Jump to content


Photo

Nexgen V1.1 Beta1


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 18 April 2004 - 09:50 AM

Hi managed to get some screenshots of the recent nexgen under my XDK smile.gif.

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

user posted image

#2 godfather 477

godfather 477

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Interests:Computers, Gaming, Formula one, Football, Snooker, working out.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 18 April 2004 - 10:09 AM

very cool beerchug.gif

#3 gnutellafan

gnutellafan

    X-S Expert

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 18 April 2004 - 11:43 AM

Has anyone looked at exporting the 3d models from the M$ dash to use in neXgen? Should be very easy to do.

#4 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 18 April 2004 - 12:20 PM

no, i think XdashOS just want to keep there sources clean from m$ dash, THC are doing that work.

#5 gnutellafan

gnutellafan

    X-S Expert

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 18 April 2004 - 01:11 PM

Well, I guess it could be used as a separate skin pack if it was made easy enough to import 3d models. The dash is looking good but has a way to go if it wants to look as good as the M$ dash.

#6 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 18 April 2004 - 01:41 PM

Im not sure if fog is enabled yet? I can't remember

#7 neo-dilly

neo-dilly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Moderator
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Blackpool, England
  • Xbox Version:v1.2

Posted 18 April 2004 - 02:09 PM

1) fog is causing serious havoc to implement

2) we do have a collection of 3d models from the m$ xboxdash converted (i think) but it would be very illegal to distribute.

Also i don't have a clue how to edit or convert xbg files (3d models) and I would like to know (if anyone knows).

#8 gnutellafan

gnutellafan

    X-S Expert

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 18 April 2004 - 04:56 PM

QUOTE (neo-dilly @ Apr 18 2004, 04:09 PM)
1) fog is causing serious havoc to implement

2) we do have a collection of 3d models from the m$ xboxdash converted (i think) but it would be very illegal to distribute.

Also i don't have a clue how to edit or convert xbg files (3d models) and I would like to know (if anyone knows).

Well, the 3d models could clearly be distributed separatly, like over IRC, just as tHc is. Talk to the tHc guys about working with and editing the models. They actually created a whole new set for a new dash but it just didnt look as good.

#9 heinrich

heinrich

    ..assuming the role of God

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,576 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 April 2004 - 01:06 AM

QUOTE (neo-dilly @ Apr 18 2004, 12:09 PM)
2) we do have a collection of 3d models from the m$ xboxdash converted (i think) but it would be very illegal to distribute.

as is the binaries, and its not-so-opensource, soooo.....

#10 HoRnEyDvL

HoRnEyDvL

    Nexgen Developer

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 905 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 April 2004 - 02:15 AM

we will release the sources as soon as we can but atm we cannot due to some problems faced by some of the code in there.

#11 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 23 April 2004 - 07:50 PM

Why would we want a dash that looks the same as THC.

#12 gnutellafan

gnutellafan

    X-S Expert

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 April 2004 - 11:22 AM

uhh, because your stated mission is to make a dash that looks like the M$ dash, so the only reason yours would look like theirs is because they are using the M$ dash. And I would venture to bet that in most peoples opinion it (the M$ dash) looks better then the current neXgen (though earlier alphas of neXgen looked very close to the M$ dash)

#13 Psilocybe

Psilocybe

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,292 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 April 2004 - 04:05 PM

QUOTE (gnutellafan @ Apr 24 2004, 01:22 PM)
uhh, because your stated mission is to make a dash that looks like the M$ dash, so the only reason yours would look like theirs is because they are using the M$ dash. And I would venture to bet that in most peoples opinion it (the M$ dash) looks better then the current neXgen (though earlier alphas of neXgen looked very close to the M$ dash)

you have to remember that may have been the original goal of the project, but thc/gcue dash wasn't out then. They can't make it look just like the ms dash now otherwise those ignorant people would have to say, you're dash is just a clone of thc, not realizing that nexgen was the second alternitive dash available.


buck, you say you took the screenshots with your xdk, why didn't you just use the built in screenshot function of the dash?

#14 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 24 April 2004 - 08:26 PM

QUOTE

buck, you say you took the screenshots with your xdk, why didn't you just use the built in screenshot function of the dash?


ohmy.gif didn't know there was one at the time lol.

#15 Psilocybe

Psilocybe

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,292 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 April 2004 - 09:05 PM

QUOTE (bucko @ Apr 24 2004, 10:26 PM)

ohmy.gif didn't know there was one at the time lol.

nice
the only thing about it is that the same button is mapped to 2 things
black takes screenshots, but it also messes with the bg music (it's supposed to anyway, but i didn't have any audio on when i was messing with screenshots so i'm not sure)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users