Jump to content


Photo

1.6 D0


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 AmO

AmO

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Sacramento California
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 July 2004 - 08:27 PM

Ive been a bit confused latly about the D0 on a 1.6 mobo. I'm getting a Xenium ICE for a friend with a 1.6 xbox and I am going to rebuild the LPC with a Pin Header install. My only question lies in the D0. Every diagram I've seen talks about a topside D0, is there a bottom side D0 that you can use INSTEAD of the topside D0? I know theres a bottom side LFRAME for non-ICE chips, but I will be dealing with an ICE chip here and wanted to use a bottom side D0 if possible (can I use the bottom side LFRAME instead of the topside D0?). If anyone knows the answer could they let me know? Thanks (Hope this question has not been asked before, ive searched but not found anything).
Laters,

AmO

Edited by AmO, 20 July 2004 - 08:28 PM.


#2 cap269

cap269

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Montgomery, AL
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 July 2004 - 08:53 PM

There is a bottom side LFRAME, yes, but with the ICE, I think you are better off using the removable D0 wire loom that comes with the ICE and using it on the topside LFRAME (blue wire) and a nearby screw-ring ground (black wire). That is a much better way to do it. The blue D0 wire fits rather nicely in the hole. It's easy.

#3 AmO

AmO

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Sacramento California
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 July 2004 - 09:03 PM

so i can just use the blue wire on the removeable D0 to connect to the bottomside LFRAME? Will the black need to ground as well? (I will NEED the ability to boot TSOP as well)

Edited by AmO, 20 July 2004 - 09:04 PM.


#4 cap269

cap269

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Montgomery, AL
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 July 2004 - 09:10 PM

No, I said use the removable D0 wire on the TOPside LFRAME. Ground the black wire to the nearby screw ring. There's one about an inch away from the topside LFRAME. Very convenient. You WILL be able to boot the onboard BIOS (there really isn't a TSOP on a 1.6..but that's another conversation) with this configuration.

Edited by cap269, 20 July 2004 - 09:13 PM.


#5 Solja

Solja

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 51 posts

Posted 21 July 2004 - 07:05 PM

I think I have done this properly. This was my first Xenium install and I am very impressed with the OS. I have a question though...How do I disable the chip and load the normal M$ dash? Thanks.

#6 AmO

AmO

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Sacramento California
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 21 July 2004 - 07:29 PM

Launch Menu, Add Item > TSOP, give it a name
then launch it

#7 Solja

Solja

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 51 posts

Posted 21 July 2004 - 07:35 PM

Yeah I am able to do that. I just didn't know if there was a different way. Sorry, I'm used to xecuter chips. Thanks for the info.

#8 Master-Chief

Master-Chief

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,710 posts
  • Location:Head Moderator
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 21 July 2004 - 07:49 PM

QUOTE (AmO @ Jul 20 2004, 06:06 PM)
so i can just use the blue wire on the removeable D0 to connect to the bottomside LFRAME?

There is no such thing as the bottom side LFRAME. If you are doing a pin header install on a 1.6, you must use the LFRAME (only ONE and it's ON the TOP of the MOTHERBOARD). wink.gif

#9 TSOPrano

TSOPrano

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Location:Victoria, BC
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 July 2004 - 08:00 PM

QUOTE (Master-Chief @ Jul 21 2004, 08:52 PM)
There is no such thing as the bottom side LFRAME. If you are doing a pin header install on a 1.6, you must use the LFRAME (only ONE and it's ON the TOP of the MOTHERBOARD).  wink.gif

WRONG. rolleyes.gif

There is a bottom side LFRAME. Check out my manual, there is a picture within it showing the bottom side LFRAME... link is here:

http://members.shaw..../xenium_mod.pdf

Edited by TSOPrano, 21 July 2004 - 08:01 PM.


#10 Master-Chief

Master-Chief

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,710 posts
  • Location:Head Moderator
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 21 July 2004 - 08:06 PM

QUOTE (TSOPrano @ Jul 21 2004, 05:03 PM)
WRONG. rolleyes.gif

There is a bottom side LFRAME. Check out my manual, there is a picture within it showing the bottom side LFRAME... link is here:

http://members.shaw..../xenium_mod.pdf

Well, the one MOST referred to is the top d0 and the chip goes on there anyways. So why wire it to the bottom of the motherboard when you can keep it on the top? rolleyes.gif

#11 AmO

AmO

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Sacramento California
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 21 July 2004 - 08:43 PM

because i wanted to keep all the soldering on the bottom of the board, i think it lends to a cleaner look because its not visible from the chip side of it all, also easier solderpoints as they are bigger.

#12 Master-Chief

Master-Chief

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,710 posts
  • Location:Head Moderator
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 21 July 2004 - 09:14 PM

QUOTE (AmO @ Jul 21 2004, 05:46 PM)
because i wanted to keep all the soldering on the bottom of the board, i think it lends to a cleaner look because its not visible from the chip side of it all, also easier solderpoints as they are bigger.

What would you do if the d0 point came off for some reason? You would then have to go through unscrewing every screw just to get to the bottom. Who cares if it looks neater just because the wires are at the bottom? The only neatness you should worry about is how neatly your wires are soldered to the points. It's not like you have a motherboard window. rolleyes.gif

#13 Endosmok

Endosmok

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 03 August 2004 - 07:52 PM

QUOTE (TSOPrano @ Jul 21 2004, 08:03 PM)
WRONG. rolleyes.gif

There is a bottom side LFRAME. Check out my manual, there is a picture within it showing the bottom side LFRAME... link is here:

http://members.shaw..../xenium_mod.pdf


Hey, I checked out your manual. The LPC rebuild is a bit different from the 1.6 Install PDF from xenium website.

I have a non ice chip and trying to get it to work. Have been unable to connect it properly using the xenium method. I believe my wiring is correct, but maybe the d0 is not proper as i am getting a steady red light and the xbox boots as normal as if no chip installed. I have done a couple of other 1.6 xbox's with the 2.3 Lite, so I believe my wiring is good, i'll double check. I was a lil unclear on the removeable d0 wires. I have one going to the top side d0 and the other wire goes to ground? I see yours goes thru the hole in the bottom (LFRAME Ground), so that be where the other wire does coming from the removeable d0?



#14 acemilo

acemilo

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,828 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 August 2004 - 11:00 PM

I used the bottom lframe, its bigger and works fine.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users