Jump to content


Photo

The “ultimate Dashboard Exploit” Aka Ude


  • Please log in to reply
1266 replies to this topic

#451 chimpanzee

chimpanzee

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,020 posts

Posted 02 June 2004 - 04:24 PM

QUOTE (YoshiKool @ Jun 2 2004, 06:09 PM)
Ah - but... what if I want to install thepackage but don't have MA\007\SC? I do have the UDE running on my xbox... I installed it using my temperamental modchip.

If the files are packaged in the linux initrd(which I assume it will be), it is as easy as grab one of those xbe that can launch linux(xromwell, linux.xbe from audio exploit, default.xbe from MechInstaller etc.) and load that from EVOX(though I have some problem loading them from EVOX) which would happily load linux.

I like the mini-linux approach as it is more clean(no scattered files to flow around) and give much more flexibility than hacking up a XBE, just think about the tools that is needed for hex edit etc.

#452 chimpanzee

chimpanzee

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,020 posts

Posted 02 June 2004 - 04:28 PM

QUOTE (SpIdErXeN @ Jun 2 2004, 06:20 PM)
You could use an Action Replay to get the save to a memory card...then copy it to the HD, then run your exploitable game which you can rent through blockbuster...or trade something for 007 at EB...a used copy is real cheap there...

And everyone should have at least one exploitable game which is a sure way to hack Xbox. Especially with UDE/double dash when one doesn't need to worry about clock loop.

#453 ldots

ldots

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,496 posts

Posted 02 June 2004 - 04:33 PM

QUOTE (YoshiKool @ Jun 2 2004, 06:09 PM)
Ah - but... what if I want to install thepackage but don't have MA\007\SC? I do have the UDE running on my xbox... I installed it using my temperamental modchip.

Then you could ftp the package in and not use a memcard. But without the game the uninstall function is not usefull. You can uninstall UDE by running the installer from Evox, but you wouldn't be able to install it again using this package with an exploitable game. Once installed you could costimize it yourself to the the EEE or audio hack to re-enable UDE

@ chimpanzee
Not all MA, SC version have the correct update.xbe version. I think I will let people supply their own update.xbe to the package, but do an md5sum check that it's the correct one, before the installer is run.
I dont think I will package Evox,PBL,B&E in the initrd. No point in filling up RAM with those. Also included these files in the game save dir will allow people to costumize it more easily.

But lets all wait till this is done biggrin.gif

I dont think we should post more on this package on this thread. It is UDE related but I dont want to be the one to cause a mess of discussions on this thread.

A new thread will be made when this is ready

#454 chimpanzee

chimpanzee

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,020 posts

Posted 02 June 2004 - 04:35 PM

BTW, if some simple menu can be implemented(ncurses5?), it would be possible to do these without telnet but using the gamepad :-)

#455 chimpanzee

chimpanzee

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,020 posts

Posted 02 June 2004 - 04:38 PM

ok, back to UDE related. What update.xbe is exploitable ? I thought the theory is that it shared the same library/code with the dashboard about font loading so if the dashboard is exploitable, it is.

#456 YoshiKool

YoshiKool

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 641 posts
  • Location:Yoshi's Island
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 02 June 2004 - 04:44 PM

It's the one from Dashboard 4920 with the xboxdashdata.1012A700 folder... the other one isn't exploitable (well it could be with new fonts maybe).
My xbe -

update.xbe
1,974,272 bytes (1.88MB)
8ab653c39f555758fb65d9014928c4cd md5sum

edited md5sum due to me being a retard and posting the md5sum of
C:\windows\profiles\XXXXX\desktop\downloads\xboxdash.xbe

Edited by YoshiKool, 02 June 2004 - 05:01 PM.


#457 ldots

ldots

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,496 posts

Posted 02 June 2004 - 04:48 PM

Previously on this thread we concluded that the current Bert-ate-Ernie only works with the 1974272 byte update.xbe that has md5sum 8ab653c39f555758fb65d9014928c4cd
Slayers had this version smile.gif
Most code in the different 4920 dash versions of update.xbe most be more or less identical, so probably their are all exploitable. But the font hack is very sensitive to certain offsets to be as expected. Bert-ate-Ernie even more than the "old" font hacks since the exception net is not as big.

#458 YoshiKool

YoshiKool

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 641 posts
  • Location:Yoshi's Island
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 02 June 2004 - 04:54 PM

Idots: hmm weird - is there a program anywhere to calculate md5sums - i used mIRC's $md5 lol... my update.xbe works perfect with the exploit - could having a different filename do this?

edit- ok i renamed to update.xbe and i get e57582decf1d42fd2dd51534d798dc86
I have Dashboard 1.00.4920.01 with xboxdashdata.1012A700 folder.

edit2- ok im a retard, i was md5 checking a text string not a file... real md5sum 8ab653c39f555758fb65d9014928c4cd
x_x thanks Idots

Edited by YoshiKool, 02 June 2004 - 04:59 PM.


#459 ldots

ldots

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,496 posts

Posted 02 June 2004 - 05:01 PM

uhh.gif I was just about to ask you to confirm this md5sum.
I'm on linux so I dont know any win utilities to calculate this. We do post the same filesize though.
The md5sum I get (from the update.xbe on Slayers V2.5) is the same as the one Rmenhal posted as worked earlier. But maybe there is another working update.xbe with the same filesize but different md5sum.


Edit : OK - saw you second post. Good! Matching md5sums biggrin.gif

Edited by ldots, 02 June 2004 - 05:03 PM.


#460 YoshiKool

YoshiKool

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 641 posts
  • Location:Yoshi's Island
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 02 June 2004 - 05:03 PM

Reread my post wink.gif sorry about that...

#461 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 June 2004 - 05:10 PM

just found out the update.xbe bootfile bypasses the dvd's default.xbe so you can boot with a backup game in the drive. Didn't know that. This is truly an ultimate exploit.

#462 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 June 2004 - 05:35 PM

QUOTE (krayzie @ Jun 2 2004, 07:10 PM)
just found out the update.xbe bootfile bypasses the dvd's default.xbe so you can boot with a backup game in the drive. Didn't know that. This is truly an ultimate exploit.

Nice little feature isn't it! You can boot an original game at startup but a backup boots straight to the dashboard.... This exploit tears the box wide open.

#463 allard

allard

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 June 2004 - 05:55 PM

*censored*

Edited by allard, 02 June 2004 - 06:39 PM.


#464 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 June 2004 - 06:00 PM

find your own damn package. You can't ask for it here or you will end up just like digisatman.

#465 Ned_Flanders

Ned_Flanders

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 135 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 02 June 2004 - 06:04 PM

QUOTE (allard @ Jun 2 2004, 01:55 PM)
Hi,

I'd love to get my hands on the Digisatman package, could someone PM me ? Thanks a lot

He's banned and you will be too if you keep asking for his package. Check the usual places for a package. cool.gif

PS you beat me to it krayzie. laugh.gif

Edited by Ned_Flanders, 02 June 2004 - 06:05 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users