Jump to content


Photo

Help Help!


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 maniac1

maniac1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 05:40 PM

O.K., Ive come this far.
This is my first mod job. I know I must solder the 8 points. Do I need pins or can I solder straight to the board?
What kind of wires do I need to connect the remaining four wires?
After all is soldered, do I simply put back together and turn on?
Thanks for any help!

#2 thefilepirater

thefilepirater

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 899 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 03 April 2004 - 05:45 PM

1.) yes you can solder direct to the board or use pins, what ever is easyer for you

2.) use a small wire, like 22 or 24 gauge

3.) yes


OR maybe you could read the guides here dry.gif

Edited by thefilepirater, 03 April 2004 - 05:47 PM.


#3 maniac1

maniac1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 05:47 PM

This sounds too easy, just confusing as hell.

What is "flash" and "bios"?

I have an aladdin advance plus, it says its "pre-flashed".

Thanks again!

#4 thefilepirater

thefilepirater

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 899 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 03 April 2004 - 05:49 PM

if you want to watch a few vids and like techtv...i suggest you watch these vids, there bout 9min long each, its not alot detail but it does a basic overlay of how/what/when ect..

#5 maniac1

maniac1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 April 2004 - 06:22 PM

Thanks a lot.

Question: Will 24 guage copper speaker wire work?

#6 justtaint

justtaint

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 944 posts
  • Location:Chicago
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 April 2004 - 01:28 AM

Just go to Radio Shack and get 30gauage Kynar wire.

#7 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 04 April 2004 - 04:00 PM

If you are half decent with a soldering iron it is easy to do. If you ain't then have a practice first or what seems easy may go tits up.

#8 maniac1

maniac1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 April 2004 - 10:07 PM

Too late, I am tits up!

Radio Shack does noy have that wire, smallest they carry is 24 guage speaker.

Where else can I buy Kynar wire?

#9 justtaint

justtaint

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 944 posts
  • Location:Chicago
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 April 2004 - 01:02 AM

Did you ask them? Its supposed to be stocked by every Radio Shack, though most of the ones around me don't know they have it.

#10 maniac1

maniac1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 April 2004 - 11:21 AM

I've gone to two different locations. It is no where on the sheles, and they tell me they do not have it.

Where in the hell can I find a .10mm soldering tip? No, Radio Shack does not carry it.

#11 justtaint

justtaint

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 944 posts
  • Location:Chicago
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 April 2004 - 02:52 PM

Check here put your zipcode in and find the nearest store with inventory.

#12 maniac1

maniac1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 April 2004 - 07:14 PM

QUOTE (justtaint @ Apr 5 2004, 04:52 PM)
Check here put your zipcode in and find the nearest store with inventory.

Ha! I walked in and told the dude, "I know you have this, where is it?". Well, guess what happened next, I found it! 30 guage kynar core wrapping wire.
Only now if I could find the right tip for soldering..............

#13 justtaint

justtaint

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 944 posts
  • Location:Chicago
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 April 2004 - 09:04 PM

You should have looked, they have tips that will do.

#14 anu|b|iss

anu|b|iss

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,115 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:xbox, martial arts,soldering, xbox, girlfriend, work and eat, sleep, followed by xbox and a shower.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 April 2004 - 10:08 PM

if you just plan on leaving the chip on all the time you can use a bigger tip and ground D0 to the bottom D0 point on the xbox motherboard. The point is huge and fairly spaced from anything else. Just be really careful and it will be ok smile.gif

#15 maniac1

maniac1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 April 2004 - 10:51 PM

QUOTE (anu|b|iss @ Apr 6 2004, 12:08 AM)
if you just plan on leaving the chip on all the time you can use a bigger tip and ground D0 to the bottom D0 point on the xbox motherboard. The point is huge and fairly spaced from anything else. Just be really careful and it will be ok smile.gif

I have heard this before, I can not find a diagram anywhere on it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users