Jump to content


Photo

How To Make Bfm Bios


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Chicken Scratch Boy

Chicken Scratch Boy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts
  • Location:In the Study With the Candlestick
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 July 2004 - 02:49 AM

This tutorial is to teach you how to make custom bios for use with the many bios loaders currently in use.

Step 1: Get Xbtool.

Pretty simple.

Grab the latest version of xbtool and install it. This can be done by various methods, but I just unrared it into my “My Programs” folder, and made a shortcut to it on my desktop (you may want to put it into your Program folder under your start menu.

Step 2: A trip the “Usual Place”

Optional: if you want to understand the process more: try loading a bios, notice you can’t check the “Convert to BFM box.” This step is to fix that.

Log on the “Usual Place” and grab /PC/bios tools/XBtool/Config.rar

While you’re at it, grab the bios of your choice (unedited, non-bfm, of course)

Step 3: Do it.

Now, unrar Config.rar into xbtool’s config folder (over write any files.)
Now you can open up your bios and make any changes you wish.
Note: You can’t change the animation or other things. That would take place before the bios would load.
When you are done, tick the “Convert to BFM” box, and hit the “save as…” button.

Now ftp it to your xbox, replacing your current bios file.

Note: You may not want to test this on boot (ie: as an app), unless you have a savegame exploit ready

Link:
XBtool
Sorry no support for X2 4982+ or m8!

user posted image
Don't change the ones boxed in red. They won't make a differance, and you may crash the box
You must check the one boxed in green. Make sure the one above it is maked as "Multi" when loading most bioses.

Other people's tips! No need to scroll down and search!

QUOTE (RiceCake)
1) When you open the BIOS make sure its on Multi mode in the upper-right corner.
2) This isn't mentioned, but for Phoenix to work properly, you need to switch that box to Debug before you save your BIOS!
3) Probably also important, you should check the box that says 1024K in the lower righthand corner.

-------------------------------------
QUOTE (Autrailian Rat)
I didn't do this and it booted fine on PBL-lite.

It did popup asking if I wanted the BFM flag checked when saving though.


Refering to:

QUOTE (RiceCake)
2) This isn't mentioned, but for Phoenix to work properly, you need to switch that box to Debug before you save your BIOS!

-------------------------------------

Edited by Chicken Scratch Boy, 20 July 2004 - 07:31 AM.


#2 Australian Rat

Australian Rat

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 308 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 02:56 AM

Cool! Now no more stuff ups when making them.

This has been needed for a long time smile.gif

#3 Chicken Scratch Boy

Chicken Scratch Boy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts
  • Location:In the Study With the Candlestick
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 July 2004 - 02:59 AM

QUOTE (Australian Rat @ Jul 19 2004, 05:59 PM)
Cool! Now no more stuff ups when making them.

This has been needed for a long time smile.gif

thanks

#4 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 20 July 2004 - 03:21 AM

Added to Pinned thread. Thanks Chicken Scratch Boy for the superb job. Two tutorials down - A few to go.

#5 Chicken Scratch Boy

Chicken Scratch Boy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts
  • Location:In the Study With the Candlestick
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 July 2004 - 03:49 AM

thanks

i cant believe i'm "Excellent"

*beams with pride*

smile.gif

#6 Australian Rat

Australian Rat

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 308 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 03:51 AM

One little thing, just might want to mention that for the vast majority of BIOSes, the BIOS Type should be set to Multi. Otherwise you can't open bioses like x2 and evox. It's in your nice little picture but probably should be mentioned anyway smile.gif

#7 RiceCake

RiceCake

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Location:Canada, eh?
  • Interests:Wait, what the hell?<br />Your interested in what I do?<br />None of your damn buisness!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:44 AM

1) When you open the BIOS make sure its on Multi mode in the upper-right corner.
2) This isn't mentioned, but for Phoenix to work properly, you need to switch that box to Debug before you save your BIOS!
3) Probably also important, you should check the box that says 1024K in the lower righthand corner.

A few things I've bumped into before...

#8 Chicken Scratch Boy

Chicken Scratch Boy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts
  • Location:In the Study With the Candlestick
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:47 AM

doesnt it automaticly bump it to 1meg after you choose BFM?

*tries*

#9 ipodder2003

ipodder2003

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 06:01 AM

Great work, CSB. I wanted to know this for a long time... thanks!

#10 KingsGambit

KingsGambit

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 63 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 07:06 AM

Wow, made to sound so easy! Guess it is when ya know how! Thanks for the great walkthrough, very useful. smile.gif Shame M8 and 4983 aren't yet supported, but then, who needs em anyway? tongue.gif

#11 Chicken Scratch Boy

Chicken Scratch Boy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts
  • Location:In the Study With the Candlestick
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 July 2004 - 07:22 AM

only improvements after '79 was the live block

#12 Australian Rat

Australian Rat

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 308 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 07:22 AM

QUOTE (RiceCake @ Jul 20 2004, 02:47 PM)
2) This isn't mentioned, but for Phoenix to work properly, you need to switch that box to Debug before you save your BIOS!

I didn't do this and it booted fine on PBL-lite.

It did popup asking if I wanted the BFM flag checked when saving though.

#13 RiceCake

RiceCake

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Location:Canada, eh?
  • Interests:Wait, what the hell?<br />Your interested in what I do?<br />None of your damn buisness!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 20 July 2004 - 07:37 PM

Maybe BFM automatically switches it to the debug RC4 key?

I dunno. All I know is, switching it to a debug 1024k is what I've learned is the way to do it.

#14 Chicken Scratch Boy

Chicken Scratch Boy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts
  • Location:In the Study With the Candlestick
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 July 2004 - 07:52 PM

yes 1024k is nessesary

#15 the_devil73

the_devil73

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 01 August 2004 - 01:14 PM

I got it. nm

Edited by the_devil73, 01 August 2004 - 01:26 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users