Jump to content


Photo

Harddrive Help


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Morningstar22

Morningstar22

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 19 July 2004 - 11:51 PM

Okay, I Really Have No Knowledge Or Experiance With Modding And Stuff, But I Really Want To Get My Xbox Modded. I Want To Be Able To Copy Games To A New Hardrive (120 Gb) And I Don't Use Xbox Live. Im Going To Get Someone To Mod It For Me, How Much Do You Guys Think It Would Cost?(Canadian) And Do You Need A Certain Harddrive Or Mod-Chip For The Stuff I Want To Do?

Thanks, Morningstar smile.gif

#2 tyger25

tyger25

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:Little Rock
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 July 2004 - 12:11 AM

Look in the Tutorials. Since you will not be using Xbox Live, search for TSOP flash.

#3 thewickedjester

thewickedjester

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 04:32 AM

i (personnaly, and IMO) recommend using a chip, TSOP flashing overwrites the onboard bios, and can be risky, its a little more, but a chip is deffinetly the way to go, as for a hdd, you shouldnt get smaller than 120 cause it will fill up way to fast, dont go any higher than 250 cause after that (the next generic size is 300) data corruption has been known to occur, rpm's dont really make a diff, bigger buffer/cache is better.

#4 Strud1512

Strud1512

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,655 posts
  • Location:Wagga Wagga, NSW, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:03 AM

QUOTE
dont go any higher than 250 cause after that (the next generic size is 300) data corruption has been known to occur

That's only if you use a partition 6 (ie F: drive) only bios. If you use a partition 6/7 bios (F and G drive) you can go up to around 400gb.
Corruption will only happen if any single partition is over 255gb, not the whole hard drive.

#5 jack2004

jack2004

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 619 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:18 AM

I 'm canadian and the whole mod thing will cost around 250 to 300 dollas ( modchip cost around $60-$70 and 200gb will cost around $200 or less and some labor are around $60 - $100)
I can do the mod thing in edmonton

#6 xbox77

xbox77

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Location:Chattanooga, TN
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:26 AM

QUOTE (Morningstar22 @ Jul 20 2004, 12:54 AM)
Okay, I Really Have No Knowledge Or Experiance With Modding And Stuff, But I Really Want To Get My Xbox Modded. I Want To Be Able To Copy Games To A New Hardrive (120 Gb) And I Don't Use Xbox Live. Im Going To Get Someone To Mod It For Me, How Much Do You Guys Think It Would Cost?(Canadian) And Do You Need A Certain Harddrive Or Mod-Chip For The Stuff I Want To Do?

Thanks, Morningstar smile.gif

if u use tsop your only cost will be your hd biggrin.gif

i used 2 have the matrix; used 2 come loose once in a while, switched to tsop and it works great.

Edited by xbox77, 20 July 2004 - 05:29 AM.


#7 tyger25

tyger25

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:Little Rock
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:30 AM

QUOTE (xbox77 @ Jul 19 2004, 11:29 PM)
if u use tsop your only cost will be your hd biggrin.gif

That was my point... biggrin.gif

#8 jack2004

jack2004

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 619 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:36 AM

I can't rec. tsop for newbies I'm stick with modchips

#9 xbox77

xbox77

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Location:Chattanooga, TN
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:47 AM

QUOTE (jack2004 @ Jul 20 2004, 06:39 AM)
I can't rec. tsop for newbies I'm stick with modchips

my friend did mine look kind of complicated. Don't u have 2 use unix?

#10 jack2004

jack2004

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 619 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:51 AM

no I use modchip x2.3b lite and lite+ and evolutionx dash right now I just finish mod the 5th one and they all happy about it

#11 Megaloballer

Megaloballer

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Location:Purdue University
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 20 July 2004 - 01:32 PM

Software mod is easy and pretty reliable... Only problem I've seen, which happened to my xbox the other day, is the damn video signal stops working. Not sure if it's software mod related or a hardware problem, but if I had a chip i could flash the eeprom or bios quickly and rule that out... Anyway, software mod is safer because you don't have to mess with much of the hardware, and you can still do just about ANYTHING that a hardware mod will do biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users