Jump to content


Photo

Clarification - Ude, Xbox Live


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Qube

Qube

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 24 June 2004 - 03:44 AM

So to completely clarify this issue... obvious notions aside like Live from backups...

I can safely play XBOX Live by booting an original game and invoking Live option from there? Will there be a request to update the dashboard and if so will that subsequently destroy this exploit?

#2 SargeZT

SargeZT

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 129 posts
  • Location:Chaska, MN
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 24 June 2004 - 06:23 AM

There is no way to use live in UDE. It completley screws things up, and a Dashboard upgrade also ruins everything. Well, at least from my experiences. If there is a live compatible one, please tell me.

#3 spongy

spongy

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 387 posts
  • Location:Arizona
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 June 2004 - 06:28 AM

QUOTE (Qube @ Jun 23 2004, 10:44 PM)
I can safely play XBOX Live by booting an original game and invoking Live option from there?

I have never tried this,but hear it works.

QUOTE
Will there be a request to update the dashboard and if so will that subsequently destroy this exploit?
Not if you update your dash before installing UDE.Atleast until the next M$ update.

My suggestion, Use ldots installer and just uninstall before playing live. That's what I do. Very easy and takes less than a minute to go from modded to Live! state or viceversa.

#4 PedrosPad

PedrosPad

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,859 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2004 - 06:52 AM

QUOTE (SargeZT @ Jun 24 2004, 08:23 AM)
There is no way to use live in UDE.  It completley screws things up, and a Dashboard upgrade also ruins everything.  Well, at least from my experiences.  If there is a live compatible one, please tell me.

Not true - The complete vision for UDE includes some files renamers, that, when used with the tray-state switching code, allows you to boot the XBOX (using the power button) with the DVD tray closed to enter an exploited state, use Evox, play homebrew, etc.

Then boot the XBOX (using the DVD-tray eject button) with the DVD-tray open, and enter a non-exploited state, and end up at the M$ Dashboard - suitable for XBOX!Live!.

(A light weight version of this can also be achieved simply using EvoX scripts)

The trick is how to re-enable the UDE after playing Live. This has to be done using the easter egg exploit, or a GameSav exploit.

(PS. Recall the UDE only works with Kernels <5317)

Edited by PedrosPad, 24 June 2004 - 09:19 AM.


#5 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 24 June 2004 - 07:15 AM

Yes, you can play LiVE with UDE installed as long as you boot the game before the update.xbe is launched. No update will be required as long as you have dash 5960.
If you don't upgrade first then install UDE.

#6 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 June 2004 - 01:05 PM

QUOTE (Angerwound @ Jun 24 2004, 09:15 AM)
Yes, you can play LiVE with UDE installed as long as you boot the game before the update.xbe is launched. No update will be required as long as you have dash 5960.
If you don't upgrade first then install UDE.

My experience is that when you not allready have a live acount you cannot go live using the UDE cuz when you enter the live section of a game it wants to use the xonlinedash.xbe to setup an acount but since it cannot reach it's font files it hangs. Now cuz of that some people can play live with a booted game there must to be some data that is stored in memory that has all the acount info so the game bypasses the xonlinedash.xbe and it's fonts. This must only be happening when an acount is allready setup prior to the UDE installation. I can ofcourse be completely wrong but that is just my experience. I tried lots of times to get into live but my system keeps hanging. This also happens when I try to upgrade my dash (on purpose) The system keeps hangin before the actual update occurs. I dunno if the upgrading is prevented also if you allready have setup an account cuz I do'nt use xboxlive but I think it would hang also cuz the upgrading screen must be part of the dashboard and has to locate it's xbox book and xbox xtf files.

#7 the_devil73

the_devil73

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 24 June 2004 - 01:23 PM

this "UDE sounds excellent. I might switch from the audio xploit to this.

ONE IMPORTANT QUESTION!


wil this ruin my xbox once unplug it from the wall like i heard. If thats the case ten the audio xploit seems great to me!

#8 Qube

Qube

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 24 June 2004 - 01:54 PM

So I'll take the definitive answer as no, not even when booting from an original Live enabled game. dry.gif

#9 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 24 June 2004 - 10:40 PM

no the definanite answer is 'Yes', I am currently playing on live. Just update to 5960, perform 'Account Recovery' to install your account onto the box, then install UDE. As long as you setup your this way you can access live from an original game before the 'update.xbe' is loaded.

#10 Qube

Qube

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 25 June 2004 - 01:00 AM

QUOTE (Angerwound @ Jun 25 2004, 12:40 AM)
no the definanite answer is 'Yes', I am currently playing on live. Just update to 5960, perform 'Account Recovery' to install your account onto the box, then install UDE. As long as you setup your this way you can access live from an original game before the 'update.xbe' is loaded.

There we go! A straight and clear answer! Thank you.

Update, install UDE, boot original game then Live and away you go! Thanks again.

#11 JBNinja99

JBNinja99

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,372 posts
  • Location:Columbia, SC
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 25 June 2004 - 01:33 AM

so basically to have UDE work and keep live you upgrade your dash to 5659 and then go and install the UDE exploit. to play live just boot directly to a live game. and once your done with live you'll boot back to UDE. is this about right?

#12 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 25 June 2004 - 01:44 AM

exactly, except you need to perform the account recovery to add your LiVE account onto the box, otherwise when you go to the game it will ask you to install an account(xonlinedash.xbe)...

Edited by Angerwound, 25 June 2004 - 01:45 AM.


#13 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 June 2004 - 03:16 AM

Exactly... so angerwound (or anyone else) since you are a die hard live gamer have you ever got your dash updated with any font hack installed cuz I just want to know if the updating part would require the original fonts. I know it won't update with no acount set but I wonder if it makes a difference when you do have a working acount.

#14 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 25 June 2004 - 03:24 AM

Never experienced an update with a font hack installed so I couldnt' tell you. However, I have had one with the swapless audio. Anyhow, I would imagine an update wouldn't even be possible since the update.xbe has been moved out of the /xodash/ folder. Oddly enough, if someone just copied over from that folder I imagine it would attempt to launch the update.xbe and crash since it reads the hacked fonts. I don't see it booting over to your dash since everything is in a totally different state.

#15 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 June 2004 - 03:33 PM

Well thanx for the answer. I understand updates are still possible with audio hacks since none of the system files are removed/renamed. Anyway the lack of update.xbe in the xodash folder isn't preventing the upgrade. I know that cuz I tried that once to prevent an audio hack getting upgraded but it didn't work out. It seems the update.xbe gets triggered after the actual update cuz i recieved an error after the upgrade which i did from a game disc. Now I suspect since both the update.xbe and the dashupdate.xbe on the gamedisc use the font files the system crashes when trying to upgrade with a UDE or any font hack installed.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users