Jump to content


Photo

Networking your Xbox (the best guide so far...)


  • Please log in to reply
116 replies to this topic

#16 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 October 2003 - 04:22 AM

when its listed as 0.0.0.0, you don't get ftp to work. you need to figure out why your xbox isn't getting an IP. If you want people to help you post the network section of your evox.ini and the results of an ipconfig /all from the computer you are connecting from. As well as how you have your computer hooked up to your xbox.

#17 gtd 2000

gtd 2000

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts

Posted 02 October 2003 - 04:50 AM

I'll post the info tomorrow then - gotta hit the sack - up at 6am sad.gif

#18 shadowfighta

shadowfighta

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 October 2003 - 07:50 AM

Interesting... my ftp transfer keep failing (Dropping to 0) in flashfxp. I use cuteftp also but its a lot slower but usually works but waiting 2+ hours to transfer a 3 gb game is ridiculous. What settings should my nic card have? I have 2 nics in my pc with a crossover cable running to my xbox. Should i have it at 100 base tx full dupleX?

#19 FWAxeIbanez

FWAxeIbanez

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts

Posted 05 October 2003 - 09:02 AM

awesome tutorial man, you helped me get everything set up right...but it still wasn't working....i nearly tore my hair out, till someone just told me to reboot my xbox with everything plugged in....and then it was like magic...about damn time too....i probably spent 3-4 hours today just fidgeting with the ftp...knowing i was close, but still no luck...thats the worst! any way, thanks a million for helpin me out beerchug.gif

#20 FWAxeIbanez

FWAxeIbanez

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts

Posted 05 October 2003 - 09:02 AM

not sure why...but it doubled my post, thanks again anyway! beerchug.gif

Edited by FWAxeIbanez, 05 October 2003 - 09:03 AM.


#21 TheCreepster

TheCreepster

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 October 2003 - 11:19 AM

I might be being dumb but here goes anyway. My Xbox is connected to my PC through a modem router. I have set static IP to yes as per tut and have the IP 10.0.0.2 which I have successfully pinged. Now when I open flashfxp is where I get a bit lost. In the right hand box I click the lightning and then quick connect. In the server or URL box I put the XBox IP only and then click connect. Is this correct and if yes then why does it not find the connection (it says timeout)? Any help much appreciated.

#22 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 October 2003 - 01:26 PM

QUOTE (shadowfighta @ Oct 5 2003, 04:50 AM)
Interesting... my ftp transfer keep failing (Dropping to 0) in flashfxp.  I use cuteftp also but its a lot slower but usually works but waiting 2+ hours to transfer a 3 gb game is ridiculous.  What settings should my nic card have?  I have 2 nics in my pc with a crossover cable running to my xbox.  Should i have it at 100 base tx full dupleX?

speed issues are a bitch. dropping to zero either means you don't have space left on the partition of the xbox you are copying to or some nic compatibility issue with the xbox. try using crossover to the other nic you have just for testing purposes. Go into your nic properties and test different combinations of full/half duplex and speed at 10/100. Also try pinging your xbox with something like this: ping <xboxIP> -l 1024 -t and see if you get any timed out's on that. If you do try a new cable too. What evox you have? if its 3921 i would only use flashfxp.

Edited by mrRobinson, 05 October 2003 - 01:27 PM.


#23 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 October 2003 - 01:29 PM

QUOTE (TheCreepster @ Oct 5 2003, 08:19 AM)
I might be being dumb but here goes anyway. My Xbox is connected to my PC through a modem router. I have set static IP to yes as per tut and have the IP 10.0.0.2 which I have successfully pinged. Now when I open flashfxp is where I get a bit lost. In the right hand box I click the lightning and then quick connect. In the server or URL box I put the XBox IP only and then click connect. Is this correct and if yes then why does it not find the connection (it says timeout)? Any help much appreciated.

well just verify that your xbox ip is in fact 10.0.0.2 and make sure you can ping it from your computer. Once that is good as you said make sure you don't have any firewall software running that would block it. either the winxp one or a third party.

