Jump to content


Photo

Error 16 Problem :(


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 RobWhite

RobWhite

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts

Posted 10 March 2004 - 01:11 PM

A friend has asked me to fix their xbox (which I modded so they assumed im the xpert)

The error code on boot up (Both with and without the chip switched on) is 16 which suggests the dashboard is broken however (even with a EVOX boot disk which i hoped would help as I put evox on it when i modded it) I acnt boot up the xbox to fix it via ftp

Help me please sad.gif

#2 RobWhite

RobWhite

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts

Posted 10 March 2004 - 01:12 PM

A friend has asked me to fix their xbox (which I modded so they assumed im the xpert)

The error code on boot up (Both with and without the chip switched on) is 16 which suggests the dashboard is broken however (even with a EVOX boot disk which i hoped would help as I put evox on it when i modded it) I acnt boot up the xbox to fix it via ftp

Help me please sad.gif

#3 RobWhite

RobWhite

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts

Posted 10 March 2004 - 01:14 PM

sorry i didnt mean to double post

#4 nezff

nezff

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,529 posts
  • Location:Louisiana
  • Interests:gaming, gaming o and gaming
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 March 2004 - 01:15 PM

it won't boot of a slayers disc? it should

#5 RobWhite

RobWhite

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts

Posted 10 March 2004 - 01:17 PM

Thats the 100mb thing (not very 56k friendly sad.gif ) thought it was like EVOX on a disc (which im sure i used to put evox on orginally many moons ago)

#6 corin415

corin415

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Interests:1:12345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty --noclear --autologin live tty1
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 10 March 2004 - 03:09 PM

the clock is probably not set, and if u messed with orignal MS dashboard or didnt use a BIOS that ignores clock..........your in for some hassle

#7 RobWhite

RobWhite

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts

Posted 10 March 2004 - 03:40 PM

like i said its not my xbox so i dont know what set this off but if you coukld give me a hint to fixing i i would be greatful

#8 RobWhite

RobWhite

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts

Posted 10 March 2004 - 09:54 PM

Nobody? sad.gif

#9 Oneitchyeye

Oneitchyeye

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 March 2004 - 10:46 PM

I'm in the same boat. I have downloaded the 2.5 Slayers install and burned it to a CD-RW and it won't boot off of the disk either. I'm sure it is a BIOS problem with the clock but I need to be able to boot off the disk to change the BIOS OR is there another way to do it?

Does anyone know?

Thanks!


#10 Unreal7000

Unreal7000

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Auburn, AL
  • Interests:Breakin stuff.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 11 March 2004 - 03:28 AM

this is a clock error, install X2 4981 or evox m7 and it will skip the clock check, this should then boot your xbox. set the clock right away

#11 JdotK

JdotK

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 March 2004 - 03:42 AM

how do u install X2 4981 or evox m7 when it wont boot the disk?

#12 Trevante

Trevante

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,929 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 11 March 2004 - 05:58 AM

QUOTE (RobWhite @ Mar 10 2004, 03:17 PM)
Thats the 100mb thing (not very 56k friendly sad.gif ) thought it was like EVOX on a disc (which im sure i used to put evox on orginally many moons ago)

I hope you extract the file....

Did you extract the fie? It's supposed to be a 215mb ISO after it extracts.

And have you already flashed the chip? If so, you need to do so......

#13 madd russian

madd russian

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 11 March 2004 - 07:32 AM

i have the same problem. Do i have to use a programmer???

#14 furious99

furious99

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 11 March 2004 - 10:00 AM

To Robwhite:
You could try booting your xbox hd in his xbox with the modchip on and if he has a newer bios it should boot and allow you to flash the bios with evox to 4981 or M7. You could also hotswap the modchips - search tutorials for that... or flash with an external programmer. Had the same problem once, took it to a modder who said he mounted somehow the disk to linux and copied all the files necessary...

#15 ghanchi

ghanchi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Xbox Version:v1.5

Posted 12 March 2004 - 07:38 PM

I'm having smae problem, execpt I have my chip flashed with the M7 bios. I can load the cd, but when i ftp it, i can't send files to the hd, only recieve them. I tried this with my original hd too, same problem. Any tips?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users