that slayer installs.)

So what do you do to fix it? Well, it's easy. Someone may know how to do this more easy but this is how i did it. I got myself an xbox of a friend that has xbox live. His xbox is modified and runs a executor chip. I checked his dashboard version and i saw it was the latest 5659.03 dashboard. So i connected his xbox to my computer and i transferred his complete c:\ partition to my computer. Than i connected the xbox that gave me an error 13 when booting original, to my computer. AFter that i transferred "his" c:\ partition to my own c:\ partition, when it asked me to overwrite i chose all. After transfer was done, i rebooted the xbox. And voila no more error 13. The incompatibility was gone.

I think you have to transfer all the xboxdash files and also the xboxdashdata (or something like that) folder. In case you hate to experiment, just transfer the complete c:\ partition of a fairly new or upgraded xbox to your c:\ partition and overwrite all.

Ah well, hope it helps someone.

*UPDATE*
It seems there is an easier solution. You can use the dashupdate found on most new xbox games! Be sure to 1st unplug your ethernet cable before you do so!!!

Also see this post:
http://forums.xbox-s...0

*UPDATE2*
Besides that, just use a good installation disc and all is fine. Use a 2.6 slayer or something similar

[/details]



14 - dashboard - Error loading dashboard (dashboard generic error)

[Details]

Same thing as above (error 13). This time it is also a little mistake from you on changing names or having played around with files on the xbox harddisk. Error 14 is most often because you changed boot orders or names of startup files on the harddisk. It can also happen when you are rebuilding your xbox harddisk with a slayer cd and the power was cut.

[/Details]



16 - dashboard - Clock cannot be set. Well i wrote earlier another tutorial about this specific error so here it is:

[Details]

Basically it comes down to this. Error 16 has to do with not finding the menu setting with which you can set the clock of the hdd. This happens to a lot of people that erase their hdd (original/upgraded) or MS dashboard files and after that they don't immediatly install the hdd but leave the xbox without power longer than 5 hours.

It's all about the hdd can't find the menu with which it can set the clock. This is mostly because the xbox hdd is empty (you removed dashboard or fux0red it via ftp). The problem arises when xbox searches for menu to set clock with, can't find it and voila: error 16. Well read on please!

So you have an error 16 huh? Don't worry "nothing" is broken!

You have an xbox hdd that is locked. And normally you can boot in original and modded mode. Retail or upgraded doesn't matter. You start playing around with xboxdash.xbe etc. using ftp programs. While doing this you "accidently" remove your MS dashboard and also your alternate dashboard (Evox, etc.) so there is no dash anymore on the xbox hdd.

You end the ftp session and after that you shut off your xbox. Normally when you would start up again it gives you an error 13/14 ( no dashboard found). No worries with a slayer Evox cd (and a hardmod), all is ok. BUT this is only WITHIN 3 hours or so.

This is because the internal clock of the xbox will only be kept alive by the capacitors for only 3 or 4 hours. So when you leave your xbox unplugged from electricity for over 5 hours after you have played with the .xbe's AND you have removed your (ms and evo-x) dash from your xbox than you are fux0red. Why do you ask?

Why can't I boot from disc?

Its as follows Xbox starts booting==> (almost 1st thing a xbox does is) searches for internal clock==> doesnt find internal clock because there hasn't been any electricity on the xbox for 5 hours so battery that kept clock alive is empty and clock is gone==> searches for the proper dashboard menu to set clock with ==> doesnt find msdashboard or evo-x dashboard menu becuz you have removed it from the hdd for whatever reasons you had==> xbox gives error 16: cannot set clock.

So what do you do about it? Two options!

1. There are some bios'es around that allow the chip to boot past the clocksetting. (do a search!). So how do you get that bios on your chip because you cant boot to a flash program or something? Well you need to have an external flasher.

It seems the m8 bios will take care for you of booting past the clocksetting. Or use the latest Xecutor bios


2. This is the more easy and newbie friendly strategy
-Get a friend with a modded xbox.
-Unlock his hdd with eeprom management from a slayer evo-x cd.
-Than, place his hdd in your xbox.
-Boot with your chip on.
-Now the xbox DOES find a dashboard when you boot in original mode and you can set the time in the msdashboard clock settings.
-Shut off xbox and remove your friends hdd
-PLace his hdd back in his xbox and lock it again
-Install your hdd
-(clock has been set) So boot up with slayer cd.
-Install normally whatever you wanna install
-lock hdd

If you get an error 13 after this, please read up on the error 13 explanation!

[/Details]



20 - kernel - The dashboard was attempted to load and failed

[Details]

It was a cold boot, and the dashboard didn't specify why it failed, but it
(for some reason) needed to be noted that the dvd passed the challenge/response authentication

[/Details]



21 - anywhere - This error says that the machine was booted to display a error, basically someone told the machine to reboot (or launch a xbe) with this flag, and the error code just means its been rebooted by the flag

[Details] With thanks to "bleugh"

This occurs frequently when the xbox is unable to boot due to dashboard changes being made (ie Gcue true blue hasnt been resigned, parts of the stock dash are missing - incomplete FTP backups copied to a new HDD for example).

