Jump to content


Photo

Slow Ftp Speed , Need Help.


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 dermesser

dermesser

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Quebec, Canada
  • Interests:Snowboard, Friends, Biking, ΧβθΧ & PC Games, Photography, English, German, etc
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 24 July 2004 - 04:42 AM

Hello , i am trying to upload stuff on my Xbox hdd and the speed is around 400-500 kb/s ....it takes so long to upload big files...why is it this slow?

here is an example :
FTP SPEED , CLICK HERE FOR PICTURE

#2 ILLusions0fGrander

ILLusions0fGrander

    third echelon agent

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,500 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Post Apocalyptic DC Vault No. 101
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 24 July 2004 - 05:49 AM

you try flashfxp?

#3 dermesser

dermesser

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Quebec, Canada
  • Interests:Snowboard, Friends, Biking, ΧβθΧ & PC Games, Photography, English, German, etc
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 24 July 2004 - 07:22 AM

yeah , i tried FileZilla , and Flash XP , both are the same speed (around 400-500kb/s) sad.gif I tried both Ethernet card i have , same thing.

Here is the card model it's plugged in right now
http://www.smc.com/i...&prod=74&site=c

and yes i have the latest drivers...i'm sure that there is other people having this problem , my friend has it too...please , help!

#4 dermesser

dermesser

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Quebec, Canada
  • Interests:Snowboard, Friends, Biking, ΧβθΧ & PC Games, Photography, English, German, etc
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 24 July 2004 - 01:38 PM

I wonder if it could be the cable or something...??

#5 dermesser

dermesser

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Quebec, Canada
  • Interests:Snowboard, Friends, Biking, ΧβθΧ & PC Games, Photography, English, German, etc
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 27 July 2004 - 12:10 AM

Bump dry.gif i tried changing the cable , didn't work ! help please? should i buy a new Ethernet card ph34r.gif ?

#6 dermesser

dermesser

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Quebec, Canada
  • Interests:Snowboard, Friends, Biking, ΧβθΧ & PC Games, Photography, English, German, etc
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 27 July 2004 - 11:35 PM

hello? anyone sad.gif ?

#7 Burgleflickle

Burgleflickle

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:MN
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 28 July 2004 - 02:53 AM

sleeping.gif You need crossover cable, not regular patch cable. Fork out about $20, or go make your own...

#8 dermesser

dermesser

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Quebec, Canada
  • Interests:Snowboard, Friends, Biking, ΧβθΧ & PC Games, Photography, English, German, etc
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 28 July 2004 - 07:03 PM

Do you guys think i should get this : Crossover Cable Cat-5E RJ-45


#9 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 July 2004 - 07:10 PM

Read the tutorial in my sig for suggestions to try troubleshooting speed issues...

#10 dermesser

dermesser

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Quebec, Canada
  • Interests:Snowboard, Friends, Biking, ΧβθΧ & PC Games, Photography, English, German, etc
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 28 July 2004 - 11:00 PM

I did and all the solutions mentioned in there didn't fix my problem , i think my cable was the wrong type...I'm gonna buy a cat54 rj45 crossover cable and if it doesn't work i'll change my hardware ( i mean the network card )

#11 mrRobinson

mrRobinson

    X-S Caffeinated Member

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Quantum Loop Theory
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 July 2004 - 05:23 AM

If your cable was the wrong type, you wouldn't be able to ftp in at all. However getting a new known good cable isn't a bad idea, neither is trying a different nic, new drivers, throwing a hub/switch in the middle, etc. All mentioned in my tutorial.

#12 Mega_mil

Mega_mil

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 315 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 July 2004 - 07:17 AM

look for a program called Windows Commander. It's must faster than flashfxp. I can only get about 2,500kb with flashfxp but with WC i get 7,400kb. And if you have a router you don't need a cross-over cable. I don't have one and you see the speeds I get. maybe just a different program...who knows....the xbox is a weird machine......

#13 adil786

adil786

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,088 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 July 2004 - 11:21 AM

QUOTE (Mega_mil @ Jul 29 2004, 08:20 AM)
look for a program called Windows Commander. It's must faster than flashfxp. I can only get about 2,500kb with flashfxp but with WC i get 7,400kb. And if you have a router you don't need a cross-over cable. I don't have one and you see the speeds I get. maybe just a different program...who knows....the xbox is a weird machine......

nice, ill try that!

#14 bigga

bigga

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,514 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 29 July 2004 - 11:56 AM

I have had problems like this before with standard HDD's taking forever to transfer. My solution is to use XBMC (XBox Media Centre). In General settings make sure FTP server has a tick next to it. If you don't alter the network settings, they should be the same as Evox. Speeds should jump from 300-500kB/s up to 6000-7000 (Approx. 6-7Mb/s)

#15 skeets73

skeets73

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 218 posts

Posted 29 July 2004 - 12:03 PM

Windows commander apparently works amazing, im runnin it now, uploading at 7000's instead of 400-500 with FLASHFXP.

Chris




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users