illastic1

X-S Member

• XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 112 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 May 2004 - 10:02 PM

I am trying to tweak my thompsons dvd drive to read better but the only tutorial that seems to exist on it is hardly explained in great detail and i am new to this.

Here is the tutorial: http://www.xbox-scen...es/dvdtweak.php

it says "looking from underneath, on the laser unit itself, you will see a pot on the bottom left of the pcb, Scratch the resin off CAREFULLY, the pot can be easily damaged."

i dont know what is meant by a "pot" and i can't see any resiny substance around vital parts..only pink glue round the some screws. Could someone please explain this in more detail? as am new to this.

Thanks

#2 opjose

opjose

X-S Transcendental

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,809 posts

Posted 14 May 2004 - 02:23 AM

I'll be the first to caution you to AVOID doing this.

If you see any improvement it will be so marginal as to not be worth it.

There are a long list of reasons why you should not do this, including the sheer amount of people here who have ruined their drives.

If you are trying to use burned media and are having problems, look elsewhere for the cause.

DVD-R's work just fine.

#3 Lugnut

Lugnut

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,006 posts

Posted 14 May 2004 - 06:21 AM

look at llama's site they have a pot tweaking tutorial you gotta dig around for it but its there.

I have to disagree with performance differences with a pot tweak being hardly noticeable, the few drives i have done came out beautifully with reading crappy dvd burnables. (not much difference with cdr though)

but i wouldnt recommend the average tinkerer to try this modification, so dont do it if your not absolutely confident in your skills.

#4 opjose

opjose

X-S Transcendental

• Members
  • 6,809 posts

Posted 14 May 2004 - 09:44 AM