Jump to content


Photo

Add Games Not On Your Hdd With Vids


  • Please log in to reply
100 replies to this topic

#1 chilin_dude

chilin_dude

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,945 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 April 2004 - 05:59 PM

Ok, I am sure a lot of people don't have all of their games on the hard drive, and instead burn them all to disks. I am one of these people, however I was thinking how cool it would be to be able to add all my games onto the list with preview videos and when i select the item it will prompt you to insert the disk. Now here is the clever bit. The only way that I think you could identify if it where the right game or not would to be use actionscripts. Say something like the following (please note i know this isn't the proper layout but I am getting to grips still.)

get mxm to check the dvd inserted for the XBEID and return it.
compare to the xbeid that the game that you are launching has, this will have had to have been entered to the actionscript before being put on your xbox.

IF XBEID = 0x275802848 (the xbeid of the game you are trying to launch)
EXEC D:\Default.xbe

So now i have told you what i was thinking, can the wizards give me any tips on this and possibly even show how the real script would look?
Thanks for replying!!

#2 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 April 2004 - 06:23 PM

Yeah, that's pretty possible.

In the menu.xml

<Item>
<Title>Splinter cell</Title>
<Action>
SETFUNC fileID XBEID d:\default.xbe
if fileID == "012345679" GOTO CorrectID
GOTO BadID
:CorrectID
CD D:\
EXEC default.xbe
QUIT

:BadID
msgbox "Please insert the correct disc"
</Action>
<Media>preview vid goes here</Media>


#3 chilin_dude

chilin_dude

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,945 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 April 2004 - 06:51 PM

W00T you rock man!!! Thought this would be possible but i wasn't clever enough to make it, know to go and collect some XBEID'S.

#4 chilin_dude

chilin_dude

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,945 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 April 2004 - 07:15 PM

DAMN!!!!
It doesn't work, got the XBEID from in mxm by using title info screen, then entered that into my menu.xml however even when i insert the disk and run the file it simply comes up as 'please insert disk'

#5 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 April 2004 - 08:20 PM

My bad

if %fileID% == "012345679" GOTO CorrectID
GOTO BadID

Edit: MXM treats text as strings, and %blah% as variables.

And to check on the format, just say
Msgbox %fileID%

Edited by geniusalz, 02 April 2004 - 08:25 PM.


#6 -FourDoor-

-FourDoor-

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 504 posts
  • Location:California
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 April 2004 - 09:05 PM

Glad someone else wants to incorparate their DVD game list into their menu as well. biggrin.gif This was the whole reason I got interested in Actionscripting. My last attempt at this was to create my DVD Game Disk launcher script.

Basically the way I had it set up was that I had a submenu for my dvd game lists which I manually created to include prev videos and game icon. And once you select the game, it prompts you to insert a dvd game disk. If it wasnt a game disk or if the dvd drive was empty it wouldn't launch. However, it wasn't smart enough to know the difference between halo and prince and persia in the dvd rom drive. dry.gif Then I had the same idea as you to launch based on xbeids but started getting too busy to play around with mxm fully. And in addition, BJ announced that a game database was in the works for MXM a little while ago.

LaunchDVDGame.xas

And this was what I had in my menu.xml for each dvd game listing
CODE

  <ITEM>
   <TITLE>Halo</TITLE>
   <DESCRIPTION>GameDisk Launcher</DESCRIPTION>
   <ACTION>
    CALLFILE c:\MXMxas\LaunchDVDGame.xas
   </ACTION>
   <MEDIA>F:\Media\Videos\Prev\Halo.wmv</MEDIA>
  </ITEM>



It worked well but I got a little tired (more like lazy of adding items manually everytime I got a new game). So my next goal was to basically tap into BJ's gamelist database in the future and make an actionscript that lets you scroll down the list of games in the database, flag which games you have on dvd, specify the preview video/icon, hit reset, and have the actionscript automatically create you a DVD Game list submenu. pop.gif

Well that's my one dream/goal with MXM and actionscripting at least in the future. Hopefully I can find the time in the future and finish it up or have another one of the great actionscripters here finish the coding for it. wink.gif

#7 flattspott

flattspott

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,787 posts
  • Location:Southern California
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 April 2004 - 01:39 AM

Well here's a thought.

