Jump to content


Photo

Flat Panel Computer Monitor


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 xbox_4me

xbox_4me

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 07 February 2004 - 07:11 PM

I am thinking about a new computer system soon
and am pondering if I want to get a 17" flat panel monitor
to go along w/it.

I have a X-VGA adapter, which Im currently using on my 19" tube
and it works great.

Anyone put one of these on a flat panel yet?
I dont know much about flat panels as of yet, but I have seen
how 'fuzzy' computer images look if you don't run the monitor
in it's 'reccomended' resolution....

any input would be great!
beerchug.gif

#2 Guest_chillinhh_Guest

Guest_chillinhh_Guest
  • Guests

Posted 07 February 2004 - 07:41 PM

QUOTE (xbox_4me @ Feb 7 2004, 09:11 PM)
I am thinking about a new computer system soon
and am pondering if I want to get a 17" flat panel monitor
to go along w/it.

I have a X-VGA adapter, which Im currently using on my 19" tube
and it works great.

Anyone put one of these on a flat panel yet?
I dont know much about flat panels as of yet, but I have seen
how 'fuzzy' computer images look if you don't run the monitor
in it's 'reccomended' resolution....

any input would be great!
beerchug.gif

Ive played games on a flat panel with pc and it isnt as good as a regular monitor,it blurs up if its a really fast game because refresh rate isnt as good,and if you do get a flat panel you want to get a top of the line one so the refresh rate will be good.

#3 EvilWays

EvilWays

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,333 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 08 February 2004 - 02:05 AM

Yeah, that's the bummer of LCD displays. I'll keep with my 19" CRT monitor until LCDs are better in the refresh rate department AND aren't on the "absolute" expensive end. Hell, I just might pick up another 19" CRT monitor from school (when they do computer system swapouts, the school makes various things available for sale to students and faculty. The 19" monitor cost me only $100...sure it's about 4 years old, but it does 1600x1200 and supposedly is SoG capable.).

#4 J_Man61

J_Man61

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 231 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 08 February 2004 - 04:38 AM

then you could get the ps2 linux package because it needs a monitor with SoG

#5 KingViper

KingViper

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Location:Kansas
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 February 2004 - 06:29 AM

Current LCD monitors actually have faster refresh rates. If you are looking to get one, find one that has a 16ms refresh rate, as this will keep the "fuzziness" or "blurriness" from occuring. They may cost more, but it is well worth it. Also look for a high contrast ratio, this will give you a more vibrant image. Hope this has been of some help.

KingViper

#6 xbox_4me

xbox_4me

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 08 February 2004 - 11:47 AM

Yeah, thanks for the posts all.

I really want one, but since I won't want to spend alot of money on a flat
panel (for top-of-the-line) looks like I'll have to stick w/a crt monitor.

I'm gonna beef up the computer and make it a crazy machine, but I'm weary
about spending half the cost of the computer just on a monitor.

Oh well.
Thanks anyhoo.



#7 ally-mcbeal

ally-mcbeal

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 56 posts

Posted 08 February 2004 - 01:21 PM

btw I think you guys mean response time, not refresh rate.

#8 EvilWays

EvilWays

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,333 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 08 February 2004 - 09:05 PM

QUOTE (J_Man61 @ Feb 8 2004, 06:38 AM)
then you could get the ps2 linux package because it needs a monitor with SoG

I haven't tested out whether it's truly SoG yet, but I'll get to that soon enough.

Even then, I don't have $200 to toss to their Linux package. dry.gif Plus, I'd also wanna look at having a 2nd PS2 just for Linux in that case (leaving the 1st one for gaming...with the HDD coming out eventually and all...).

#9 KingViper

KingViper

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Location:Kansas
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 February 2004 - 01:19 AM

Yea, response time..sorry.

KingViper

#10 Soup

Soup

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 244 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 09 February 2004 - 02:23 AM

Even if you have an LCD with a great response time, it's still going to look blurry since you won't be running at the LCD's native resolution. The only way to avoid this is by running at half the native resolution (i.e. 800x600 on a 1600x1200 LCD, 640x512 on 1280x1024 LCD), and these resolutions aren't possible with the xbox.

#11 Soup

Soup

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 244 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 09 February 2004 - 02:28 AM

Oh BTW, the only reason I would get an LCD would be if I had very limited desk space, some issue with power consumption, or worked exclusively with text/CAD. Compared to even cheap CRTs, LCDs are inferior in every way except for space, power consumption, and text/line display.

#12 KingViper

KingViper

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 323 posts
  • Location:Kansas
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 February 2004 - 04:54 AM

They make computer monitors with TV tuners etc, so just get one with DVI, I am not absolutely positive, but i would think you could hook in a high definition input, if not, you could always use the coaxial cable. Also, why would it be blurry due to resolution, if the xbox was running at say, 640x480, then it would only show up on part of the screen, not all of it, Right? When an LCD acts as a monitor, it spreads the image across the whole screen, but why would that make it blurry?

KingViper

#13 EvilWays

EvilWays

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,333 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 February 2004 - 04:59 AM

Native resolutions of the Xbox I guess...

#14 Soup

Soup

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 244 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 10 February 2004 - 05:05 AM

Oh you're right, some LCDs have the option to display non-native resolutions at a 1:1 pixel ratio, so no blurring occurs (but it only uses part of the screen). The reason LCDs blur images when they display non-native resolutions is because they can't change their pixel size.

Just imagine it this way, trying to display a 3x3 pixel picture on a 4x4 pixel screen:
CODE
____________
|xx|xx|xx|__|
|xx|xx|xx|__|
|xx|xx|xx|__|
|__|__|__|__|

^^ That's 1:1 pixel ratio, some of the screen isn't used.
____________
|xx|xx|xx|_x|
|xx|xx|xx|_x|
|xx|xx|xx|_x|
|_x|_x|_x|_x|

^^ That's scaling a 3x3 image to fill up 4x4 pixels,  you can't expand each of the 3x3 image's pixels evenly so some distortion/blurriness occurs.


EDIT: Fixed 'picture'

Edited by Soup, 10 February 2004 - 05:06 AM.


#15 therebelious1

therebelious1

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:bass<br />computers<br />xbox<br />heavy music<br />driving<br />sailing &amp; watersports<br />snowboarding
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 February 2004 - 12:48 PM

i use the RELISYS RTL1720 tv/monitor thingy

i like it as it has a shedload of input options: s-video, component, composite, rf & d-sub connections. the downsides as far as i've found out are:

*too low vertical resolution (1280x768) makes it a pain to browse long pages
*i cant get any HDTV resolutions to work with the component cable even though the tv says its HDTV compatible, but the component cable still works, and the res is much better than composite

refresh rate is not a problem, it also looks just fine when played in lower resolutions than native, and i can mount it on my wall!!!!

cost me 445 from Valuelist.co.uk (its under home entertainment) , but they dont deliver outside the uk afaik




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users