Jump to content


Photo

Help - Burning Evolution X .iso - Won't Boot.


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 theferalmoon

theferalmoon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts

Posted 31 July 2002 - 07:24 PM

I have tried several different times burning the Evolution X iso. When I go to boot the CD, I get the "Dirty media" nag. I am using CompUSA 4x CD-RWs.

Here is what I have -

Sporty X Dual with switch Evox/Xtender1.1
Burning on CD-RW (Tried another brand just to make sure)
Pot tweak
evolutionxv1_8_458_iso.rar

I know it can read the CD-RWs I have. I have tested it with many games.

I have tried burning the ISO with Primo, and with Nero. I also tried the different modes (2048, etc.)

I have a DVD burner on the way. Do you think I just need to burn it onto a DVD?

Please help. I have to be doing something wrong, and I am just not seeing it.

#2 Mr. Sharky

Mr. Sharky

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 31 July 2002 - 09:10 PM

I had the same problem,.. you just have to put a whole bunch of dummy files on the disc so it takes up more space and then it'll boot fine. I just threw random files in another DIR in the CD.

#3 theferalmoon

theferalmoon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts

Posted 31 July 2002 - 09:13 PM

Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.

I will try it out and see what happens. I will report back.

#4 theferalmoon

theferalmoon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts

Posted 31 July 2002 - 09:50 PM

Question -

Did you make it a multi session cd then? I.E. burn the .iso, and then add the files after the fact?

#5 foocankill

foocankill

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts

Posted 31 July 2002 - 09:53 PM

i did the dummy file thing also and it does help

#6 theferalmoon

theferalmoon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts

Posted 31 July 2002 - 10:27 PM

So how did you add the filler? Did you just create another track on a multisession cd?

#7 Mr. Sharky

Mr. Sharky

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 31 July 2002 - 10:31 PM

Just extract the iso using the xiso software,.. but it in its own folder full of a whole bunch of other files and junk and then just make a new iso,...

There may be an easier way,.. but thats at least how I did it.

#8 Mr. Sharky

Mr. Sharky

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 31 July 2002 - 10:32 PM

BTW on my last statement (but = put)
"sory" for the typo

#9 theferalmoon

theferalmoon

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 187 posts

Posted 01 August 2002 - 03:52 AM

Thanks for the help, guys.

I used xiso and added some BS dirs to fill up the disk. Worked great.

#10 beetjunki

beetjunki

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 August 2002 - 07:14 AM

what priority do i put the dummy files low or high?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users