Jump to content


Photo

Networking your Xbox (the best guide so far...)


  • Please log in to reply
116 replies to this topic

#76 gamejunkie666

gamejunkie666

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 May 2004 - 08:57 AM

thanks and cheers MR Robinson i've only had my chip fpr a few hours but thanks to your fantastic tut i finally nailed it. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

#77 flyingkiwi

flyingkiwi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 13 May 2004 - 11:53 PM

Can you help a little.

I have had no prob connecting/ftping , and have run the cmd flashbios, worked fine, but cant seem to find any other commands , is there format to run a default.xbe file.

cheers

#78 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 May 2004 - 10:14 AM

You can't launch any xbe's via ftp. At least no way that I'm aware of. For a list of all evox commands available read this:
http://www.xbox-scen...evocommands.php

#79 gamerguy999

gamerguy999

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,016 posts
  • Location:Layton, UT
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 31 May 2004 - 04:48 PM

is there anyway to ftp to an unmodded xbox? I have the mech installer on the harddrive?

#80 gamerguy999

gamerguy999

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,016 posts
  • Location:Layton, UT
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 31 May 2004 - 05:23 PM

I am trying to put linux on my box with the mechinstaller, but I am having trouble ftp'ing tp my xbox, is there anyway that you can do it without Evox?

#81 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 June 2004 - 01:37 AM

You don't need evox but you do need some program (or bios) running that is acting as your ftp server. It can be from a boot disc or installed to your hdd. All major dashes not hacked from the orig msft dash (like thc) run ftp servers. You can get more help getting Linux on your xbox by posting in the *nix OS on Xbox forum.

#82 tommy2hotty

tommy2hotty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 63 posts

Posted 08 June 2004 - 02:53 PM

My computer is in another room to so I have a flashing orange lgiht... so you do need that cable plugged in?? I set up all the IP's like it says for configuration 1 (computer with a cross over ethernet cable to xbox) and got it to ping... it goes 4 times and says unreachable then says 4 connects, 0% lost and what not. Then i try to FTP through Internet Explorer and it says timed out blah blah blah. Im using the avalaunch dash... how do I set up the password and username for the network through that?? One guy said I may just need to get a router and try that instead. I live in an area that doesn't get broadband so I use dial up. So I enable my LAN for the xbox. Have any ideas?

#83 Cashmonn

Cashmonn

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 08 June 2004 - 09:51 PM

Hi I have Sympatico High Speed and am connected with 2 straight through cables to a hub. I set all me ip adresses just as your guide told me to. When i try to connect with flashfxp i get the Connection failed ( Connection Timed out) do I just have a setting wrong or is it something bigger. Thanks a lot for your help.

#84 Dolfhin

Dolfhin

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 647 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 09 June 2004 - 12:58 PM

I'm havind trouble to connect to the internet from my Xbox. FTP works like a charm and SMB shares also work(ed, but that's a different story and not related to this smile.gif).

My PC has 2 NIC's the first one (let's call it INTERNET) is connected to the internet using a patched cable to a router. Internet on the PC works fine I have enabled Internet Connection Sharing on this NIC).
The second on (called XBOX) is connected to my XBox using a Straight cable.

Using start > excute (or what ever it's called in the english version of Windows) > command > Ipconfig /all I get :

QUOTE

Windows 2000 IP-configuratie

        Hostnaam . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: PC_Boven
        Primair DNS-achtervoegsel . . . . . . :
        Knooppunttype  . . . . . . .. . . . : Broadcast
        IP-routering ingeschakeld . . . . . . : Ja
        WINS-proxy ingeschakeld . . . . . . . : Nee

Ethernet adapter LAN-verbinding 2: (Connected to the Xbox)