#24 johnblox

johnblox

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 05 October 2003 - 08:58 PM

You can of course just goto network on file explorer in windoze do add network place and type ftp://10.0.0.x (whatever your xbox's ip addr is) and then you just have your xbox listed as a place to go to whenever you need. No need to install an ftp client.

My problem is that when I ftp to the box my D drive (should be dvd rom) instead duplicates showing the contents of the c drive ? (happens with ftp client as well)

btw I recommend aceftp as favoured windoze ftp client

#25 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 October 2003 - 01:30 AM

Just updated guide with more troubleshooting and FTP Speed Issues section. Still looking for feedback especially in those two areas. This will probably be the last update through this thread and it'll just stay updated on chefelf's site.

#26 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 October 2003 - 05:28 PM

probably going to make this .htm soon as my time allows. this way people don't have to load a .pdf to see the diagrams and all. This gets a good number of views for always being buried in the forum so hopefully its helping people understand networking thier xbox a bit more. Please if you've used this, whether finding it helpful or not try to post what helped or what it was missing for you. this way i can improve on it and finalize it. thanks.

#27 robertgdean86

robertgdean86

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 24 October 2003 - 07:40 PM

I was woundering if you could help me out please! I got my xbox modded and Evox installed by a bloke at a computer fair, so I didnt do it by myself using a network cable. Im trying to network the xbox with the chip (X-Ecuter 2.2) and copy of evox (V1.8.3752) and Im having difficulty! Im getting very frustrated as Ive tried so many methods and I understand how ips work etc. I cant get the xbox past the stage of realising its connected with a computer I have an Ethernet MAC Address, but it says No Link thus I have no ip being received by the xbox! Im using an ethernet adaptor port (which is connected to the motherboard) and a crossover RJ45 cable into the back of xbox. I have had the cable tested and it works a ok. Tho the LAN connection settings on the PC says "Network Cable Unplugged" and as I said the xbox doesnt even realise its plugged in "No Link!" Unfortunatly thats as far as I've got and Im woundering what exactly Im doing wrong and debating whether or not I need 2 re instal Evox or if its something to do with the pc!
Please can you help me thanks very much

#28 DerkinWind

DerkinWind

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 October 2003 - 04:48 PM

Good Job beerchug.gif

#29 robertgdean86

robertgdean86

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 October 2003 - 05:53 PM

dry.gif No its not a good job because I can't get a network link up... dry.gif

#30 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 25 October 2003 - 05:53 PM

QUOTE (robertgdean86 @ Oct 24 2003, 04:40 PM)
I was woundering if you could help me out please! I got my xbox modded and Evox installed by a bloke at a computer fair, so I didnt do it by myself using a network cable. Im trying to network the xbox with the chip (X-Ecuter 2.2) and copy of evox (V1.8.3752) and Im having difficulty! Im getting very frustrated as Ive tried so many methods and I understand how ips work etc. I cant get the xbox past the stage of realising its connected with a computer I have an Ethernet MAC Address, but it says No Link thus I have no ip being received by the xbox! Im using an ethernet adaptor port (which is connected to the motherboard) and a crossover RJ45 cable into the back of xbox. I have had the cable tested and it works a ok. Tho the LAN connection settings on the PC says "Network Cable Unplugged" and as I said the xbox doesnt even realise its plugged in "No Link!" Unfortunatly thats as far as I've got and Im woundering what exactly Im doing wrong and debating whether or not I need 2 re instal Evox or if its something to do with the pc!
Please can you help me thanks very much

start your own thread with this, it'll be better served and don't worry i'll find it and reply. No link on xbox and your pc (network cable unplugged) should be easy to figure out. Either you have a bad cable, your computer nic isn't loading its driver or stack etc., or the xbox has setup network = no in evox.ini. maybe even check if skipif no link is there and set it to no.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users