Jump to content


Photo

Ftp For The Complete Dumbass


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 SpiGGy

SpiGGy

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 22 April 2004 - 06:37 PM

I followed the step by step guide right here on XBS, but it still isn't connecting. What am I doing wrong? I have a chameleon Xbox with a 120 GB harddrive. Also, how do I do it if I just have a PC, Xbox and a eternet cable (No router or hub)? I just want to make sure I'm doing this RIGHT.

#2 xbox_Steve

xbox_Steve

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Interests:porkbusting....halo2...school.....apchem...video games
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 22 April 2004 - 06:41 PM

i am having a problem with ftpign too
i think it might be my cable
any suggestions?

#3 Blank

Blank

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,660 posts
  • Location:Western Wisconsin
  • Interests:Graphic Design, Gaming, HTML/Webpage Design, Programming, and Electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 April 2004 - 06:44 PM

Are you guys using a crossover cable or straight-through cable?

#4 SpiGGy

SpiGGy

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 22 April 2004 - 06:45 PM

I dunno....it's the eternet cable that came with my cable modem =P

#5 XBeatBox

XBeatBox

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 22 April 2004 - 07:30 PM

Spiggy- ur problem is that ur probably using the wrong kind of cable use a cross over cable...look at the ends of the cable and if they are the same then u have the wrong cable, they should be mixed up colors

theres another topic here that just started that tells the differences between cables check it out to prevent further confusion

#6 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 April 2004 - 08:44 PM

Make sure you are using the tutorial in my sig too. Some of the others are a little inaccurate.

#7 AcadianMan

AcadianMan

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 22 April 2004 - 08:49 PM

I am 90% sure that you problem is that you are using a straight through cable instead of crossover.

#8 Rireal

Rireal

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Location:Jacksonville, FL
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 22 April 2004 - 09:31 PM

QUOTE (AcadianMan @ Apr 22 2004, 06:49 PM)
I am 90% sure that you problem is that you are using a straight through cable instead of crossover.

I concur.

#9 SpiGGy

SpiGGy

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 22 April 2004 - 10:10 PM

I checked and it seems I have a crossover since the colors are all different but it's still not working HELP!

#10 MrBones

MrBones

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 415 posts
  • Location:Mass
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2004 - 03:33 PM

If it's the cable that came with your modem, then most likely it won't be a crossover cable.

What they meant by check the ends, is compare the two ends, and if the colors go in the same order, it's the wrong cord.

#11 manifesto

manifesto

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Honduras
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 23 April 2004 - 03:54 PM

so i wont get more confuse, im going to go and buy this cable at circuit city, bestbuy or office depot. whats the name of the "crossover" cable that i should ask at the store. like that im pretty sure ill get the right cable. isnt it called cat 5 crossover cable? if not, tell me what cable i should ask for, and what should i look for in the cable to know its the right one.

#12 Anima

Anima

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 97 posts

Posted 23 April 2004 - 05:24 PM

It would be a Cat5e crossover cable. It should say crossover cable on the box. Also if your not sure check the back for uses.. Should say for direct connection comp to comp. No router or hub.


You best bet to find one is office depot.

Edited by Anima, 23 April 2004 - 05:25 PM.


#13 tankertux

tankertux

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Location:Columbia, Missouri
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 23 April 2004 - 07:26 PM

It's also called a "patch cable" if the sales rep looks at you like you're from Mars.

#14 CityEnd

CityEnd

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 61 posts

Posted 24 April 2004 - 01:06 AM

QUOTE (tankertux @ Apr 24 2004, 07:26 AM)
It's also called a "patch cable" if the sales rep looks at you like you're from Mars.

a patch cable is a straight through cable, u will be getting the wrong cable again if u ask for that.. =)

just say "I would like a crossover cable for my PC thanks." if they don't understand that then u're in the wrong store..

#15 manifesto

manifesto

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Honduras
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 24 April 2004 - 12:06 PM

thanks, ill ask for a cable that connects a pc to a pc. and ill make sure the boox saids crossover, if the rep still doesnt know ill hit him up with the "cat 5 " cross over cable maybe he understands that. i guess i really gotta check the ends, make sure the colors are mismatching each end. thanks for the help guys, i really appreciate it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users