Jump to content


Photo

Ethernet Card On Xbox Is Always Half Duplex?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Drama!

Drama!

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 March 2004 - 04:54 PM

Hello. Im new on this so I wanted to know if the ethernet card on the console is always configured HALF duples. There is a way to change it to FULL duplex mode? I read many threads but none of them speaks about a FULL duplex card.

Thanks in advance rolleyes.gif

#2 dmack_901

dmack_901

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Location:FLAUSA
  • Interests:N/A
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 March 2004 - 06:54 PM

I know for a fact you can do Full Duplex. My xbox says right now:
Line Status: 100/Full Duplex

You may be able to change this in the evox.ini. Not sure. Search.

edit: Woot, 200th post...

Edited by dmack_901, 03 March 2004 - 06:55 PM.


#3 Intelligoth

Intelligoth

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,002 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 03 March 2004 - 06:55 PM

It could also be a hub or router on your network that's forcing half-duplex. Check the specs on your other hardware as well.

#4 frescoelamante688

frescoelamante688

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,045 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 03 March 2004 - 07:13 PM

im pretty sure a crossover cable wil make this full duplex. mine does

#5 Drama!

Drama!

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 March 2004 - 07:27 PM

Im using a crossover cable between my PC and the Xbox. On the PC side the card is configured as full duplex, so really dont know why the X is only "half". There is no configuration option (on the Evox settings, at least). Perhaps some hidden flag?

Thanks for the previous answers.

#6 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 March 2004 - 07:58 PM

it could just be a compatibility issue between the xbox nic and the nic in your pc.. it will be full duplex if it can negotiate full duplex and apparently it can't with your card. in your case maybe go get a hub or a switch to connect through, then maybe you'll see full duplex.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users