• Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#1 brahm2

brahm2

Internet Superstar

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,003 posts
  • Interests:I'm an EE student at the UofS in Saskatoon. I love guitar and drinking beer.. sometimes both.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 July 2004 - 10:39 AM

The Jewel Clearing RESOURCE THREAD

All right.. you have entered this thread wanting to clear your jewel. Over the last year and a bit, there have been a billion different posts, and a lot of confusing information. I’m hoping to squeeze ALL of that confusing information into one fantastic thread! wink.gif Kidding, but having all of the links and information available in one thread makes it a lot easier for everyone.

Jewel - The circular green Xbox logo on the case (XS Case Modding Dictionary)

----- Step 1 –Removing the jewel -----

There are two tried, tested, and true methods for removing the Xbox jewel. The freezer method, and the hairdryer method.

Method One: The Freezer Method (by tester123)
1: Put the top part of your case into the freezer for about 30 minutes. Remove metal shielding first (this shielding is not necessary and it doesn’t matter if it gets damaged).
2: Take it out, and tap directly under your jewel with a hammer or other tappable instrument and she'll pop right off.
The freezer method is the recommended to try first for jewel removal, because it is so easy. However, sometimes that pesky jewel will stick, and you’ll have to try..

Method Two: The Hairdryer Method
1: Open up the case and take off the top.
2: Remove the metal shielding (this shielding is not necessary and it doesn’t matter if it gets damaged).
3. Grab a hairdryer and a small screwdriver, or a butter knife.
4: Set the hairdryer to hot and high. Point it at the back of the jewel for about 5 minutes.
5: Get your knife or screwdriver, lever it under the jewel, and pry it off!

----- Step 2 –Clearing the Jewel -----