• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Steve_McFurling

Steve_McFurling

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 February 2004 - 02:07 AM

I'm looking into getting this chip, mainly because I'm new to modding and have little experience soldering. I've noticed quite a few threads here regarding getting the contacts right and was wondering how big of a problem it is to install these things? I'd really like to hear from people who have actually installed them, hopefully someone else who was new to the game.

Also, is there any limitation to this chip, as far as features are concerned, and, because of the solderless setup, is it more likely to fry my Xbox? I'm in no position to buy a new one, if this one goes... that's it.

If it matters I believe I have a very early version Xbox, not exactly sure yet, but I bought it about 2 months after launch.

Any input would be really appreciated.

#2 childsremix

childsremix

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 135 posts

Posted 18 February 2004 - 03:04 AM

You shouldnt have a real problem installing it, I originally installed a matrix modchip in mine before I finally upgraded to a soldered chip. Its just a matter of patience when installing it. Another factor is having the chip get misaligned if you bump it to hard, so unless you play volleyball with your xbox this should be no problem either. There are no limitations when compared to other modchips, good luck on your first install.

#3 trevlenOO6

trevlenOO6

X-S Senior Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 210 posts

Posted 18 February 2004 - 03:28 AM

it is really really easy to solder in a 2.3 regular and in my opinion worth the risk id never soldered anything in my life before and have now done three with no issues. The main advantage is after you're done soldering you're done no opening to align nothing much better.

#4 wade23454

wade23454

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 18 February 2004 - 03:50 AM