See also this topic:
http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=287760

[/Details]


I am not responsible for whatever happens to your xbox when following my advice. It's just what i found to be working so don't blame me when you kill your xbox.
Without this your xbox would also be dead so... Have fun and good luck


I Hope this is helpfull and it will end the endless error this error that topics.

Cheers

OcnewB

Edited by Xombe, 09 July 2005 - 11:33 AM.


#2 SheepshanK

SheepshanK

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 72 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 05 February 2004 - 12:27 PM

Na tis a good idea mate, nice one, might want to edit some of the language eh?
Words like fucked dont iritate me but sticky's normally dont have em ?
Good job tho
tongue.gif

#3 SKllZ

SKllZ

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Location:Jax,Fl
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 February 2004 - 12:33 PM

Well I’m sure it’s useful just a lot of people don’t want to be known as an n00b. But I’m sure this thread helped out a few people.

#4 OcnewB

OcnewB

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:XboX modding, Repairing, Selling, Writing Tutorials.
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 February 2004 - 12:53 PM

Well i just think this should be pinned so it stops the error this, error that posts! Look one minute before this post, there is another post almost right above this one with: Error 5/6? What can i do about it...

Thats what i mean. People dont search or do some work , they expect simple ready answers to any question they throw at you. I won't spare my time for them if they won't even take the time to do some work themselves.

#5 SKllZ

SKllZ

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Location:Jax,Fl
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 February 2004 - 12:57 PM

I feel ya! I went to hell and back doing my mod on my Xbox…I read some much on these forums, like you said if they search the forums before they post all most all there questions are answered…I know mine where. After reading I had no problems modded my Xbox.

#6 bleugh

bleugh

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,175 posts
  • Location:wales, UK
  • Interests:tinkering..........and flogging stuff on ebay<br>
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 February 2004 - 07:09 AM

.........Great list, I actually learned something

the language needs to be revised a little, otherwise its excellent,

a good suggestion for Error 21

21 - anywhere - This error says that the machine was booted to display a error,
basically someone told the machine to reboot (or launch a xbe) with this flag, and the error code just means its been rebooted by the flag


this occurs frequently when the xbox is unable to boot due to dashboard changes being made (ie Gcue true blue hasnt been resigned, parts of the stock dash are missing - incomplete FTP backups copied to a new HDD for example)


some common occurances of the faults would be usefull!, everone post in when you got the errors, what you did before the error and how you cured it!


OCnewb why not post this as a tutorial?

#7 OcnewB

OcnewB

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:XboX modding, Repairing, Selling, Writing Tutorials.
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 February 2004 - 07:52 AM

i am gonna do that now.

Thanks for you suggestion, i will add it.

#8 Renthal

Renthal

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 416 posts
  • Location:Indiana, USA
  • Interests:Most stick 'n ball sports, motocross, paintball, video games.
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 February 2004 - 06:52 PM

I like your post, but I want to clarify something....

If you are getting one of these errors and cannot fix it, please don't try to sell your Xbox as a working Xbox. Sell it for parts.

#9 nobodyimportant

nobodyimportant

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 107 posts

Posted 07 February 2004 - 07:05 AM

Good information! It may not be pinned yet, but I added it to my bookmarks smile.gif

#10 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 07 February 2004 - 07:16 AM

QUOTE (OcnewB @ Feb 4 2004, 09:18 AM)
2 - bootldr - Eeprom check failed

[Details]
When you see this error most of the times you have flashed something wrong. Or you
dropped solder on your eeprom chips.
[/Details]



4 - bootldr - Ram check failed

[Details]
Your XboX ram chips are wasted. Maybe you dropped a little solder on it (try to remove it CAREFULLY!),
or maybe you were kinda static when you touch the ram chips. They are kind off sensitive. If they are, they are fried.
Sell your xbox
[/Details]

"when you see this" is not entirely accurate, you never see the bootloader errors, as they are one that cause the reboot/FRAGs

#11 munificent

munificent

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 07 February 2004 - 10:56 AM

Well I had an Error 16 and was on the point of looking for a new machine. Luckily I have a mate who can loan me his HDD so all will be well.

I think this topic deserves to be pinned - it would have saved me a lot of hunting around.

#12 OcnewB

OcnewB

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:XboX modding, Repairing, Selling, Writing Tutorials.
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 09 February 2004 - 02:16 PM

PIN ME PLEASE AND STOP THE ERROR POSTS!

#13 Revolg

Revolg

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 127 posts

Posted 09 February 2004 - 03:04 PM

thanks for this post i was acctualy just about to ask about 13 14 and 21 then i saw your post read it and i know exactly what my problem is. it's a very good post and will help me fix my box.

#14 perry2175

perry2175

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 10 February 2004 - 04:37 PM

Error seven you say try another HDD.. how would you do this if the point of the error is you're drive won't work ?

#15 Exobex

Exobex

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,063 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 10 February 2004 - 05:24 PM

QUOTE (perry2175 @ Feb 10 2004, 05:37 PM)
Error seven you say try another HDD.. how would you do this if the point of the error is you're drive won't work ?

Easy. You remove the drive that's not working. Then you fit a drive that IS working.

The key word here is try another HDD. Not the same one.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users