You use a modded version of EntryMaker to make an entry.xml for the game.
Maybe by changing the Mode to DVD instead of HD. Then you could have the games in your menu but not on your xbox.

#8 chilin_dude

chilin_dude

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,945 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 04:51 PM

Thanks geniusalz!!!
Fourdoors, glad i wasn't the only one interested in this.
When I have finished adding my 40ish games I will post up my spreadsheet with all xbe ids so that we can try to complete a database...
Now i was thinking about the script though, at the moment it is:
QUOTE
<Item>
<Title>Splinter cell</Title>
<Action>
SETFUNC fileID XBEID d:\default.xbe
if %fileID% == "012345679" GOTO CorrectID
GOTO BadID
:CorrectID
CD D:\
EXEC default.xbe
QUIT

:BadID
msgbox "Please insert the correct disc"
</Action>
<Media>preview vid goes here</Media
</item>

Would there be anyway to get it to display the title name if the right game wasn't inserted?
Say
QUOTE
msgbox "Please insert %title% disk

I thought this might be possible but after looking throught the actionscript collection post it appears there is no %title% variable... Any other way to do it?

#9 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 04:56 PM

%_GameTitle% might work, but I'm afraid it's only used for context scripts.

#10 chilin_dude

chilin_dude

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,945 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 04:59 PM

QUOTE (geniusalz @ Apr 3 2004, 06:56 PM)
%_GameTitle% might work, but I'm afraid it's only used for context scripts.

Ok, I'm starting to understand scripts a little ohmy.gif
But 'context scripts'? Does this mean it wouldn't work?

#11 chilin_dude

chilin_dude

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,945 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 05:16 PM

QUOTE
<Item>
<Title>Splinter cell</Title>
<Action>
SETFUNC fileID XBEID d:\default.xbe
if %fileID% == "012345679" GOTO CorrectID
GOTO BadID
:CorrectID
CD D:\
EXEC default.xbe
QUIT

:BadID
msgbox "Please insert the correct disc"
</Action>
<Media>preview vid goes here</Media
</item>

Still doesn't work... Anyone know why? I tried various changes but couldn't get it to work ( And yes have changed the 0123 bit!

#12 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 05:19 PM

Context scripts are those that show up when you press Y with a game selected, then go to 'Game Options'

So the _GameTitle variable might or might not be accessible in a 'normal' script.

#13 geniusalz

geniusalz

    Team MXM

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 05:21 PM

Try this to see what ID it's reporting:

SETFUNC fileID XBEID d:\default.xbe
Msgbox %fileID%
if# %fileID% == "012345679" GOTO CorrectID

#14 chilin_dude

chilin_dude

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,945 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 06:34 PM

This is weird, I have changed my menu to that now.
So now when i launch RTCW that I have in the drive by selecting it, it pops up a message box with about 8 digits, however this ISN'T the file ID as I have checked by going to the disk and pressing Y then game info and it shows the ID i have in my menu.xml
HOWEVER it loads the game even though the ID shown on screen isn't the real ID.
When i try to launch say PGR2 and its the RTCW disk inserted still, it shows the same (wrong) ID and then gives the 'Please insert the correct disc' message...
Bug or something?


#15 koldfuzion

koldfuzion

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,480 posts

Posted 03 April 2004 - 09:34 PM

I think a context menu to add a dvd game to a dvd.xml on the xbox would help facilitate building of the database quite rapidly.


Just put it into the same structure as the current cache_menu.xml and away we go. smile.gif

edit: I say dvd.xml so everyone doesnt have to mess up thier cache_menu.xml then the dvd.xml could be continually submitted to axs to update the database.

Edited by koldfuzion, 03 April 2004 - 09:35 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users