Jump to content


Photo

Never Boot Dvd?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 LordTrace

LordTrace

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:Victoria BC Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 13 May 2004 - 11:50 PM

in Xbtool if i was to say change DVD default.xbe to say DVD dontbootme.xbe would it go str8 to dash even if there was a dvd in the box? or would it just fugg it up? i only ask instead of just trying cuz my box is tsop'ed and i dont know how to do it hehe but my bros getting his done on sat by the guy that did mine and i want to update my bios while we are there

or is there an easyer way to do this

thanks doods

Edited by LordTrace, 14 May 2004 - 04:34 PM.


#2 Psilocybe

Psilocybe

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,292 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 May 2004 - 12:05 AM

well if you boot without the disk in the xbox or just boot with the eject button it wont boot the disk, or if you are inserting a disk while the xbox is already on you can just set auto launch games/dvds to false in your dash settings
you could also hex edit x2 4981 where it says default.xbe to something else
i believe there are older versions of xbtool that did let you change the dvd boot xbe but i've heard it's not possible now for somereason
i haven't messed with xbtool in awhile now

#3 LordTrace

LordTrace

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:Victoria BC Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 May 2004 - 12:11 AM

i play all games off dvd so theres almost always a dvd-r in there and it sucks when you just wana turn it on and it HAS to go to the dvd.. i do use the MXM xbe in my MenuX multi game dvd-rs so can load the dash from the dvd but its just anoying smile.gif

Edited by LordTrace, 14 May 2004 - 12:12 AM.


#4 Spike13

Spike13

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 14 May 2004 - 12:30 AM

If you hack (hex editing) programs you need it to boot to dvd incase you phuck up
and need it to boot str8 to ftp on dvd

i hope this makes sence to you!

#5 LordTrace

LordTrace

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:Victoria BC Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 May 2004 - 12:32 AM

yea it does... never thought of that


hrrm


hehe

#6 Spike13

Spike13

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 14 May 2004 - 01:05 AM

Yer i had the same thort about the dvd and, yer i need it to be safe but it suck's. Unless you have a chip then you can have two differnt bios, one with dvd and one without dvd. So if you get a error you can just change bios and fix the problem, I hope this help you on your quest ! biggrin.gif

#7 Dreamcazman

Dreamcazman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,174 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 May 2004 - 02:12 AM

Just use xbtool and change the DVD booting option to something like boot.xbe.

That way it will always boot off the hard drive as none of your games will have boot.xbe in their root directories.

If ever you have to boot the Xbox using a Evox disc, just make sure the Evox default.xbe is named to boot.xbe, burn a new DVD/CDRW and all is good. cool.gif

Edited by Dreamcazman, 14 May 2004 - 02:14 AM.


#8 LordTrace

LordTrace

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:Victoria BC Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 May 2004 - 04:29 PM

good idea Dreamcazman... thats prolly what ill do

#9 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 May 2004 - 04:56 PM

QUOTE (Dreamcazman @ May 13 2004, 11:12 PM)
Just use xbtool and change the DVD booting option to something like boot.xbe.

That way it will always boot off the hard drive as none of your games will have boot.xbe in their root directories.

If ever you have to boot the Xbox using a Evox disc, just make sure the Evox default.xbe is named to boot.xbe, burn a new DVD/CDRW and all is good. cool.gif

yes that's exactly what you should do for what you want. That's how I have mine set and all is well.

#10 LordTrace

LordTrace

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:Victoria BC Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 May 2004 - 05:02 PM

cool ill get it flashed like that tomarow






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users