Jump to content


Photo

Tutorial - How To Play On Live With A Modded Xbox


  • Please log in to reply
414 replies to this topic

#16 x-power

x-power

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 233 posts

Posted 15 January 2003 - 11:49 AM

Thank shanafan, i was half sleepy back then.

#17 stark

stark

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Interests:Hmmmm xbox.......games......movies........pron......roms ;)
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 January 2003 - 08:32 PM

I dont suppose you help me here shanafan.

I have a banned xbox, and have an eeprom to replace it with, i know what to do in config magic to replace it, but the region of my eeprom is different from the region of the eeprom i am trying to replace it with. I get the message "EEPROM ENCRYPYED REGION INVALID".

Now i read in one thread which i cant find now, that you said you can change the region by using the on-the-fly edit, but im not sure what to do here?

My current region is 4, not sure what the one is that im replacing it with tho, can you pls tell me what i need to do?

Thanks,
Stark.

#18 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 January 2003 - 12:10 AM

You may have missed it in my FAQ....

Go to "on-the-fly" edit command and change the region from "PAL, Region 4" to "NTSC, Region 1". That's it! Now you have a NTSC EEPROM. But, you will have to go to your MS dash and update the clock.


#19 stark

stark

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Interests:Hmmmm xbox.......games......movies........pron......roms ;)
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 January 2003 - 09:33 AM

ahhh nice one cheers. biggrin.gif

#20 Chaldod248

Chaldod248

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 17 January 2003 - 11:18 PM

So if i get the eeprom from a friends xbox, can he not go online with his xbox anymore. Also how is it that i get the eeprom from his xbox, i sortof understood how to get it into mine, but i don't understand how i get his numbers.

#21 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 January 2003 - 11:33 PM

Your friend has to have a modded Xbox. Have him install EvolutionX and do a backup command in the settings menu. The command will generate a file called EEPROM.BIN in c:\backup. FTP to your Xbox and transfer it over to your PC. Thus, you have the file

Edited by shanafan, 17 January 2003 - 11:34 PM.


#22 bearauto

bearauto

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 622 posts

Posted 18 January 2003 - 08:32 AM

Shan, if it is true that the matrix bios is loaded into the RAM, wouldn't mode 3 and eject still have the matrix bios in the RAM since it didn't do a full reset?

#23 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 January 2003 - 09:55 AM

No, because if it did, we would have lot of unhappy banned Xbox Live users here smile.gif

#24 bearauto

bearauto

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 622 posts

Posted 18 January 2003 - 06:12 PM

QUOTE (shanafan @ Jan 18 2003, 12:55 AM)
No, because if it did, we would have lot of unhappy banned Xbox Live users here smile.gif

Gotcha...thanks

#25 trikster

trikster

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 19 January 2003 - 09:39 AM

Newbie question:

If I put my Matrix in mode 3, does it mean that I can't eject my CD Drive to load a disc for apps like the Xbox Media Player? Not even with the D.6 Ejectfix bios?

#26 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 January 2003 - 09:44 AM

When you put your Matrix in Mode 3 and press eject during a game, the modchip is disabled. Thus, you can not run homebrewed software.

I believe that ejectfix BIOSES do not work with Mode 3. Get a non-eject fix BIOS

Edited by shanafan, 19 January 2003 - 09:45 AM.


#27 bearauto

bearauto

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 622 posts

Posted 19 January 2003 - 07:09 PM

Correct, ejectfix does NOT change the bios from D6 to original.

#28 Chaldod248

Chaldod248

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 20 January 2003 - 05:28 AM

If i back up the EEPROM and keep it saved on my comp, then can i use that one for everytime i get banned, or does MS ban my xbox by its EEPROM, which means that I'll have to get an EEPROM from a different friends XBOX.

Also could i use a friends xbox that is already online or is planning to go online in the future.

Edited by Chaldod248, 20 January 2003 - 05:29 AM.


#29 Marmite

Marmite

    X-S Genius

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 912 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 20 January 2003 - 06:03 AM

QUOTE (Chaldod248 @ Jan 20 2003, 05:28 AM)
If i back up the EEPROM and keep it saved on my comp, then can i use that one for everytime i get banned, or does MS ban my xbox by its EEPROM, which means that I'll have to get an EEPROM from a different friends XBOX.

Also could i use a friends xbox that is already online or is planning to go online in the future.

You can't use the old banned eeprom, you need to get a new one, even if you backed up the eeprom before it was banned.

#30 shanafan

shanafan

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,527 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2003 - 06:04 AM

QUOTE
If i back up the EEPROM and keep it saved on my comp, then can i use that one for everytime i get banned, or does MS ban my xbox by its EEPROM, which means that I'll have to get an EEPROM from a different friends XBOX.


MS bans your Xbox by your EEPROM. Once that EEPROM is banned, it is banned. The one you have saved as a backup is banned as well. You have to get a brand new one.

QUOTE
Also could i use a friends xbox that is already online or is planning to go online in the future.


What do you mean?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users