        Verbindingsspecifiek DNS-achtervoegsel:
        Beschrijving . . . . . . . . . . . . .: Realtek RTL8029(AS) PCI Ether
Adapter
        Fysiek adres . . . . . . . . . . . .  : 00-00-E8-F0-59-6E
        DHCP-ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . . . : Nee
        IP-adres . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.0.1
        Subnetmask . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 255.255.255.0
        Standaardgateway . . . . . . . . . . .:
        DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 127.0.0.1

Ethernet adapter LAN-verbinding: Connected to the router)

        Verbindingsspecifiek DNS-achtervoegsel:
        Beschrijving . . . . . . . . . . . . .: Intel 21041 Based PCI Etherne
dapter
        Fysiek adres . . . . . . . . . . . .  : 00-00-C5-0E-20-56
        DHCP-ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . . . : Ja
        Autoconfiguratie ingeschakeld . . . . : Ja
        IP-adres . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 10.0.0.6
        Subnetmask . . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 255.255.255.0
        Standaardgateway . . . . . . . . . . .: 10.0.0.2
        DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2
        DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.2
        Lease verkregen . . . . . . . . . .: woensdag 9 juni 2004 15:38:25
        Lease verlopen . . . . . . . . . . : donderdag 10 juni 2004 15:38:25
[I]

My dashboard is UnleashX and my config.xml is as following :

QUOTE

  <Network Enable="Yes" Type="Static">
  <IP>192.168.0.2</IP>
  <Subnet>255.255.255.0</Subnet>
  <Gateway></Gateway>
  <DNS1>0.0.0.0</DNS1>
  <DNS2>0.0.0.0</DNS2>
  <AutoDetect>no</AutoDetect>


FTP works perfect but i can't use the internet on my Xbox.

#85 Savejonas

Savejonas

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
  • Location:Spartanburg, SC
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 11 June 2004 - 11:38 AM

Thanks for the tut Mr. Robinson. Got it working the first time rolleyes.gif

#86 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 June 2004 - 11:58 AM

tommy2hotty-I believe at this point your issue is being addressed in the newbie chat forum or evox if I recall. So just keep it there.

Cashmonn- Yes, I would assume you have a setting wrong somewhere. Start a new topic in Newbie Chat forum (don't reply here), with your problem and in your post put the results of an ipconfig /all from your pc. Run that by going to start --> run then type cmd and hit enter. Then in there type ipconfig /all. Also post the network section of your dash's config file.

Dolfhin- Well its good you can ftp to your xbox. It looks as if your nic going to your router is getting a dhcp address just fine so assuming your router is setup correctly then you should get out to the internet. If you try 'ping 4.2.2.2' from the command prompt without the quotes do you get a response? Also feel free to reply with a new topic in Newbie Chat as well so you don't need to wait a few days to see your post show up.

#87 Jhoops

Jhoops

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 June 2004 - 01:39 PM

I was going to do configuration 1

I have dial-up internet and i didnt quite understand the tutorial.

I have an nic would i just put one end of the crossover cable into the xbox and the other end into the nic.

Or do i need something else like a router or hub.

#88 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 June 2004 - 04:47 PM

QUOTE (Jhoops @ Jun 11 2004, 10:39 AM)
I have an nic would i just put one end of the crossover cable into the xbox and the other end into the nic.


Yes that is it. You don't need a router or a hub.

#89 VenimK

VenimK

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 13 June 2004 - 07:09 AM

What speeds should i get , using a WET54G with the Wireless router WRT54G .

HAd the WGA54G game adapter before, FTP speeds sucks . 14k-800k/sec

Linksys Suggested the WET54G instead.

#90 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 June 2004 - 01:24 PM

Hard to tell you a speed you should get. I can say that you should get faster than that but it depends on many factors besides just the type of bridge and access point you might use. Size of the files being transferred, driver on your pc, any wireless interference, whether or not you use WEP, etc. all can have an effect. Generally speaking, I agree with linksys and would always buy the generic wireless to ethernet bridge as opposed to the branded "gaming adapters".




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users