Jump to content


Photo

Live Games And Being Banned


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 maxo

maxo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 13 December 2002 - 10:04 AM

all this talk of live and getting banned has confused me. if i play a backed up game (with chip enabled) while not connected to live, will i be banned if i connect later while playing an original live game.

any insight would be appreciated.

#2 dsswarehouse

dsswarehouse

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 223 posts

Posted 13 December 2002 - 05:07 PM

not if you set up your system properly

#3 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 December 2002 - 06:22 PM

If the modchip is off, then no, you will not be banned. Just don't hit any "Go Live" menu options on the backups as a precaution.

#4 MadEx

MadEx

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 December 2002 - 07:03 PM

Are you saying even if I play the offline game (retail game) with my modchip enabled I can be banned later by going Live even when at that time my modchip is off? What a pain... sad.gif

#5 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 December 2002 - 08:37 PM

QUOTE
Are you saying even if I play the offline game (retail game) with my modchip enabled I can be banned later by going Live even when at that time my modchip is off? What a pain...


No, I didn't say that. I said don't press any Xbox Live related buttons in the game when the modchip is on.

#6 mark986

mark986

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 263 posts

Posted 14 December 2002 - 03:56 AM

What if you accidently hit the Go Live Button with your modchip on playing backups or what ever, but your NOT connected to the net. What will happen?

#7 gainpresence

gainpresence

    11 herbs and spices

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,971 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 December 2002 - 04:09 AM

it could try to update your dashboard.

which would scramble it.

Edited by gainpresence, 14 December 2002 - 04:09 AM.


#8 Icculus

Icculus

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 600 posts
  • Location:US
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 14 December 2002 - 06:29 AM

QUOTE
it could try to update your dashboard.

which would scramble it.


Unless you're using a ybox/evox dash. Also, you would NOT be banned, as long as you do not have a live account. Otherwise, kiss your live goodbye sad.gif

#9 mark986

mark986

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 263 posts

Posted 14 December 2002 - 06:40 AM

I got rid of EvoX COMPLETELY off my Xbox.

#10 mark986

mark986

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 263 posts

Posted 14 December 2002 - 06:41 AM

So no chance it would screw up now right?

Edited by mark986, 14 December 2002 - 06:41 AM.


#11 Kickace1616

Kickace1616

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 320 posts

Posted 14 December 2002 - 07:30 AM

your chance of getting banned would increase in my opinion cause now you don't know for sure if ur modchip is off or on cause it always loads the original dashboard no matter what & you might go to to xbox live tab on the dashboard or xblive in games with ur modchip on without knowing & ur screwed.

plus, some people have said that if you go to ANY PART (not just the xblive tab) of the ms dashboard with ur modchip on, you will be banned. (don't know for sure if that is true but i wouldn't take the chance).

Just keep evox (remove the option to go into the ms dashboard on evox so you won't make a mistake) & just turn off ur modchip everytime you wanna play live.

Edited by Kickace1616, 14 December 2002 - 07:36 AM.


#12 Kickace1616

Kickace1616

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 320 posts

Posted 14 December 2002 - 07:32 AM

if u get banned, just replace ur eeprom with a unbanned one & you will be unbanned.

#13 maxo

maxo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 14 December 2002 - 07:50 AM

does the evox dash do the same job as ybox?


#14 maxo

maxo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 14 December 2002 - 07:57 AM

does the evox dash do the same job as ybox?


#15 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 December 2002 - 08:31 AM

Yeah, evoxdash.xbe and yboxdash.xbe are the same, its just a matter of renaming xboxdash.xbe. But, your BIOS has to be set up to know which one loads.

Or, you can use fancbox and tell the BIOS which one you want to load.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users