Jump to content


Photo

Help Flashing Matrix


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY "HEY R U THERE?"
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 February 2004 - 10:03 PM

My friend gave me his matrix chip and programmer and said he can't flash the bios, or he screwed it up or something. I tried plugging it in the parallel port but I can't get it to recognize it. I have both dip switches off.

I have a chameleon installed on my xbox. I don't know how the Matrix works, but can I just replace my chameleon with the matrix and flash it via cd-rw? Or is there a way I can boot up with my chameleon, then put in the matrix and flash via EvoX?

Any help would be great! thanks.

#2 redman8787

redman8787

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 77 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 04 February 2004 - 10:13 PM

both dip switches should be ON...or otherwords, UP

#3 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY "HEY R U THERE?"
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 February 2004 - 11:49 PM

I still can't get it connected to my PC. Can I install it into my xbox and flash it by cd-rw? Does it matter if I have a larger HD if I do that? Can that screw up my xbox in any way if the chip is damaged?

#4 vjreddy12

vjreddy12

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,048 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 05 February 2004 - 12:52 AM

Hi there,

I have installed a couple of Matrix chips and the programing it does give a bit of trouble.

The things i check are below:

1. Make sure you have the latest software from Xodus Website
2. Make sure you have a new battery in the programmer.
3. Make sure you have no printer apps running ( look in the task bar near the time)

I have a HP printer and the printer software installs a print monitor in taskbar and until i shutdown that monitor it wont detect the Matrix programer.

Swithes dont make a difference with a programmer ( the chip detects the programer and automatically switches into the right mode).


Hope that helps...

beerchug.gif

#5 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY "HEY R U THERE?"
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 February 2004 - 01:17 AM

I had the HP printer thing in the taskbar, but i exited that and it still won't recognize it. I have a new battery, i've tried xp.exe and winlpc, niether recognizes it.

no one really answered my question of flashing by cd-rw. is the only way to flash it with the programmer? or can i install in on my xbox and flash it by cd-rw like i did my chameleon. thanks.

#6 vjreddy12

vjreddy12

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,048 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 05 February 2004 - 03:36 AM

Hi there,

You can flash it with a CD-RW, using Evox.

Xodus recomend the first flash be done via the parallel port (thats why its supplied with a programmer).

After the first flash you can then install run evox and reflash with evox.

But if something get corrupt during flash via CD-RW, you will have to remove chip and flash via parrallel port.

As for for hot-swapping chips, i dont think many people if any have done it.

beerchug.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users