Jump to content


Photo

Bad News For Geniusalz!


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:29 PM

He'll now have to update Tetris AGAIN. jester.gif

WIP Build 1177 is now up.

New Function:
-- HandleType
.....Gets type of handle, 0 if not a valid handle.

New Commands:
-- Image <Handle> <X> <Y> <Width> <Height>
.....Used with BeginDraw, allows use of Images loaded with LOADIMAGE to be used in an ActionDraw List
-- LOADIMAGE <Handle> <Path>
.....Load an image. May wait up to 5 seconds for image to load from cache.
-- CLOSEIMAGE <Handle>



Now it means he can add cool background images!!


CODE


; In the startup portion of his script:

LOADIMAGE BackImage CoolBackgrndImage.jpg


; Later in the script, to use the image:

:DrawBoard
BeginDraw
IMAGE BackImage 0 0 640 480



Edited by BenJeremy, 22 February 2004 - 09:33 PM.


#2 flattspott

flattspott

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,787 posts
  • Location:Southern California
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:35 PM

Sweet!

This is for normal scripts, not Dialogs right?

And is it like skinning where an image can be a video too? Cause that would be cool too if it is.

#3 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:37 PM

QUOTE (flattspott @ Feb 22 2004, 06:35 PM)
Sweet!

This is for normal scripts, not Dialogs right?

And is it like skinning where an image can be a video too? Cause that would be cool too if it is.

Should be OK for video, but I didn't test that.

Yes, it is for scripts....

#4 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:43 PM

I read the title, and I was like WTF?
And then I read inside, and I'm like w00t laugh.gif

#5 flattspott

flattspott

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,787 posts
  • Location:Southern California
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:44 PM

Image someling like Tetris with a video behind it. That would be crazy.


I was thinking a minute ago. This ActionScripting is really remarkable. Not only have you made your own scripting language but, in a way, it's like you found a way to have multiple processes going on on the Xbox.

#6 Yuyu

Yuyu

    X-S Spirit Detective

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,231 posts
  • Location:Belleville, IL
  • Interests:Football (Soccer) ... Umm, Xbox?
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:47 PM

QUOTE (geniusalz @ Feb 22 2004, 05:43 PM)
I read the title, and I was like WTF?
And then I read inside, and I'm like w00t laugh.gif

YEah I though you posted it G-Dub, cause I was lookin at the main forum view and saw the title. I was wonderin "WTF, what happened to G-Dub" then I saw it was by BJ and knew it meant you had to re-write/code somethin... laugh.gif

EDIT: Forgot, awsome news, Images in Actionscripts this should be really cool, now, G-Dub, can include those awsome Russian wraparound the board pics for tetris tongue.gif

Edited by Yuyu, 22 February 2004 - 09:49 PM.


#7 flattspott

flattspott

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,787 posts
  • Location:Southern California
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:47 PM

And is this how we're to use the HandleType

SetFunc whatisit HandleType MyDialog
and
SetFunc whatisit HandleType TestXML

#8 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:53 PM

QUOTE (flattspott @ Feb 22 2004, 06:47 PM)
And is this how we're to use the HandleType

SetFunc whatisit HandleType MyDialog
and
SetFunc whatisit HandleType TestXML

Yes....

1 == HTYPE_FILE
2 == HTYPE_UIOBJECT
3 == HTYPE_IMAGE
4 == HTYPE_XMLOBJECT




#9 flattspott

flattspott

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,787 posts
  • Location:Southern California
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:56 PM

1 == HTYPE_FILE = ????
2 == HTYPE_UIOBJECT = Dialog
3 == HTYPE_IMAGE = Image
4 == HTYPE_XMLOBJECT = XML

What kind of file needs a handle? I must of missed that one.

Edited by flattspott, 22 February 2004 - 09:57 PM.


#10 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 09:59 PM

Handles for reading and writing files, of course, but that's broken at the moment, so you can't verify those handles yet.

The other types can be checked, though.

#11 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 February 2004 - 10:04 PM

Now i just need someone to design a kickass background. flex, kf, boomboom, Anyone wanna volunteer?
Here's a screenshot of the layout
user posted image



EDIT: If each block was an image, would it affect the speed significantly?

And what about permanent 'ActionDraw Lists' ?

i.e.

BeginDraw Permanent
Box 1 1 1 Black
EndDraw

Anything specified as 'permanent' will just add to the permanent drawlist. i.e. will not clear throughout the life of the script.

Anything else (non-permanent) will behave as normal.

The application to tetris would be that all pieces that are 'dropped' go into the permanent drawlist, so the whole board doesn't need to be redrawn each time anything changes. This will also be quite useful for other games as well.

Edited by geniusalz, 22 February 2004 - 10:25 PM.


#12 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 10:49 PM

Well, I've mulled the idea of accessing an ActionDraw list, but I haven't come up with anything workable - yet.

As for using images, it might actually be a bit faster- but you'd need all the rotations defined, as I don't have that little mod in yet sad.gif Let me think about that, though. The images are loaded, then using them is pretty simple, since the texture to render it is always available.

Here was my image test, BTW, using Tetris with a background image:

user posted image



#13 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 February 2004 - 10:54 PM

A pic for each piece wouldn't work, because then there's no way to cut out part of a block (when lines are completed)

So the only way it can work is if each little square is a pic.

#14 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2004 - 11:01 PM

QUOTE (geniusalz @ Feb 22 2004, 07:54 PM)
A pic for each piece wouldn't work, because then there's no way to cut out part of a block (when lines are completed)

So the only way it can work is if each little square is a pic.

You are correct, sir!

Didn't think about that.

#15 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 February 2004 - 04:59 AM

Did you change anything in the way boxes (and their borders) are rendered? Because now the boxes don't look 3D like they did. sad.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users