Jump to content


Photo

Ms Dash Dvd Region Free Patcher.


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 26 July 2004 - 11:43 AM

At the 'usual places' under apps, dashboards, and dashboard patchers, there is an iso that when you put in your xbox it patches the ms dash to make it region free. When i try to run it it just crashes, i assume this is because the ms dash has been renamed and the fonts have been moved. So is hex editing going to solve it?

#2 adil786

adil786

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,088 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 July 2004 - 12:01 PM

QUOTE (total_ass @ Jul 26 2004, 12:46 PM)
At the 'usual places' under apps, dashboards, and dashboard patchers, there is an iso that when you put in your xbox it patches the ms dash to make it region free. When i try to run it it just crashes, i assume this is because the ms dash has been renamed and the fonts have been moved. So is hex editing going to solve it?

try it,

sidenote, will only make the dvd player region-free and not the XBOX!

#3 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 26 July 2004 - 12:02 PM

yeah i know, but pbl lets you play games from other regions anyway. wink.gif

EDIT: In the PC section of 'the usual places' ph34r.gif I found a utility that patches the MS dash, but on the PC as opposed to the XBOX, and it allows you to select the file, so that solves the problem of the renamed dash. But what i want to know is if the moved fonts will cause a problem, or is it likely to not bother with them?

Edited by total_ass, 26 July 2004 - 12:06 PM.


#4 adil786

adil786

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,088 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 July 2004 - 12:44 PM

QUOTE (total_ass @ Jul 26 2004, 01:05 PM)
yeah i know, but pbl lets you play games from other regions anyway. wink.gif

EDIT: In the PC section of 'the usual places' ph34r.gif I found a utility that patches the MS dash, but on the PC as opposed to the XBOX, and it allows you to select the file, so that solves the problem of the renamed dash. But what i want to know is if the moved fonts will cause a problem, or is it likely to not bother with them?

just try it i say.

#5 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 26 July 2004 - 02:59 PM

yeah but i don't wanna mess up my MS dash.

edit again: i found this in the readme file of the pc patcher.

Q - Can i use other patch (eg. Progressive scan, bluedash ...) with this one ?
A - You can as long as the other patch do not alter the DVD region check code !

now i don't think when ldots edited the ms dash to find the new fonts he changed the dvd region check part of the code, so theoretically it should work, shouldn't it?

yes i know your response 'just try it', well im gonna.

Edited by total_ass, 26 July 2004 - 03:01 PM.


#6 adil786

adil786

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,088 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 July 2004 - 03:52 PM

QUOTE (total_ass @ Jul 26 2004, 04:02 PM)
yeah but i don't wanna mess up my MS dash.

edit again: i found this in the readme file of the pc patcher.

Q - Can i use other patch (eg. Progressive scan, bluedash ...) with this one ?
A - You can as long as the other patch do not alter the DVD region check code !

now i don't think when ldots edited the ms dash to find the new fonts he changed the dvd region check part of the code, so theoretically it should work, shouldn't it?

yes i know your response 'just try it', well im gonna.

should work,

#7 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 26 July 2004 - 04:07 PM

ok i tried it, and it does believe it or not work. However for some reason if i put dvd in when the MS dash is loaded it loads my default dash up, i have to put the dvd in then select MS dash, no biggy.

Now this brings me onto a much much bigger topic. When i play an NTSC dvd on my PAL xbox, no matter what method i use (XBMC, MS dash, DVDx2 etc) it ALWAYS stutters ever few seconds. I don't think its a player issue, but something is causing it. Like i said no matter what player i use it always stutters. Now i have no idea what could be causing this, can someone help me?

Could it be?

1.) An eeprom issue? (May i have to change my region to NTSC for it to work properly?)

2.) My video output (I keep my video output to PAL when i play NTSC dvds because my tv isn't expensive enough to be mult-region)

3.) A drive issue (Don't ask me how, but could it struggle with Region 1 DVDs?)

This is something that one of the experts must be able to solve being as it is related to region specifics and not DVD playback. I would like it to be solved please because some of my favourite films (or movies for the americans) are imports.

#8 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 July 2004 - 04:53 PM

maybe the region free patch isn't working well. You could try putting the video output to ntsc (if your tv doesn't support it it should leave you with a black&white screen) and see if the stuttering is gone. If it is it must be eeprom/region related.
Also why don't you look in some other forum as this isn't related to exploits very much. Maybe you could look for your answer there

#9 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 26 July 2004 - 04:59 PM

I was unsure about which forum it should go in, and i thought it may have been eeprom related. You guys know lots about eeproms and such so i thought you may be able to help.
I don't think it is the patch causing it as XBMC and DVDx2 which are already multiregion have the same effect. I will try changing my video output and will ask in another forum.

#10 adil786

adil786

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,088 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 July 2004 - 05:26 PM

QUOTE (total_ass @ Jul 26 2004, 06:02 PM)
I was unsure about which forum it should go in, and i thought it may have been eeprom related. You guys know lots about eeproms and such so i thought you may be able to help.
I don't think it is the patch causing it as XBMC and DVDx2 which are already multiregion have the same effect. I will try changing my video output and will ask in another forum.

you would have been better off in the xbox utilities forum,

some would probally have had experience.

#11 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 26 July 2004 - 05:36 PM

ok then utilities forum it is. thanks guys.

#12 adil786

adil786

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,088 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 July 2004 - 08:25 PM

QUOTE (total_ass @ Jul 26 2004, 06:39 PM)
ok then utilities forum it is. thanks guys.

let us know how you get on,

thanks

#13 Angerwound

Angerwound

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,719 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 July 2004 - 08:27 PM

I'll move the thread for you.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users