Jump to content


Photo

Should I Trade?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Buddyroe333

Buddyroe333

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 60 posts

Posted 27 June 2004 - 07:40 PM

I just got my Xbox this past Friday and it's of course a v1.6. I sucessfully did the gamesave hack and can run stuff off of my hard drive. I was talking to my cousin who has an older Xbox and no interest at all in modding. He offered to trade me if I wanted to. I'm sure his should be quite a few kernels back... he got it over a year ago when they were giving away Sega GT and Jet Set Future with it. I'm sort of assuming I should be able to put the UDE on it, and my question is whether or not the benefits of the UDE would outweigh having my new box, warranty and all. Probably wouldn't even consider it except that reading around it doesn't sound like anyone has any idea's on how to get around the 1.6 through softmodding, so no telling if it'll even be able to be fully cracked. Basically just asking for people's opinions. (and also cause I don't really know all of the benefits of UDE)

#2 zorxd

zorxd

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts

Posted 27 June 2004 - 09:55 PM

yes you should

#3 Blank

Blank

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,660 posts
  • Location:Western Wisconsin
  • Interests:Graphic Design, Gaming, HTML/Webpage Design, Programming, and Electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 June 2004 - 09:58 PM

QUOTE (zorxd @ Jun 27 2004, 05:55 PM)
yes you should

...

#4 celinedrules

celinedrules

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,430 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 June 2004 - 12:17 AM

My buddy traded his new xbox w/ someone for an old one. I soft modded it and put a 250 gig hard drive in for him. Definitely would do the same if I were you.

#5 Buddyroe333

Buddyroe333

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 60 posts

Posted 29 June 2004 - 04:03 AM

Okay... I just checked out his box... it was manf. on 2002-7-18, with Kernel - 1.00.4034.01 and Dashboard 1.00.4034.01. Should that be pretty exploitable?? (also... there is not functionality on the new box that I'm losing on an old one or anything, am I?)

#6 xman954

xman954

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,028 posts
  • Location:the bottom of Tampa Bay
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 June 2004 - 04:10 AM

A 1.0 xbox, a very good one to have go for it

EDIT and also UDE works very well with that dash no need to hex edit anything
back it up first thing...

Edited by xman954, 29 June 2004 - 04:13 AM.


#7 afon

afon

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 401 posts

Posted 29 June 2004 - 04:49 AM

Also, 1.0 box's (besides sharp TSOPS) are the easiest to TSOP. I recommend it.

#8 Buddyroe333

Buddyroe333

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 60 posts

Posted 30 June 2004 - 04:29 AM

xman954 - So UDE would work well with this box?? I'm guessing that if I want to softmod, that UDE would definately be the way to go from all I've read. What would be the best way to go about all this... I've seen like four different methods... including a memcard package. I was thinking about going that route since it seems the easiest... but easiest doesn't mean squat if it messes up my box. I've seen a lot about having a 4920 (I think that's the right number) Dash when using UDE... do I need to upgrade my dash first?

#9 forgreatjustice

forgreatjustice

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 139 posts
  • Location:toronto, ontario, canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 June 2004 - 01:41 PM

don't upgrade your dash
it will just cause more trouble later
UDE does not actually exploit the dashboard
keep the pre live dash board

#10 xman954

xman954

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,028 posts
  • Location:the bottom of Tampa Bay
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 June 2004 - 01:58 PM

QUOTE (forgreatjustice @ Jun 30 2004, 11:41 AM)
don't upgrade your dash
it will just cause more trouble later
UDE does not actually exploit the dashboard
keep the pre live dash board

yes keep the pre live dash it does not use a font folder
so when you put UDE on, the dash will still work
(just rename xboxdash to msxboxdash)
you only need update.xbe from 4920 dash (it's on slayers 2.5)
renamed to xboxdash.xbe and PBL on E:\
you have to start with a gamesave hack to get FTP then your "in"

Edited by xman954, 30 June 2004 - 02:05 PM.


#11 Buddyroe333

Buddyroe333

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 60 posts

Posted 02 July 2004 - 02:02 PM

Could I just use Idot's Memcard UDE package to install it? Or with this early a dash would that mess something up?

#12 FBF

FBF

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 60 posts

Posted 02 July 2004 - 07:26 PM

QUOTE
Could I just use Idot's Memcard UDE package to install it? Or with this early a dash would that mess something up?


Idots memory card package works with a pre 4920 dash but you wont be able to use the MSdash anymore. unless you do some editing

#13 AE6689

AE6689

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 424 posts

Posted 03 July 2004 - 12:03 AM

I'd TSOP flash that sucker. It has a 1meg TSOP, so you can flash half of it with a hacked bios and the other half with your standard M$ bios. Make a switch and you have your own modchip. The solder points are not that bad and you don't have to worry about it having a warranty since it is so old. Although an exploit would work fine, TSOP flashes are easier to manage, for me at least

#14 xman954

xman954

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,028 posts
  • Location:the bottom of Tampa Bay
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 July 2004 - 01:03 AM

get a gamesave hack working first
then FTP the stuff in but,
you should TEST the UDE setup first by
"not renaming xboxdash.xbe"
just put update.xbe in the root of C:\
then edit evox.ini to run C:\update.exe as a APP
and see if it works first............

once you get it working correctly then rename the 2 files


IF you upgrade your dash from 4034 it makes it a lot harder
to get the ms dash working

Edited by xman954, 03 July 2004 - 01:04 AM.


#15 Buddyroe333

Buddyroe333

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 60 posts

Posted 03 July 2004 - 03:34 AM

Okay... I used Idot's Memcard package... worked great. I had to try it twice though... the first time I chose PBL, and after the install when I restarted it all I got was a black screen. I uninstalled it and then tried again with Nkpatcher and it worked like a charm. Was even able to replace MXM with UnleashX. I'm loving it. But I also see what you all mean about not being able to access my dash anymore or use the in-menu restart (which is probably more of a UnleashX problem than a UDE problem). Could anyone give me any tips on what I need to edit or change to make it able to access my dash again? I greatly appreciate all the help already. UDE kicks ass biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users