• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Scheisskopf

Scheisskopf

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 18 July 2004 - 03:25 PM

Sorry for being a dork, but I'm trying to figure out what modding an Xbox entails before diving in headfirst. I've read up on a lot of tutorials and guides and such and it doesn't seem to exceed my limitations. biggrin.gif

I've decided on a Xenium Ice solder-less chip. It's got some good features and whatnot but I like the fact that it's solder-less since I have no experience and would rather not ruin my xbox. Solder-less install seems easy enough.

After that, I'm a litttle confused. After the chip is installed, will I need to update the Xbox's BIOS? I understand I get them from mIRC, but where would I find what the the latest version is? And I will install these BIOS by making a boot disc using my CD-RW?

And the chip comes pre-flashed with its own OS. After it's running well, I'll need to put a dashboard on there, so I'll probably start with EvoX and see how that is. I'll transfer this from the PC to xbox using my network and FTP? Will WS_FTP suffice?

And once EvoX is installed I'll be able to copy my games onto the hard drive (this is the main feature I'd like to mod my xbox for, at least for starters). My version 1.0 hard drive will be able to hold 1 or 2 games, correct? If it all works out, I'll upgrade to a larger HD.

That's what I gathered from a couple hours of research at this site. Do I have a decent grasp on some of the basics (enough to get me started at least)? Are there any glaring omissions or mistakes?

Thanks. beerchug.gif

#2 ti85man

ti85man

X-S X-perience

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 463 posts
  • Interests:xbox....
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 18 July 2004 - 03:54 PM

you got a good grasp on the whole thing.