Jump to content


Photo

Can't Link Msdash To Evox


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 ardmore8

ardmore8

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 28 June 2004 - 08:39 AM

I've tried just about everything, but everytime i launch msdah from evox it just reloads pbl and goes back into evox.
Is there any other way I can set the date or time, I have an app call xbox watch, but I haven't been able to use it.

#2 Strud1512

Strud1512

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,655 posts
  • Location:Wagga Wagga, NSW, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 June 2004 - 09:00 AM

What is the name of your MS dashboard?
Does it match the MS dash name referenced in your evox.ini?

#3 ardmore8

ardmore8

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 28 June 2004 - 09:34 AM

MODXxboxdash.xbe is the one I modified with hex and linked in evox.ini. Its my original dash taken from slayers.

I also have in c: xboxdash.xbe(formally update.xbe) & evoxdash.xbe.

I was just reading an old post where it said to rename MODXxboxdash.xbe back to xboxdash.xbe which would mean getting rid of existing xboxdash.xbe? I don't understand why it won't link to MODXxboxdash

Edited by ardmore8, 28 June 2004 - 09:34 AM.


#4 bigga

bigga

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,514 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 28 June 2004 - 09:41 AM

This is what you should have in your evox.ini if you had the standard M$ xbox dash and a new version of evox

QUOTE
Item "MS Dashboard",ID_MS_Dash


You could try to add something like this to your evox.ini, it should link straight to your xbox dash

QUOTE
Item "MS Dashboard","c:\MODxboxdash.xbe"


Another way to set the clock would be in UnleashX. In the settings menu, you can change the time and date and also have the option to auto set the clock.

Even evox if the .ini file is set up correctly, can have the time updated automatically via a SNTP server (the default server IP is 216.244.192.3)

Edited by bigga, 28 June 2004 - 09:51 AM.


#5 ardmore8

ardmore8

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 28 June 2004 - 09:48 AM

ok, Ill give it a shot

#6 bigga

bigga

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,514 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 28 June 2004 - 09:52 AM

Read my edited post about Evox and UnleashX ^^^^^

#7 ardmore8

ardmore8

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 28 June 2004 - 09:59 AM

That sounds like me! I've already got the black service screen twice today playing around with files I know nothing about tongue.gif
Thanks


#8 clown88

clown88

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 119 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 June 2004 - 10:00 AM

If I where to guess, your MsDash is probably reloading a font hack.
Make sure you EvoX.ini is pointing to the right hexed dash. If it is, try to re-hex the dash, making sure you get the file extensions right.



BTW: Noobs give some bloody details when asking questions, it helps us help you smile.gif

#9 ardmore8

ardmore8

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 28 June 2004 - 10:29 AM

Hehe, don't think Ive ever been called a noob before. Better than a nob I guess.
Anyway couldn't resist, changed "MS Dashboard",ID_MS_Dash in the ini, ended up getting a black service screen. Makes a nice change from looping back to Evox tongue.gif So I think I'm on to something, anyway I'll pick up the pieces and try again tommorow. Cheers for the input guys

#10 gsgleason

gsgleason

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,588 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 28 June 2004 - 10:46 AM

near the top of your evox.ini you specify your MS dash. make sure it's right.

Does the MS dash load with your chip disabled? (hdd must be locked)

#11 ardmore8

ardmore8

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 28 June 2004 - 08:46 PM

Sorry should have given more detail, my console is soft modded pbl - ude - evox
Top of evox reads:
#AudioPlayer = "c:MODXxboxdash.xbe"
MSDashBoard = "c:MODXxboxdash.xbe"

With only this change in my evox.ini it still loops back to evox,
But when I change

Item "MS Dashboard",ID_MS_Dash
to
Item "MS Dashboard","c:\MODXxboxdash.xbe"

as bigga suggested I get the black service screen.

I tried 3 different ways of editing MODXxboxdash.xbx

1. Hex edit and linking font strings to f0nt as suggested in the UDE guide
2. Hex edit xtf to xft
3. Used a patcher

All MODXxboxdash were then signed although I read this is sometimes not necessary.

So I have 3 xbe files in c:\ evoxdash, xboxdash, MODXxboxdsh. MODX is the original and the one I have been trying to use with my fonts.

Anyway I did get the date & time set using UnleashX (thanks bigga)
but I still want msdash link fixed in evox, it feels incomplete without it.

Cheers guys


#12 clown88

clown88

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 119 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 June 2004 - 11:24 PM

Are "Xbox Book.***" and "Xbox.***" still on your HD?

Like I said, just manually hex a fresh dash, making sure you get the extensions right, and that the renamed font files are there. Then name it to say MSDASH.XBE (just easier that way wink.gif) and it should work...

#13 ardmore8

ardmore8

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 29 June 2004 - 12:06 AM

ok, I'll try that when I get home. Yes both font files are on my hd, xtf version in f0nts & xft in c:\.

Question, does it matter which fresh dash I use
ie; I have my original virgin msdash backed up, I also have slayers ver which I used before I added UDE.

Cheers

#14 clown88

clown88

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 119 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 June 2004 - 12:34 AM

I think I used the dash of slayers (aka Live 1.0) when I had a softmod.

What version xbox do you have?

#15 ardmore8

ardmore8

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 29 June 2004 - 12:48 AM

Version 1.0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users