Jump to content


Photo

Double dashboard exploit


  • Please log in to reply
267 replies to this topic

#16 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 May 2004 - 07:21 PM

Just checked the Reset-On-Eject, it is when it is halfway out, not on button push.
But other than that everything works great here...

D: 4920
K: 4034
DD: 4034


#17 zorxd

zorxd

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts

Posted 04 May 2004 - 07:30 PM

Soron666 from gueux.net got an error message when trying to launch dash 4817 from the live tab with his v5713 kernel....
so no exploit for this kernel

#18 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 May 2004 - 07:32 PM

Okay, one way around this reset on eject for now:

As IDOTS said:
If you have a backup you would like to play, open your tray before hitting the Live Tab.
Should boot fine, then close your tray with game in. Boot game and enjoy.
Hopefully we can fix ResetOnEject soon.

Edited by Angerwound, 04 May 2004 - 07:44 PM.


#19 zorxd

zorxd

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts

Posted 04 May 2004 - 07:35 PM

even after loading pbl and the x2 bios the reset on eject is not disabled?

#20 ldots

ldots

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,496 posts

Posted 04 May 2004 - 07:35 PM

QUOTE (ldots @ May 4 2004, 09:17 PM)
Though not perfect, this exploit can still be used for running backups though as the exploit can be executed with the tray left open before hitting the 'live-tab'.

biggrin.gif Beat you Angerwound ! tongue.gif
QUOTE (zorxd)

Also as I suggested on the original double-dash thread, someone with a 5713 kernel should check if an older dash can be executed from the live-tab (just with original fonts initially). It's not entirely impossible the this new kernel only check for the right dash-version on bootup, but not on a subsequent lauch on xonlinedash.

OK - no point in pursuing that then.

Edited by ldots, 04 May 2004 - 07:36 PM.


#21 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 May 2004 - 07:43 PM

LOL I didn't read very carefully I guess.

#22 mkjones

mkjones

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,427 posts

Posted 04 May 2004 - 09:09 PM

Bummer on the Reset issue sad.gif

Still I may have a mess at the weekend, see what this baby runs like smile.gif I always like to try out new hacks..

Im sure this is the future! Just need a little luck to get it working 100% wink.gif

#23 zorxd

zorxd

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts

Posted 04 May 2004 - 09:18 PM

damn it was my bert not working
thanks to soron666 from gueux.net now I have a working one for dash 4817

#24 jon20usa

jon20usa

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 04 May 2004 - 11:07 PM

srry if this has already been answered but wut does this doubledash acomplish that the catfish/hacked mechinstaller fonts cant. im assuming from wut ive read that it will help with the clock loop. srry for my dumbness. laugh.gif

#25 afon

afon

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 401 posts

Posted 04 May 2004 - 11:27 PM

I've been in the clock-loop from the catfish fonts a few times (others have been, too). And, when I boot up my xbox, the catfish fonts dont always work. This double dash method has:
No chance of clock loop, ever
The ability to work all the time

And the only down side is reset on eject, which might be able to be fixed.

Edited by afon, 04 May 2004 - 11:44 PM.


#26 afon

afon

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 401 posts

Posted 04 May 2004 - 11:49 PM


6. Copy-paste the file probe.bin to offset 0x1000 and onwards. There should
be lots of zeroes and room.

7. Search for string of bytes 8B 40 08 6B C0 1C. Let x be the offset of 8B.

8. Check if starting at offset x-12 there are bytes 04 50 FF 36. If not,
continue searching at step 7.

9. Starting at offset x, write 68 00 10 01 00 C3
(these replace the bytes in step 7.)


Whats the point of all this hex-editing? An XBE either gets loaded or not...

#27 afon

afon

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 401 posts

Posted 05 May 2004 - 12:34 AM

All these fonts do for me is reset my xbox once I push the XBL tab.
Ive used the new ernie, tried fine tuning and EVERYTHING. Wtfs going on here? Maybe 3944 would help (Coughhintcough)

Edited by afon, 05 May 2004 - 12:36 AM.


#28 zorxd

zorxd

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts

Posted 05 May 2004 - 12:49 AM

QUOTE (afon @ May 5 2004, 02:34 AM)
All these fonts do for me is reset my xbox once I push the XBL tab.
Ive used the new ernie, tried fine tuning and EVERYTHING. Wtfs going on here? Maybe 3944 would help (Coughhintcough)

what is your configuration?

#29 afon

afon

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 401 posts

Posted 05 May 2004 - 01:00 AM

I got:
K:4817
D:4920
D2:4817

Its just not working dry.gif
Maybe someone can PM me fine tuned files for this setting, or maybe a setting close to this.

Just so you know, I can see the xboxdash#2 boot up (Green mesh etc) but it just resets or freezes. Ive tried the big ernie, and downloaded a fine tuned bert. :/

Edited by afon, 05 May 2004 - 01:01 AM.


#30 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 05 May 2004 - 01:16 AM

First of all, it will reset when it can't find a e:\default.xbe to load or it's not signed correctly.
Secondly, no one can send you fine tuned files. They are tuned based on your dash and kernel setup. Nothing more, nothing less. Anyhow, enough of this, let's get down to fixing the reset on eject. If anyone has any information on it besides what is in the forums please post. IE) how to remove the flag.. Or maybe let us know if it is impossible to add this at all. Once this is working w/o reset then it totally blowz the audio/font exploits out of the water.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users