Jump to content


Photo

Turning Off Xbit?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 DexX

DexX

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 167 posts

Posted 07 February 2004 - 03:42 AM

I have my xbit installed along with evox and all but I want to go on xbox live and not be banned so how could i turn off my xbit?

#2 FunkmaztafoX

FunkmaztafoX

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 528 posts

Posted 07 February 2004 - 04:15 AM

ftp to your xbox. rename xbosdash.xbe to evoxdash.xbe and msxboxdash to xboxdash.xbe

#3 xb0x1nu

xb0x1nu

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 67 posts

Posted 07 February 2004 - 02:34 PM

turn stealth on

#4 FunkmaztafoX

FunkmaztafoX

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 528 posts

Posted 07 February 2004 - 03:51 PM

and lock your hd

#5 carma42

carma42

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts

Posted 10 February 2004 - 04:51 PM

but if you do that then the xbox won't boot to evo x and you will have to change it everytime you wanna get on live. this may be a dumb comment but if this is the answer then it kinda sucks cause that is a lot of work to bounce back and forth. you would also have to boot your xbox off the evo x disc to ftp back in and change your file names back correct?

#6 spicymeatball911

spicymeatball911

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 350 posts

Posted 10 February 2004 - 06:58 PM

Ahh, I used slayers and I can't get the HD i formatted and evoxed too boot up when the modchip is off. Do I have to use the modchip somehow? Flash the modchip with the original bioses, should i use the original bioses at all?

I get a "Your xbox requires service, call customer support" error.

#7 kingal89

kingal89

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Location:North Carolina, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 February 2004 - 09:21 PM

look newbs,

you dont have to do all these steps everytime you want to bounce from live to evox or vice versa. All you have to do is make sure you have a bios on you chip that boots evoxdash.xbe first then looks for ms dash, some examples are x2 bios 4980 and up. So once you have the right bios you can just ftp like someone said and change your orginal ms dash to xboxdash.xbe (only if you changed it in the first place) Then change evox dash from default.xbe to evoxdash.xbe. So now when your mod chip boots up it will look for evoxdash.xbe and if you have your mod chip turned off it will automatically go to MS dash. Locking your hard drive is a one time thing, unless you get off by unlocking and locking your hard drive, hehe. There are plenty of tutorials out there to aid you in locking your hard drive. So once you have your MS dash loaded and your hard drive locked, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY YOUR MOD CHIP TURNED OFF, you can connect to live and get owned by me. muhahahahaha.

Hope this helps

#8 Tommy Vercetti

Tommy Vercetti

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 February 2004 - 09:51 PM

Cant you just use STEALTH MODE to turn the chip on and off?? blink.gif

#9 Tommy Vercetti

Tommy Vercetti

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 February 2004 - 09:53 PM

QUOTE (spicymeatball911 @ Feb 10 2004, 03:58 PM)

I get a "Your xbox requires service, call customer support" error.

huh.gif I think that means your box has been banned.

Edited by Tommy Vercetti, 10 February 2004 - 09:54 PM.


#10 kingal89

kingal89

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Location:North Carolina, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 February 2004 - 11:33 PM

yes you can just put in stealth mode. But the original MS dash won't start up unless you have your evox dash at evoxdash.xbe and ms dash at xboxdash.xbe. And you gotta have a bios that will automatically boot ms dash if chip is off like the 4980 and up.

#11 drtnwolf

drtnwolf

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 11 February 2004 - 12:29 AM

QUOTE (Tommy Vercetti @ Feb 10 2004, 11:53 PM)
QUOTE (spicymeatball911 @ Feb 10 2004, 03:58 PM)

I get a "Your xbox requires service, call customer support" error.

huh.gif I think that means your box has been banned.

That does not mean you have been banned. That means that no valid OS was found on the hard drive. It's the same as "System disk not found" error on PC's when the HD is not configured correctly with an OS.

#12 therebelious1

therebelious1

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:bass<br />computers<br />xbox<br />heavy music<br />driving<br />sailing &amp; watersports<br />snowboarding
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 February 2004 - 08:09 AM

QUOTE (kingal89 @ Feb 11 2004, 01:33 AM)
And you gotta have a bios that will automatically boot ms dash if chip is off like the 4980 and up.

wrong!

if the chip is off, then the xbox boots the original bios
the original bios looks for c:\xboxdash.xbe
if it doesnt find it, you get an error screen
depending on the error code you can diagnose the problem

using X2 4980 and up is a good idea, as it stops you from going on live when the modchip is on

so, to recap, the ONLY way to run a machine (that goes on live) is:
billy$oft dash: xboxdash.xbe
evox dash: evoxdash.xbe (or whatever is set in your bios)
avalaunch: avalaunch.xbe (or whatever is set in your bios)


#13 Tommy Vercetti

Tommy Vercetti

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Location:NJ
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 11 February 2004 - 11:18 AM

I just want to be able to turn the chip on and off using the power button stealth mode option without ever having to change anything.

#14 kingal89

kingal89

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Location:North Carolina, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 11 February 2004 - 11:22 AM

QUOTE (therebelious1 @ Feb 11 2004, 10:09 AM)
QUOTE (kingal89 @ Feb 11 2004, 01:33 AM)
And you gotta have a bios that will automatically boot ms dash if chip is off like the 4980 and up.

wrong!

if the chip is off, then the xbox boots the original bios
the original bios looks for c:\xboxdash.xbe
if it doesnt find it, you get an error screen
depending on the error code you can diagnose the problem

using X2 4980 and up is a good idea, as it stops you from going on live when the modchip is on

so, to recap, the ONLY way to run a machine (that goes on live) is:
billy$oft dash: xboxdash.xbe
evox dash: evoxdash.xbe (or whatever is set in your bios)
avalaunch: avalaunch.xbe (or whatever is set in your bios)

O ok thanks for clearing that up. My bad.

#15 therebelious1

therebelious1

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:bass<br />computers<br />xbox<br />heavy music<br />driving<br />sailing &amp; watersports<br />snowboarding
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 February 2004 - 12:02 PM

QUOTE (Tommy Vercetti @ Feb 11 2004, 01:18 PM)
I just want to be able to turn the chip on and off using the power button stealth mode option without ever having to change anything.

i got a really simple tut, PM me if you want it (the tut that is! biggrin.gif )




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users