Jump to content


Photo

Quick Guide For High Def Output


  • Please log in to reply
684 replies to this topic

#1 JaredC01

JaredC01

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,188 posts
  • Location:Missouri
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 May 2004 - 03:15 PM

IPB Image
Edit: All new diagram.

Thanks to L33 for the VGA diagram.


Edit by deadparrot 10/9/08: Image re-hosted.

Edited by deadparrot, 10 September 2008 - 04:55 PM.


#2 epsilon9090

epsilon9090

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 118 posts

Posted 12 May 2004 - 06:10 PM

How could you get s-video output?

#3 spillage

spillage

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,262 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 12 May 2004 - 08:54 PM

Nice little diagram JaredC01. Add 'S' video for all the connection though so everyone can see everything. beerchug.gif

#4 JaredC01

JaredC01

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,188 posts
  • Location:Missouri
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 May 2004 - 01:59 AM

Done cool.gif.

#5 maxpowe2120

maxpowe2120

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 63 posts

Posted 13 May 2004 - 04:52 PM

im confused on the need for all the switches. right now i have the coaxial audio output mod done from the tutorial. Now lets say i want to add svideo and the component video outputs. would i still need the switches? Also, will i still need to have the standard xbox av cable plugged in?

#6 spillage

spillage

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,262 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 May 2004 - 12:51 PM

beerchug.gif JaredC01 Nice. beerchug.gif

maxpowe2120, all AV cables for the XBOX use a combination of jumper cables in the AVIP plug to instruct the video encoder (Conexant, Xacaliber, Focus) as to what type of output to enable for the particular cable type. By making your own custom output sockets you still have to instruct the encoder. By using the three switches you are effectively cloning the job of the AVIP plug. Different switch combinations, setup a 3 bit binary instruction for the encoder.

user posted image

Ignore the line marked "Output" This has nothing to do with the AVIP or encoder but is necassary for my tutorial.

The three switches are representing Pins 9(Mode 1),11(Mode 2) and 13(Mode 3). The combination of binary inputs to the encoder provides the pout formats you require to drive the sockets you install.

user posted image

Edited by spillage, 14 May 2004 - 12:59 PM.


#7 JaredC01

JaredC01

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,188 posts
  • Location:Missouri
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 May 2004 - 04:51 PM

Thanks.

maxpowe2120:

Spillage said it all...

#8 maxpowe2120

maxpowe2120

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 63 posts

Posted 15 May 2004 - 04:15 AM

but what about s video. i do not see anything about using s video with digital sound. also do you know where i can purchase an s video jack and compent video jacks?

ps: On the tutorial for coax audio, the pins used are different then the ones shown in your diagram? whats up with that?

Edited by maxpowe2120, 15 May 2004 - 02:32 PM.


#9 epsilon9090

epsilon9090

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 118 posts

Posted 15 May 2004 - 01:29 PM

Is there any easy way to get vga output like this or do you need to have resistors and stuff? I can use a pixel8 bios, that is no problem.

#10 maxpowe2120

maxpowe2120

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 63 posts

Posted 17 May 2004 - 12:16 PM

bump

#11 xerxes3rd

xerxes3rd

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 21 May 2004 - 11:47 AM

Would it be possible to add optical to this configuration? If so, how would it be done?

#12 xerxes3rd

xerxes3rd

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 21 May 2004 - 07:39 PM

QUOTE (maxpowe2120 @ May 15 2004, 06:15 AM)
but what about s video. i do not see anything about using s video with digital sound. also do you know where i can purchase an s video jack and compent video jacks?

ps: On the tutorial for coax audio, the pins used are different then the ones shown in your diagram? whats up with that?

Assuming you're talking about the Digital Output tutorial by DataBitz, I think the Digital Output tutorial used different grounding pins, but I believe the data pin (pin 6 on this diagram, I think) is common between both this diagram and the tutorial. It seems like every tutorial/diagram released uses different pin numbering schemes.

#13 tsaavik

tsaavik

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 27 May 2004 - 05:35 PM

for those who did the P-2-Z's Guide to Modding your XBOX for advanced A/V here is the relationship between his pinout labeling and the one above:

The number in () is p2z's labeling, the number to the right is the label numbering above.

CODE

( 5) 10 digital audio ground
( 3)  6 digital audio +
(18-chassis) 11-chassis mode2 + to chasis ground

(11) 22 Svideo Y+
(12) 21 Svideo Y-
(22) 19 Svideo C+
(21) 20 Svideo C-

These map VERY strangly
(17-6) 12-9 MODE1?
(17-5) 12-10 MODE2?


#14 grungy-gamer

grungy-gamer

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 May 2004 - 03:05 AM

-i've bee looking at various tutorials and faqs over the past few days, and i finally came up with a diagram for what i want to do.

user posted image


can someone tell me if this is correct and if it would work right?

also, JaredC01, you said that the component only works in high def mode. does that mean, that unless i have an HD tv, i won't get an image, or what? because i've run component video on my set through a high definition pack before with no problems.

#15 Dan Wysocki

Dan Wysocki

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,093 posts
  • Location:UK (Suffolk)
  • Interests:Modding my xbox<br />Sleeping<br />Eating<br />Revo!
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 May 2004 - 06:11 PM

Ok, I did this mod today to add the red and white audio on the back of me box, and its ok, but the problem im getting is if i plug the red and white in (at the same time) i only get output on one channel, when i plug them in sperately, i get audio output from both channels, wtf is goin on?? I still have my standard cable connected, is that whats causing the problem? Can I not get audio from both the back ports aswell as the standard cable?
beerchug.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users