Jump to content


Photo

Networking Help


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 fvetish

fvetish

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 04:35 PM

I've read all the tutorials over and over.
I have a xecuter 2.3blite+, using evox. Heres the problem:
I connected my xbox to my PC via a crossover cable. I'm sure its a crossover cable. It goes into the back of my PC. Not into the normal phone hole, its like it but bigger. I connect to the internet through ISDN. So I connect to a small box through a USB wire, then that small box is connected to a bigger box through a non-crossover cable.
Basically then, I dont have two NIC cards just one.
So do I need two, and have I connected it all properly?

My PC's i.p. is 195.218.110.39. So could someone tell me what all my TCP/IP settings hould be, and what the network section of evox.ine should look like?
Right now I cant connect at all, I just get "connection failed". I used to be able to ping to my xbox through a command promt but now I cant.

And one last thing, how do I change the settings of my boot cd? When evox loads up I can go into it and change some stuff, but I cant save it. And dont say go right down, because its not there.

Edited by fvetish, 09 May 2004 - 04:39 PM.


#2 xbill

xbill

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 246 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 05:07 PM

If I understand correctly, you have a NIC in your PC, which has a cross-over cable connected to your xbox. You also have an internet connection via your USB port to your ISDN modem.

You do not need two NICS.

What operating system? Windows, perhaps?

If you have more than one network connection (USB+ISDN to the internet, and a NIC) you will have two IP addresses. You need to figure out which IP goes with which interface.

open a command prompt and type:
ipconfig <press enter>

This should show you what IP addresses are associated with what interfaces.

You will probably want to configure your PC to XBOX network to be a different network than your PC to internet.

Your PC to XBOX network will be on (for example) 192.168.1.x network.
Your PC to internet network wil stay on 195.218.110.x network.


Set your PC's NIC IP to be 192.168.1.1.
Set your xbox's IP to be 192.168.1.2.
Set your xboxes gateway to be 192.168.1.1 (your PC's IP)
Make sure the PC's NIC does not have a default gateway setting.

Both will use netmask of 255.255.255.0.

Use evox's settings menu to set static IP, gageway, then save+exit, reboot.

Make sure you have link lights on your PC and xbox NICs.
If no lights, then you have a bad or wrong cable.

Use:
ping 192.168.1.2 <press enter>
This will verify that you have a connection. No reply means something's still goofed.

Run your favorite FTP and type in the 192.168.1.2 (your xbox's IP)
user/password should be xbox/xbox

You might re-read mrRobinson's Networking your xbox tutorial

Edited by xbill, 09 May 2004 - 05:18 PM.


#3 fvetish

fvetish

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 06:36 PM

Shit, thanks. That really cleared some stuff up.
I THINK, my xbox's IP is 192.168.0.1, that what it says in blue, and when I ping it in a command promt it responds. But I just cant connect to it.
I just get:
WinSock 2.0
Connecting to 192.168.0.1
Connection failed (Connection refused)
Delaying for 120 seconds before reconnect attempt #1



#4 fvetish

fvetish

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 06:50 PM

Im running windows

I keep getting "There is an IP address conflict with another system on the network"

#5 xbill

xbill

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 246 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 07:20 PM

The error: "There is an IP address conflict with another system on the network"
means you have two devices with the same IP. I believe Windows will disable your PC's network connection if it finds an IP conflict.

The IP addresses I gave you above are just examples. They don't have to be those exact numbers. As long as they are not conflicting with outher devices on the network, and as long as they are unique they will work.

Does you PC use DHCP to get IP addresses from the ISDN/router?

Can you post your ipconfig output from your PC?

Can you post the output of: route print?








#6 fvetish

fvetish

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 07:39 PM

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 195.218.110.210

PPP adapter Internet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.218.110.35
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 195.218.110.35

C:\Documents and Settings\user>route print
===========================================================================
Interface List
0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
0x1b0004 ...00 40 ca 39 44 eb ...... NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter - Pack
et Scheduler Miniport
0x1d0003 ...00 53 45 00 00 00 ...... WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
===========================================================================
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 195.218.110.35 195.218.110.35 1
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 195.218.110.210 192.168.0.1 20
127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 1
192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.1 192.168.0.1 20
192.168.0.1 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 20
192.168.0.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.0.1 192.168.0.1 20
195.218.110.35 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 50
195.218.110.255 255.255.255.255 195.218.110.35 195.218.110.35 50
195.218.116.12 255.255.255.255 195.218.110.35 195.218.110.35 1
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 192.168.0.1 20
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 195.218.110.35 195.218.110.35 1
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.0.1 192.168.0.1 1
Default Gateway: 195.218.110.35
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
None

? Could that tell you how I should configure evox.ini? Because I cant get anything from it.



#7 xbill

xbill

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 246 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 07:42 PM

Let me see if I understand your network.

CODE

     built-in         PCI card
    10/100 NIC        10/100 NIC
       |                 |
       V                 V    
 [XBOX]n-----------------n[PC](n)------------------(n)[ISDN]n-----{Internet}
          ^cat5 x-over         ^       ^USB
                               |
                            USB cable ("NIC")



xbox to pc network: 192.168.0.x
-------------------------------
xbox:192,168.0.1
  pc:192.168.0.2


pc to isdn network: 195.218.110.x
---------------------------------
ISDN:195.216.110.1 (perhaps?)
  pc:195.218.110.39


Is that how your network is set up?

Where did you see the IP: 195.218.110.39?







#8 xbill

xbill

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 246 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 07:46 PM

I need you do the ipconfig one more time but add /all option:

ipconfig /all <press enter>


Post result.



#9 fvetish

fvetish

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 08:05 PM

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : CPQ20928128931
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-CA-39-44-EB
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 195.218.110.210

PPP adapter Internet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.218.110.35
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 195.218.110.35
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.218.116.2
194.46.8.57
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


And I think that is how my network is setup.

#10 xbill

xbill

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 246 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 08:44 PM

Ok,

On your PC, goto your network settings.
Find the entry for your NVidia NIC and select TCP/IP and open it's properties.

Remove the default gateway entry, leave it blank.
Set the IP address to: 192.168.0.2

save (click Ok, or apply)

Your xbox should still be 192.168.0.1
and now your pc should be 192.168.0.2

Try to ping your xbox:

ping 192.168.0.1 <press enter>

You should get 4 replies, 0% packet loss.

Now try your FTPing to 192.168.0.1 (your xbox)


The problem was, your PC and your xbox had the same IP laugh.gif and your default gateway was not necessary.

Edited by xbill, 09 May 2004 - 08:47 PM.


#11 fvetish

fvetish

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 09:36 PM

IT WORKED!
This is great, I never ever would of been able to fix that myself. All I know is that the PC and XBOX had the same IP's, and you told me that. I wouldnt of even known how to begin to solve this.
Thanks, for everything, I've never gotten this much help from the internet before. Thanks again smile.gif

#12 xbill

xbill

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 246 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 09:44 PM

Cool,

I'm glad it works.

You're welcome. biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users