10 replies to this topic

#1 kottonmouthklown

kottonmouthklown

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 December 2002 - 06:12 AM

I'm really new to all this, but here's my question
I'm putting the Xbox in my car, but don't really want the whole xbox unit upfront, i'd rather have it in the trunk. Is there anyway possible to extend the ide cable so i would be able to have the xbox in the trunk and the dvd drive in my dash? It would have to be like 5 feet and the longest ide cable i've seen is like 19 inches. Is there any adapters so i can add 2 ide cables together or anything, or am i just out of luck?

#2 MrEs

MrEs

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 598 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 December 2002 - 07:21 AM

The IDE/ATA standards for a IDE ribbon are 18 inches. There are some ribbons that are 24 inches and some even 36 inches but they may not work properly. The following link has some info that may help you out on IDE/ATA specifications:

http://www.pcguide.c...onfCable-c.html

Edited by MrEs, 13 December 2002 - 07:50 AM.

#3 reaven

reaven

X-S X-perience

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 13 December 2002 - 10:10 AM

the IDE is not the only problem , what about the custom power conector ??? ohmy.gif

#4 kottonmouthklown

kottonmouthklown

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 December 2002 - 03:10 PM

with the power connector couldn't i just splice the wires longer? but the ide cable would be kind of hard to do.

#5 thcmagus

thcmagus

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 92 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 07 January 2006 - 09:17 AM

I also wondered about this and a friend of mine told me that IDE cables can only be so long before they dont transfer data correctly.. not really sure if this is true but he knows more about that kind of stuff then me.. might want to check that out

#6 HardcorePooka

HardcorePooka

X-S Senior Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3